Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooter reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Scooters

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jimmy Z

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2021-11-26

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
I've been riding Motorcycles 45 years...and have owned many thru the years. Each type offers a specific riding experience. As for my Yamaha Morphous Scooter....Ive owned 3 Scooters...a 94 Honda Helix, a 2001 Honda Reflex and currently a 2006 Yamaha Morphous. The Helix is still to this day the KING of the Scooters. Great Storage and offersriding simplicity....The Reflex...the looks of a Sport Bike, pretty decent engine performance with the rideability of a Scooter...but sadly lacked storage. The Yamaha Morphous is THE FUTURE!! BETTER in every aspect....Ride, Engine performance (Fuel injection) Braking (Front
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Boston Dan

Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2011-10-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It appears ugly but it grows on you. It's not fast but it's not dangerous. It doesn't have a ton of storage but certainly enough. It's not light but it's stable. OK, so it's not pretty, fast, or light, and tall people need not apply. So why do I love it? I have never owned such a high quality scooter. It treats me to 74 mpg. with decent capacity. The unusual handling is completely predictable and solid. The brakes are wonderfully predictable. It's whisper quiet as a scooter should be and has a smooth as glass ride. You'll notice big bumps but never jarring. It's completely highway capable. But I only use it to get to the curvy roads. Did you ever take a chance at work or in school and make friends with the weird kid that was a little bit different but interesting? Then found you became best friends because he had so much personality and was truly a good person and a dependable friend that was up for whatever it was you wanted to do? Well, You should have!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

fred

lomira, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2009-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The day I bought my Morph I knew it was a different kind of scooter. The lowhand waves from those on REAL bikes makes me chuckle. I also had to get used to the what the heck is that you're riding comments. Great bike quiet and smooth just wish I could find someone in Wisconsin that has one. Over all it gets 6 stars in my book!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Adrian

Medford, Oregon

Reviewed on 2007-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden the Morphous on the freeway to and from work, rain or shine since I purchased it in April 2007. Yep! Definitely the winshield has to be replaced for a much higher one. The wind slows me down to 60-65mph when I could go 80mph on staightaways. Besides that it's fun to ride and my wife likes riding with me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim C

Naples, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Perfect for the mission for which it was designed: urban commuting. It has a buttery smooth engine and automatic transmission which will leave most cars behind at the stoplights. It'll top out at 75-80 mph yielding about 60 mpg in the process. It was not designed for interstate highway cruising, so you shouldn't expect that. Between the small trunk over the rear wheel, the underseat storage, and the $7 cargo net I purchased at Walmart to clip on the chrome railing around the rear seat I can take 8 sacks of groceries plus a 12 pack of soda home from the grocery. Amazing! The long wheelbase yields two things: a great ride over bumps but also an annoyingly wide turning radius. But enough of the mundane stuff. My girlfriend, not a motorcycle person, took one look at it and fell in love with the jet pack styling-- she wants to ride all the time! People like to ask about it, so be prepared to show it off, including the digital instument panel with a fuel gauge that flashes and counts the mileage upwards once you have about 60 miles left in the tank. Overall quality is excellent although one of the body panels on mine doesn't quite fit like it should. Also, the black body panels show every scratch. Overall, however, I'm really happy with mine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kisses

0pelika, Alabama

Reviewed on 2007-03-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Love my bullet, as I call it. Only downside I have found is the seat, could have had a larger back rest and a little softer! I added an after market windshield which helped immensely. My husband rides a 1100 Silverado and I go anywhere he goes. HAVE FUN!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Nevins

Elm City, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-02-06

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Looked a long time to find a bike that was different, but still had great lines. Rides great and looks teriffic.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

GageC

Portland, Oregon

Reviewed on 2006-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently bought a 2006 model and I have owned it now for a few weeks. So far I've been using it for my 25 mile a day commute. I couldn't be happier with the way it performs in traffic. The CVT transmission is very fluid and has no issues with pickup speed. I've been pretty easy on it while it is still in the break in period and mostly keeping it under 45. My wife likes to ride with me and finds it quite comfortable. Today we rode for about 5 hours with only two short breaks cruising around the countryside. The engine, while no sport bike, was able to move both of us along just fine on it without ever seeming to lack for power. I did quite a bit of research on this before I bought it so I think I'll try to fill in some of the blanks I wasn't sure of from the reviews that you can find online. 1st off, the bike has room for 1 full face helmet in it's large under seat storage area. A second helmet must be secured to the sear using a supplied helmet lock. The trunk, although handy for snacks and water isn't really that big, however the added room is quite appreciated. It is not able to hold a helmet and had a curved ridge because of the suspension and rear tire. The LCD screen has very nice readability during the day, and is extremely great at night. It is colored red so that it does not take away from your night vision. It also has a built in Clock, Fuel trip, 2 additional trips, the standard Odometer, oil change reminder and v-belt change reminder. The mirrors are a bit small but are adequate; I don't think I'll change mine. There are two small vents under the windshield that shoot air out around you from between the LCD screen to either side, at higher speeds this keeps some bugs from making contact with my helmet, but not all. The windscreen does what it was intended, however not in the way that it is comfortable to the rider. At speeds 50 and under it rides like a dream and wind is not even an issue, at 55 and over you do start to feel increasing wind. I've got mine up to 70mph for a few moments just to see how it felt and wind buffering was high, nothing to throw you off balance but very noticeable. At the time I had my wife with me and it did not make for the most comfortable ride. I believe I'll buy a larger one but only install it when I'm going on a long trip, other than that it wouldn't really help out very much and I do like the looks of the bike the way they are. The last thing I would like to say about this scooter is the size of it. I don't know why but when you see photos of this bike the scale is all off. It is much larger than you think. Riding around, it's about 1ft to 1 1/2ft longer than most sport bikes and it's more on par with the length of most cruisers. Combined with the wide aft section (which I do like) and the low stance, I get more waives from bikers on Harleys and V stars. Half the time I don't even think they know what it is. So to wrap this up, for the money it has a lot of small touches that make it very nice to ride around on in traffic and on the larger roads. It's powerful enough for 2 on the hwy without fear of being ran over from behind and great on the gas (about 67mpg for my driving, I have high hopes after the break in at hitting 70). Cons would be the wind buffering with the stock windshield and moderate acceleration. Still much faster than most cars without trying, but far from keeping up with most motorcycles over 300cc. That and it does resemble a snowmobile from the front.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Austin, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had it for about two weeks and have put about 200 miles on it, and so far it has met my expectations. It is comfortable and has good pick-up. I've been keeping it around or under 55mph as it's still in the break in, so I cannot comment on top speed. The build quality along with fit and finish are nice. I'm getting about 60 mpg. It has good storage options for smaller items, but not for anything too large. The windshield is for looks only and I replaced mine with something larger through Cee Bailey's. I liked it much better then the Helix or Big Ruckuss which are the two mainstream scooters in the same class. (I own a Honda Foreman and Metro, so I'm not fanboy bashing) I'd recommend it to others.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

New Bedford, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2006-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Morphous

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded in my 600 Honda Shadow in the hope that this would be more comfortable for the Mrs. I never thought I would enjoy it more than the motorcycle, but I've never had more fun riding anything in my life. This scooter is great. Plenty of power and comfort, I am getting about 72 MPG. I only wish Yamaha made a higher windscreen for it, other than that, perfect!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: