‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha V Max Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

Stars Refinement

6 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

ADPJOE

Pharr, Texas

Reviewed on 2008-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I waited 22 years to get the awesome V Max. It was well worth it. It has outstanding acceleration, a comfortable ride and killer looks. Plus, it's not very common in my part of the world. Routine maintenance is super easy. It takes one hour at most for an oil change, drive shaft gear oil change, K&N filter recharge and antifreeze change (when needed). It does take some time to clean. Since the powerhouse is exposed, there are tight areas to get to. It's worth it once you are done you get the beast back!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Rommel

Dover, Delaware

Reviewed on 2007-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Max in November 2005 and it has been a great bike. If I was to comment on one thing, it would be the power band. I thought it would have a bunch of low end torque being a V4, but the real power doesn't show up until the 4000/5000 rpm range particularly when the V-Boost kicks in (5000 rpm). don't expect big-bore V-twin low end power from this bike. Its power band is more like an inline 4. don't get me wrong, when you want the power, all you have to do is twist the thorttle. It will deliver. A K&N air filter and Dyno-Jet Stage One jet kit will help improve the low end power. Also, considering the age of this design and now that it is the year 2007, you would think Yamaha would have incorporated a wider back wheel and tire to keep pace with competition. Otherwise, I have no other beef with this bike and will be keeping mine for awhile.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bob

miami, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great fun update at 4,700 miles. 2006 Vmax and not one problem unless you count a new V-rated rear tire at 4,000 miles. Love that straight up comfortable riding position. Replacement UFO seat is way better than stock and I would change that first. I also recommend LED shift light mounted on the speedometer and set at 8,700 rpm (peak power) so you can shift before 9,500, max rpm. Also, advise a change to louder mufflers so cars can actually hear you. For safety!! Yes, I really mean it, safety! The Super Trapps exaggerate the V4 'rumble'. It is a sound that is truly 'habit forming' as well as noticable. Unless you drive a nitro burning dragster for a living, you will always be thinking about riding your Vmax....you'll be cursing rainy days and having to work for a living...you just want to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jgraham

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have wanted a VMAX since they 1st came out 20 years ago. Sold my 2005 Screaming Eagle Fatboy and bought my 2006 VMAX and had money left over! The Fatboy was nice but the VMAX brings a huge grin to my face when I ride it's very smooth and quick, wish I would have bought it sooner! I will not change a thing I even like the stock exhaust, love the throaty sound at idle. I do agree with other reviewers a 6th gear would be nice but who cares I can live with it as is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DH

Dayton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-07-08

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had wanted one of these things since its inception 20 yrs ago. Usually wanting is always better than having but not in this case. It is better than I have ever thought it would be. I have had a grin since I laid rubber leaving the dealership. I can go as fast as a lot of the crotch rockets but the difference is I feel good doing it. I wish it handled better in the turns. The V Boost is as good as the hype and the bike is a real eye catcher.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andrew Jenkins

Gainesville, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
At least a dozen people have spoken to me at gas stations asking what it is & saying that they like the look of it. It is an incredible ride whether commuting or touring. It needs a larger fuel tank, an aluminum frame, and general redesign to make it more saddlebag/tank bag/windshield friendly. I will trade it in if/when the next generation V-Max appears.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 6 of 6 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: