Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

J.R.D.

Newell, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 6100 miles, I have to say that this beast is a unique machine. Not many out there, and being a former Harley owner, I now notice that this bike is few and far between on the road. People look at it, and love to hear the rumble of the v-four with help from after market pipes. I have had a stuck float, a current issue with the cruise control, the inherent chirp, and some exhaust fumes from either a leaky pipe or a rich fuel to air mix. The stock seat is a sorry representation of comfort, and Yamaha should be ashamed to sell such a piece of torture. But the ride is smooth, the power is great, it runs on regular gasoline, and it is one of the most beautiful bikes on the road today. I really like this bike after nearly a year of ownership. If you try one, you will buy it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

denn grimm

west hills, California

Reviewed on 2007-04-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got this bike a couple of months ago and I am so glad I did. It's heavy as hell but I like that. It's a very smooth ride and handles quite well for it's size (though it does take some getting used to). I have added a new exaust system (bubs) and it added some horse power and a deeper throaty sound. I also added a slightly smaller wind shield and a light bar with halogens. I could not be happier with this bike. I'd better be, I'll be paying it off for some time. I have experienced no problems with it so far. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ED MOORHEAD

REMSEN, New York

Reviewed on 2007-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After not riding for almost 10 yearas and being an old diehard Harley rider, the RSTD is more than a pleasant surprise. The only thing I do not like about the ride is the chirping between 55 & 65 mph, at first it drove me nuts. I have spoken to several dealers as well as factory reps. & they all say it's inherent to the beast. If that problem were taken care of by Yamaha R&D it would be perfection on 2 wheels. All in all as an owner of 13 bikes (mostly HD's)in my life this is as good as they get with the exception of a litte chirp & a little less inflated ego.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank

White Sands Missile Range, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2007-03-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had this bike since August 2006 and let me tell you it's a great ride. I got off a Harley Davidson Electra Classic for this ride and I'm glad I did. The power and comfort of this machine are outstanding. After a short test ride around the block I knew this was the ride for me. I hear some folks complain about the seat comfort but let me tell you, I tried the Corbin and a week later I sold them. They were just too hard and wide at the nose. I highly recommend this ride to those that enjoy touring and cruising. I love the detachable windshield and backrest. It turns the bike into a totally different ride. And who can overlook the cruise control? It's just a great bike a a great price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

john schmahl

north babylon, New York

Reviewed on 2007-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is very big and very comfortable. You don't feel the added weight of a passenger when riding two up. It handles well at high speeds. It also has the torque and power to get out of the way in a hurry. Gets great gas mileage. I do mostly hiway riding and get 36 to 38 miles to the gallon. Great choice on my behalf.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don

tulsa , Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2007-01-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had Goldwings, a Yamaha FJR, and numerous BMW's over the past 20 years. When the new bike bug hit me I decided I wanted to look at something that had more character and would serve my wife and I well when we took trips to Colorado. The tour deluxe caught my eye so we took the plunge. I now have almost 5000 miles on the bike and can't imagine a bike that would do a better job of riding around town or heading out on a 2500 mile trip. This bike can do it all. Not exactly a Goldwing and not exactly a FJR, but a very good blend of both. I added the driving lights, luggage rack, and a Mustang seat so far. You have an endless amount of accessories that will allow you to personalize the bike to your taste. Factor in a 5 year unlimited mileage warranty with roadside assstance for a reasonable price and I don't see how you could beat it. The build quality and fit and finish rivals any bike I have seen. It is a great ride and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a bike that will give you endless miles of comfortable riding. I also like the fact that it is not sealed up in all that plastic.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Tampa Bay, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-12-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I can't say I've ridden them all, but this bike was a perfect choice. I ride it daily for errands and though it is a bit heavy, the bags are convenient. I'm still playing with adjustments for comfort, and think a new seat is the best option, but I haven't had a complaint yet from a passenger. It may not be a Harley, but then again, it has a five year waranty. All in all, a great buy!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bob bivona

san pablo, California

Reviewed on 2006-12-16

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ok, the bike is great, no question...But filling the tank is the WORST. The access is too shallow. The tip of the handle barely has room to fill without spilling. Whoever designed the access should be sent back to design school. If you hadn't noticed, this really bugs me. OTHER WISE, A GREAT RIDE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Lehner

Bucyrus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike definitely fits me and what I need in a bike. There are only a couple things I would change. I'd have FI instead of carbs and a reverse gear would be nice as this baby is heavy. But I love to ride it, and once it is moving, it is weightless and easy to control in most any situation. Although, I do not believe this is a beginner's bike. I can't wait for the weather to break so I can get back to riding again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Iain Tait

Perth, Australia

Reviewed on 2006-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After a Honda and three Vulcans I was looking for something with plenty of looks, comfort and go. The Royal Star has 100% delivered on this along with having a huge range of dress up and performance goodies. My wife and I ride together two up, all the time and she LOVES the Royal Star. Riding in Perth is awesome because it is year round, so our Darth Vader with a chrome attack is out and about both for work and play...I also have the small clutch whine irratation however it is still the best bike I have ever had!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: