Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

31 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jay K.

Marysville, Washington

Reviewed on 2010-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike ever. I've been riding almost daily for six months and approaching 6K miles in the seat. The performance, fit and finish, quality and reliability are impressive. The '05 design is almost timeless IMHO. She's a pretty bike in blue and I get compliments from passersby. I actually like it better than the third generation for the street but this second generation is no joke when it's time to go supersonic. I've smoked other middle weights and bigger super sports with more experienced riders in the turns and straights because she is all business on demand but friendly enough to navigate my local streets, downtown Seattle and the freeway comfortably - for hours. I feel safe and confident on this bike as it somehow naturally inspires and instills that confidence to lean just a bit more and push the envelope but at your own pace. The '05 is a forgiving communicative bike that has helped me learn quickly and made me a better rider with each ride. It's hard to park her for the night. And it will be harder to park for the winter. A+
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J_one

Haslet, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was not very experienced on sport bikes until I got my 05 R6, and it was easy to learn on and packed with power. It took a little while to get used to everything but once I did I was able to unleash it and WOW, this bike has an incredible amount of power.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Alvarez

Pompano Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-12-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden several different super sport bikes and I have to say that nothing compares to my 2005 Yamaha R6 in a nice turn. Even after riding a 2006 R1, 2006 Suzuki GSXR 600, 1000, Honda 600RR, 1000RR, and the 2005 Kawasaki ZX6. In my opinion, the only 3 that even came close if any are the Honda CBR 600RR, the Suzuki GSXR 1000, and the R1 (in that order). A lot of people say that it's just riders preference, but I pass them on the curves.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sal

Modesto, California

Reviewed on 2006-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I used to have a 2001 yzf600 but I wanted an R6. Well I stopped by a dealer and there was an 05' red R6 . I bought it. The bike is great it handles very well. My only problem is that I can't handle seeing it dirty. The only thing I dont like about the bike is that it does get a little uncomfortable when I am in the city or stop and go traffic. Maybe because I have bad shoulders. But that is it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

sol

boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2006-05-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Before I got the '05 R6, I had never been on a motorcycle besides the one in the MSF safety class. So when I picked up my bike I'll admit, I was quite nervous. But as soon as the bike starts to move, you quickly realize that you're the boss and the bike is your servant. You can go as fast as you want, as slow as you want, accelereate and decelerate which ever way you want. Turning is the easiest thing in the world on the R6. After just a few weeks of riding, I was already draggin my knees in the turns!!! This bike is a must have for anyone who wants to dominate the road!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mario Covington

Duluth, Georgia

Reviewed on 2006-02-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I picked up my Raven Black R6 on Friday, April 29th. I have to admit that this bike is great. I was in the market to buy a Kawasaki 6RR, but I had a co-worker suggest to me to try out the 2005 R6 because it was a great bike. Well, I have to say that he wasn't wrong. Even during the break in period I have been having a blast and I have to keep the bike under 7000 RPM. If you're in the market for a new bike, do yourself a favor and pick up the new R6, but find another color because I don't want too many Raven black out there.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nick

Maryville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2006-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I researched 600s long berfore I purchased. I like all the features and reliability I found in the R6. I got an awsome deal, too. It being my first bike I was nervous, but it pretty much teaches you how to ride. It handles the curves and straight aways beautifully. Braking is amazing and cruzing is extremely comfortable. I couldn't wait to start "fixing it up"
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jaY ceE

Santa Paula, California

Reviewed on 2005-12-16

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I feel that I made the right choice. It was easy to learn on and real fun to drive and take through the canyons. It is also a lot more comfortable than other bikes and I'm a big guy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John White

Dandridge, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2005-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this bike in the early summer of 2005 and have ridden it a lot. This thing is awesome, lightest bike I have ever ridden, and it literally feels like it flows through a curve. Great power from take off through top end and is a wheelie monster. Extremely easy for maintenance with only two complaints. # 1: The two plastic pieces at the top of the fairing behind the headlight are difficult to line-up after removing and # 2: The seat is very uncomfortable on a long ride. Other than these, it's truly awesome.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

drake

Excelsior, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike, this is my second one. Definitly recomend it to anyone! Just a warning, it's very popular and mine was stolen when I only had 1300 miles on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 31 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: