Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

John Ball

Lockport, New York

Reviewed on 2009-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike to replace a 81 500. I fell in love with the midnight edition, so I had to have it. I was impressed with the power of the 649cc motor. My friends have older 800s and 900s and I have no problems keeping up. I would recommend this bike to anyone. It's an easy bike to drive (very balanced). I am looking at the new 950 V Star but I will still keep the 650.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2007-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a mid-50's guy who ventured back into motorcycling five years ago. I started with a Suzuki Savage (S40), moved up to a Suzuki 800 Intruder (S50), and ultimately up to a Bandit 1200. I just purchased a used, low-mileage V-Star 650 Custom and right now I'm enjoying this bike as much, if not more, than any of my previous bikes. The features, styling, quality, performance, comfort, and low costs of maintenance and insurance have completely satisfied me, even though I just downgraded from a 1200 Bandit. Just looking at it is a treat! Call me crazy, but that's how I feel.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Hopkins

Poplar Bluff, Missouri

Reviewed on 2007-05-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Now in my 3rd riding season with my blue with ghost flame V Star and still loving it. Have had it in 8 bike shows and have won 6 times (4 1st, 1 2nd, & 1 3rd place). This bike turns heads everywhere I go and I love the ride and the handling of this sweet ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Dillenburg

North Platte, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2006-07-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased my 05 v star custom w/flames in feb 05 couldn't ride it much then. But now I'm on it all the time! Love the ride but wish I'd bought the 1100 for the interstate riding. Anyway I'm still satisfied with it and will ride the wheels off it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Preece

Peru, Indiana

Reviewed on 2005-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A great looking bike with lots of old school style. Star hit a home run with the design. The 650 is a bit small for my long term needs, though. I rode a friend's 1100 V-Star Custom and I had regrets that I didn't intially spend the extra cash. While the top speed is adequate the acceleration is lacking but expected from a 650. At the end of the day, I wish I would've spent the extra money for the 1100. This is my first bike in 15 years though, so I was slightly intimidated by the bigger bikes which led to my decision for the 650. The bike is very comfortable, though. Risers to bring the bars about 2-4 inches closer are recommended for longer rides for someone my size. I will trade to a 1100 Classic or Road Star in 2 years.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kenneth marshall

batonrouge, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2005-10-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2004 v star, and I can't say enough about it. I think my fellow riders think they spent too much on their bikes. I love my ride and if you went to an amusement park this would be a ride for the grown folks.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brett

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first street bike. I've put 2200 miles on it in about two months and have yet to take it on a trip. The bike is very comfortable once the suspension is where you want it. The performance is very good for 650cc air cooled v-twin. I highly recommend this bike to anyone who wants a comfortable and great looking machine. I ride the bike everywhere unless the weather doesn't permit. The only things I don't like about the bike are the gear ratios and the foot peg location. The ratios are a little too short and the foot pegs are too close for my preference. Overall, the bike is great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shelley

Marin County, California

Reviewed on 2005-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having only ridden dirt bikes as a kid, I was skeptical buying a bike that weighed this much. After riding it for the first time, that is no longer an issue. I am a beginner rider on the streets and this bike handles extremely well and is very simple to ride. I highly recommend this bike to anyone, but especially to women.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DIANE

PAWTUCKET, Rhode Island

Reviewed on 2005-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I AM A NEW RIDER AND I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BIKE TO ANYONE. IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE RIDING AND I LOVE THE LOW SEAT HEIGHT SO I CAN BE VERY SURE FOOTED ON THE GROUND. ALL MY FRIENDS ARE VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE LOOK OF IT. CAN'T WAIT TO BUY ACCESSORIES FOR IT. VERY GLAD I didn't BUY A HARLEY!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Justin

Stafford, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2005-07-23

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my V Star Custom this summer, I didn't know much about bikes and got the 650.. Handles great, feels good, looks good. Although I like just kickin back and cruising and not speeding, I wish I got the 1100 instead. Mainly because most of my buddies jump on the highways and it's better to have the bigger engine. While we are on the engine most of my friends ride Harleys and everyone asked if it was either 1100 or a 1400. Classy looking ride and great price for the new riders.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: