Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

29 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

T. McConnell

Waukesha, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2011-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Highs - The modern UJM - it does almost everything OK, and many things very well. It's a tremendous value. - It handles light touring and two-up riding. - It's nice upright riding position soothes my aching mid-forties back (after the past several years on sport bikes). - It's a very reasonable sporting alternative to an all-out sport bike. - The engine pours on the power above 8,000 rpm. and up past 13,000. - It has a light, easy and consistent shifter. - The Harleys can't keep up. - It's 100% reliable over four years and 4,000+ miles. - It's averaged 55-60 mpg so far. Lows - It could use a bit more torque at low rpms. - The clutch is a little tricky off the line (minimal freeplay). - The seat height is a bit tough on my inseam. - You should use both headlights on low/high beam. - The suspension could have more adjustments. - The brakes will fade a bit in the twisties.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kern

Union City, California

Reviewed on 2010-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in 2010 PO did a wonderful job of upgrades to front suspension with R6 forks and front brake calipers and braided lines, LSL sliders, Fender Elim. heated grips, FZ1 bars, Puig screen. Handles tight corners extremely well with bike leaned over. Throttle and clutch takes getting used to as throttle is small tolerances and clutch is short to engage. Rear brakes maybe too good as locking up rear tire is too easy to achieve. I recommend using only fronts as they're good enough to stop the bike with 2 fingers without losing traction. Initially thought seat was stiff but after 1700 mi trip with no pain feel seat is perfect. Bike handled high desert crosswinds, drenching rains, and snow like a pro. 50-60mpg average. My friend's 06 Honda CBR F4i was only getting 37-40mpg.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kenny DuBois

Freeport, Texas

Reviewed on 2008-10-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my 8th bike and is by far the most exciting one. I also own a XVS-1100 that stays parked most of the time because the FZ is such a joy to ride. She handles the twistys well, runs like a scalded cat (156 mph indicated), and looks great. The only drawback is that butt killin' seat! I plan to customize it myself soon. Still, all in all, I love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gamet

Muskegon, Michigan

Reviewed on 2008-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been without a bike for a year until I finally decided on this one. I'm able to sit up or lay on the tank at higher speeds. I can keep up with the rockets no problem or blend in with the cruisers at the lower RPM scale. This bike really comes alive at 9000 rpm, being the red line is at 14000. You have to be careful though once you get to cozy with it, you won't realize how fast your going until you see the strobes in the mirror. I took it for a 500 mile trip and got the expected sore backside but the bike did well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremiah

La Jolla, California

Reviewed on 2007-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my FZ6 for a little over a year, and have absolutely ZERO complaints. Great gas mileage, fast (enough for me anyway), sexy, and still as fun as the first day I got it. I originally wanted an R6, and still do, but I'll hold on to this baby for quite a while. Couldn't recommend a better first bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Sydney, Australia

Reviewed on 2007-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have just purchased my 06 FZ6S 2nd hand with 3500 kays on it & all I can say at this stage is WOW! Very light, super nimble, useable midrange & a lovely, intoxicating howl up top. Front end tries to leave the tarmac in 1st & 2nd & gets quite light in 3rd too! The best thing about this bike, in my opinion, is that it is completely user friendly. I stepped onto this after 5 years off from riding & by the end of the test ride it had all come back to me. It is fun, friendly, fast enough & completely un-intimidating. A better example of a UJM I cannot imagine. I cannot fault the handling, brakes are progressive & sharp, engine is willing & smooth & the fuel injection means that hot or cold are the same, responsive! If I had to be really picky, the engine produces a noticeable vibration around the 5-6K range & the clutch take up is extremely narrow. But have already gotten used to this & it doesn't detract from what I believe is a truly astounding package for the money. I can hardly get through the day without taking it out & have no plans except to enjoy it. If you're considering a sports machine but don't like the idea of the 'racing crouch' or if you're just plain sick of heavy & hard to move machines (ala 1200 Bandit), then give the FZ6 a try, you won't be disappointed! Will post an update when have gone for a long tour up the NSW coast. Until then, see you around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Corey

Green Bay, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2007-05-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was between the FZ6 and the Honda 599. I went with the FZ6 after reading reviews online. I can say all reviews were right except the negative! I purchased a 2006 FZ6 after riding a 1986 VF500F Interceptor. I can tell you a lot has changed in the last 20 years. The ride is smooth. I can barely feel small bumps in the road and railroad tracks are smooth riding as well. The review about the FZ6 being faster than the SV650 are true as well. I faced off with a friend who has an SV650. He beat me off the line, but by the time I was half way through 2nd I blew him outta the water. My 14k redline was no match for him. The FZ6 is an amazing machine and easily worth the money when compared to the Honda 599. The FZ6 gives you a half fairing that deals with the oncoming wind excellently. The underseat exhaust looks great and sounds great and I don't have a problem with high heat. Also, a side note for anybody looking to put saddle bags on it. I purchased a set of saddle bags and they work perfectly. No problem with heat what-so-ever. The bags even came with bags to cover them in case of rain. I can't begine to tell you all the things I love about this bike...you'll just have to test ride one or go out and BUY IT!!!! P.S. My only problem with Yamaha on the FZ6, NO HELMET HOLDER ON THE 2006!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

troy maddison

Adelaide, Australia

Reviewed on 2007-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding for nearly 20 years and have had everything from trail to cruisers and sports bikes. I Recently up graded from the 98 Fazer to the FZ6. This is by far the best bike I have had the privilege of owning. Only thing is the seat but that doesn't surprise me for all the millions of dollars of research they still can't make a comfy seat. The clutch is tight but not a problem. As for the seat I have had it reupholstered with softer foam at little cost. This bike and I will be together for a long time. SMOOTH LINES.....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G.A. Henderson

Longview, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-04-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought this bike after a 10 year absence and all I can say WOW! It's like I never left riding, it all came back and I couldn't be happier. It's nimble and easy to ride, I can't wait to get it broke in (10 miles so far).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stevo

L.A. county, California

Reviewed on 2007-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my FZ for over a year now, I have over 9,000 miles on it and haven't had one problem. The stock Bridgestones still have a lot of tread left. Bike still feels new. I do all my own maintenance. I have changed oil twice so far and I need to replace spark plugs asap according to owners manual. It's pretty much stock except for rear fender eliminator ala Ebay. Looks much nicer. The bike has good wind protection and handles like a dream and carves nice. Throttle is a bit twitchy, not much low end grunt but at mid range and top end, this bike is WICKED!!Thanks to its R6 mill. My best bike yet. I plan on riding it to the ground. I'm not some poser that needs the latest technobike. This bike will always stand out in the looks dept, with its fairing, undertail exhaust, center stand etc..If this were made by BMW, DUC, or TRIUMPH, I would have to have it. I would have paid more for it than I did!! This is the perfect motorcycle for me. RIDE SAFE!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 29 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: