Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motocross Bikes

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Russell

Carlsbad, California

Reviewed on 2009-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First off I absolutely LOVE this bike. It has quick acceleration, is extremely lightweight and it is just overall fun to ride. I love how it has a 6-speed transmission, it makes the riding more fun. For a two stroke the power band is real smooth, I was surprised after I rode an older YZ. It has excellent high end torque and it is realitively cheap. HOWEVER...I have had one potentially major issues with the bike but it is preventable. I had to spend several months diagnosing and repairing the bike with my dad and it involved splitting the crankcase. Apparently, about 50% of all 2005 and earlier YZ125's have an issue with how the shift stopper lever is designed. There is a bearing on the end of it that tends to fall apart and pieces can go into the transmission and because the bearing is absent, you cannot shift out of whatever gear you were in. But, fortunately for under 30 bucks I'd estimate you can easily prevent the problem and save yourself $500 if you fix it yourself or easily $1000 if you take it into a shop. All you have to do is buy the redesigned stopper lever from Yamaha and assembly is fairly easy if you have the manual. The actual process involves just removing the side cover, taking out the clutch basket, and swapping out the stopper levers. Dont forget to buy a new gasket. So with the proper tools (including the manual) and a little bit of work you can prevent the only issue I have with this bike. Overall it is a dream to ride and a wonderful step up bike. Buy one if you're looking for a 125.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jordan stevens

spokane, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the fastest 125 I have ever ridden. It will pull a 250f off the line, no problem. It handles great, is easy to start and talk about light.. My 9 year old, 72 pound cousin can pick my bike up off the ground with little or no problem. Power - there's plenty. There's no need to mod this bike as it's fast out of the box. Yamaha went all out on the 125 this year and it shows.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

temecula, California

Reviewed on 2007-01-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike after stepping up from an 85 and let me tell you, it has a lot of power. Then, that weekend when I raced, I noticed that it could not keep up with the 250f's. that's when I got a shorty silencer and power now. Then it could keep up with them. Then I put reeds, an sst pipe, and a flat topped piston and it completely blew them away! Stock it had decent bottom power end and a great pull from mid to top. By far, the best of the 125s. It could easily keep up with SOME early model 250f's like the RM-Z and KX-F.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

me

wouldn't u like to no, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2007-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is sick! It friggin moves. It will easily do 75 stock and w/ all the parts I have on it, now it probably does like 85-90! I love this bike. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with at leats 2 years of experience who wants a fast bike that will keep up with the four strokes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brett

East Falmouth, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2006-10-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is awesome! I've had it for about 7 months and I love it. The guy at the dealership almost talked me into the 85 but I'm very happy that I chose the 125 instead. This bike is super fast and keeps right up with the four-strokes. It was reviewed to be the best 125 ever built! I'm very glad I have one. I would recommend this bike to anyone that is looking for a very fast and comfortable bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy Slack

forest hill, Maryland

Reviewed on 2006-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike on and off the track. Very reliable and easy to handle. Smooth power throughout the whole rpm range with perfect 2 stroke crisp sound. Can keep up with 250f's with the right rider. Overall, wonderful bike and if you want a great 125 I encourage you to buy this bike you'll love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Caleb

Brockport, New York

Reviewed on 2006-07-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got this bike in June 2006 and it's great. I ride it almost every day. It works well in any condition, there is no loss in power in any gear. This bike just blows every bike away. If you're looking to win a lot of races or just screw around, this bike is the one for you. Yamaha bikes have been rated number one for a long time. If you get a bike no matter what size, get a Yamaha.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kyle Riddle

Indianapolis, Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 125's don't get any better than this bike right here two stroke wise. This bike is awesome all over the track jumps, turns, whoops it all. I won't ever buy a different type of 125's besides a yamaha 125.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy Rape Jr

Conway, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2006-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this bike in August of 2005 and have put in a fair amount of miles. Overall, I like the bike. The aluminum frame has done wonders for the way the bike feels on long rides. I find myself less tired at the end of the trail than some of the older guys (Randy Rape Sr.). Just kiddin', Dad. The suspension is a little touchy on rough corners but still very predictable once you get used to it. The factory chain stretched extremely fast, and it needed a little carb tweaking to get it dialed in right. It really shines when you roll on the throttle after a corner, which really makes up for the quirky suspension. In the end it's a great bike for someone to win a few races on or just play around on the weekends, but either way Yamaha has stepped up the bar once again with the 2005 YZ 125.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles

Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-12-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was worried that this bike would not pull me good because I weigh 200 lbs. Was I in for a surprise after I got it broke in and opened it up good. This bike will pull a power wheelie with me in first, second, and third! I think I got a good deal; it was a new leftover 2005. I recommend this bike to anyone that wants a 2-stroke bike. Oh, and yes, you can lug this bike around a little without the plug fowling out.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: