Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motocross Bikes

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Nick R

Fort dodge, Iowa

Reviewed on 2012-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike absolutely rips. It shuts down all other 125's and can keep the 250's easy!! Buy it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

prince george

Reviewed on 2007-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike a year ago and it rips. I have it set up for trails and eduro type riding. I came off a 2004 YZ250f and this is way better. It's lighter and has lots of power. I would suggest buying this over a 250F.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

joe

Oregon

Reviewed on 2006-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just came off a fully modded 2003 yz125 and got the o6 yz125. The first time I rode I noticed it was unbelievably faster than the 03. It handled 500% better and I was more confident entering corners because of the 15 pound difference. Now when I ride my modded 03 I feel like I'm on an old 80cc two stroke. My 03 is equiped with race tech susp and the 06 is way better. I wish I could rate it higher.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Popp

Waukeska, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2006-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well, to start Bobby recommended this bike over a YZ250F to be my transitional bike from a YZ85. He's been there since my first bike (TTR-90) and somehow was able to teach me to actually listen to my dad, because most of the time my dad knew what he was talking about but I didn't believe until Bobby told me. He is always there to offer technical and mechanical tips and always finds a way to squeeze me into the shop to repair my bike before my next race. This brings up the bike portion of my review. This is a great bike to ride. For the first year of riding I realized it had plenty of power to do all of the gaps I was doing. However, I started racing this year and I absolutely love it. I race 125C and 125JR at Lake Geneva Raceway every Friday. I started at 23rd place at the beginning of the year and moved up to getting 4th place. As my needs increased because I was starting to push this bike to its limits I was troubled by a certain 65ft double. I was all of 3rd gear and 4th would cause the power to drop and I would nosedive. So my one suggestion is instead of gearing 48 in the rear to stock equip it with a 50 tooth (Bobby's advice). This increase allowed me the extra power I needed to clear the double and now I can clear it and then some, and if I'm feeling a little to cocky I'll try to throw a whip (NEEDS WORK) =). ***Thanks Bobby***
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brandon

Dubuque, Iowa

Reviewed on 2006-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the best bike I've ever owned. It's an absolute blast. What shocked me the most is how smooth the power is. Very fun, fast, and easy to ride. Any one will love this bike.I was a four stroke fan, but not after I got this thing. LONG LIVE TWO STROKES!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nick Villarreal

Dewitt, Michigan

Reviewed on 2006-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought my YZ125 for $3400 from a dealer. I've had it for about 3 weeks and this bike is insane! I love the power delivery... it has a very smooth power band for a 125, alot more torque then I expected from a 2-stroke. don't get me wrong though, this thing absolutely hauls! This thing just pulls from top to bottom. I love how light this bike is. It seems like you can just flick it around, and the suspention is amazing, I love it. I have no problems wheeling and jumping, it really boosts your confidence. The main thing is this bike just goes, I've had no problems with it, it's a rocket! No wonder almost every magazine named it 125 of the year!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brett

East Falmouth, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2006-06-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike! It's extremely fast (compared to my old tt-r 125l), has great suspension, and is really light for its size. I ride just about every weekend with my friend that has a yz250f and I keep up with him the whole way. The bottom line is this bike rips! You should go out and get one right now if you are looking for the best 2-stroke 125.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

Enfield, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2006-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Yes that's right, this 2 stroke is a good beginner bike depending on the person. This is my first real bike and just got it a little while ago. I had little to no experience when I bought this bike and was surprised by the power. The power is smooth so it is very controllable and won't rip your arms off at the shoulder (if controlled properly). This very well could be a great beginner bike for someone my size. It sits a little tall so I would'nt recommend it for shorter riders, but if you use caution when testing the clutch and finding the powerband and don't open it up first try, it could be a great introduction into dirt bikes. My buddies have different bikes, honda's, suzuki's, and kawasaki's and I think this is pretty comfrotable compared to the others. I don't have enough experience to compare reliability, ride or power to other 2 strokes but that dosn't matter to me right now cause once you ride this bike you won't be able to wipe the smile off your face!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

brett

falmouth, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2006-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had this bike for about 3 months and it rips! The power band is obnoxiously powerful and the bike is really fast. It beats my friend's yz250f sometimes when we race. I would suggest this bike for anybody that wants a fast 125 for racing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Valine

Warren, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2006-04-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is insane...my brother rides a yz250f and I think this bike is much better. It's insanely fast, and the power band hits really hard and carries through. The suspension is set up perfectly for me. It feels so light in the air, and I can flick it sideways rather easily. I used to ride a Kawasaki kx100, and this bike totally dominates it...and the other 125's and 250f's. GO buy one now.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: