Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Vasilios

Fort Lee, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2008-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my Yamaha Virago 250 January 4th, 2008 and I love it. It has a great sound, plenty of power, and gets 74 mpg. I have been driving it through local streets speed of up to 35 mph, and Palisades's parkway at speeds of 65 mph with no problem. I can't wait for spring and summer so I can drive it to work (about 40 miles each way) and all weekend long.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt Spears

Abilene, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-06-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got this bike after the MSF course. It was the best of the beginner bikes that I tested. I commute 40 miles a day and wanted a comfortable bike with great gas mileage. The Virago 250 was the answer. It is very comfortable for tall riders! It rides well in the city and along the access roads to I-20. I may get a larger motorcycle later but will keep the 250!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paula Gebo

Bellvue, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-06-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I rode 15 years ago and decided that at 35 I was getting too old. Now at 53 I purchased a Virago. I ride it round trip through the canyon to work. Excellent ride, great control, I just love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Byrdie

Hibbing, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2007-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love my 250 Virago. I purchased it in April 2006 and got my endorsement the end of May 2006. Traveled 500 mile days on road trips and was sad to put it away at a balmy 43 degrees last fall. I am a smaller framed woman and would recommend this bike for short or long trips. If there would be 10 stars I would definitely rate this bike 10 stars - I love my bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dusty

Birmingham, Alabama

Reviewed on 2007-04-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Got this bike used right after taking the MSF course. It has been an absolute delight to learn on. It handles well. I've even had my 5-9 girlfriend on the back a few times, and it still moves OK. It zips around the city fine, but big highway and interstate driving is a stretch and not very comfortable on this smaller bike. Is not too heavy. Has the best ergonomics and sound of all starter bikes. You do pay for it, but I think it's worth it. However, if you are into bikes, you will outgrow it quickly. I'm getting a Shadow or V-Star now. Maybe I should have gotten that first and skipped the Virago, but there was one or two times where I almost lost my balance and dropped this bike while stopped. I held it up, but I don't know if I could have done that with a Shadow or V-Star.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron B.

Plano, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-11-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I haven't ridden a motorcycle for almost 25 years. I did own a Virago 700 in the 80's and loved it. Why not choose one now? I am getting older and getting arthritis in my ankles and feet so I chose a light-weight to get my feet wet on. After looking at the Honda, I thought the Virago was much more pleasing to the eyes and ears, and after all, I owned one before, although it was a 700. I LOVE THIS BIKE!! I usually stay within 10 miles of home, and only been on the freeway once. It did seem a little busy and stressed above 60mph, but for the majority of my trips, it works well. I may, in the future, go for the V-Star Classic or Custom, but for now I am extremely happy with my choice of the Virago.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-10-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am brand new to motorcycling. I took the MSF course in August and had been looking at machines for close to three months. I looked at just about everything manufactured and decided on purchasing the Yamaha Virago. The fit and finish on this bike is amazing considering its low cost and metric displacement. The performance is better than I would have expected. For a first bike or for a commuter bike, this machine is excellent. Eventually, I want to upgrade to something bigger but this bike will last me a few years. I get many compliments about the appearance of my Yamaha. Most people are shocked that is only a 250.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray Bukovi

New Carlisle, Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
After looking at Honda, Suzuki and Yamaha 250cc's sized motorcycles, I ended up purchasing the 06 Virago 250 a few months ago. Even though the Virago had the highest price, it looked like what I thought a motorcycle should look like, even for a little 250cc. So far, I have no real complaints. The fit and finish is far better than the others I considered. The Virago runs fine and handles nicely. I have about 400 miles on it so far and all is well. However, while cleaning the Virago recently, I had occasion to look under her and discovered that the rear cylinder chrome exhaust pipe is a PHONEY! That was a real surprise and disappointment! This is especially true since the Yamaha product Features description for this machine touted: Beautiful dual chrome exhaust pipes let the engine breathe and put out that classic V-twin rumble. Whatever happened to truth in advertising? Granted, the Virago does sound better than it's competition, but I foolishly expected it to have a REAL dual exhaust system. Instead, I got a strange looking small diameter curly black pipe that comes from the trailing cylinder which is then hid under the bike. That nice big fat fake chrome pipe coming from the rear cylinder is just for everyone else to look at. In addition, it appears that BOTH functioning exhaust pipes first direct the exhaust from the cylinders into the lower muffler, then route some exhaust back up into the top muffler. Not sure why. But this is not dual exhaust as I've always understood it. My point here is that while I still like this little motorcycle and it will provide me the intended local ride I want, had I known about this deception, I probably would NOT have bought it. I don't like phonies! There, now I feel better.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pete

Bentonville, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2006-09-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just got my 2007 Virago 2 days ago. Already have 100 miles on it. I love it. Has plenty of power for someone my size. As long as you are not a speed freak. Very easy to shift. Very easy to learn to ride. This was my first bike ever. I bought it on Wednesday, first time ever to ride a bike was the Sunday before. No problems getting the hang of it. Recomend to any beginner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

AM

Fresno, California

Reviewed on 2006-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Virago 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my 2007 Virago for 3 weeks and love it. This 250 does not look like a 250, it looks bigger. People always think it is more that a 600. I have gotten many compliments including the "motorcycle wave" from HD riders. I driver to and from work everyday for 30 total miles. I drive through the city so the highest I get is 60mph. This bike can get up to 65mph, but does not have any thing left after that. So if you're cruising on the highway and need to get out of trouble, it becomes difficult. Cruising on the highway during rush hour is not bad since everybody is going 45-50mph. Very easy to learn and ride. When I bought this bike I had zero experience on a bike. Never rode a bike in my life. Three days later I was on the road. Only pit fall with this bike is that I would like the seat to be further back so that I can extend my legs a bit more. It is the perfect bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: