Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

26 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

UG

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-04-26

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The only problem is the seat. It can get uncomfortable after some long hours (about 3-4 straight) of riding. Suggestion for improvement would be an added 6th gear, however, the bike does not necessarily need one, it has the power to use it and would make high speed cruising more efficient. Other suggestion would be the oil filter placement, just a bugger to get to during oil changes (manual recommends filter change every other 3K miles). For performance, there are no complaints. This bike has all that is needed and at a great price. Enough stature and maneuverability for tight spaces and city rides, plenty of power for highway. Sometimes the bike will seem angry at you around 70-75 mph, but it will smooth out after 75. With upgrades, the bike sounds great, runs better. I can squeeze out 54 mpg (staying under 70 on highway). 750 mies per week, 4 total maintenance (600, 2000, 6000, 18000) the rest was oil changes done my me. Maintenance, easier than some. As mentioned the oil filter is behind the front exhaust pipe on the side of the bike. The pipe needs to be removed to get to it. The first time took me about 2 hours to finish. Now I have I down to about 45 minutes. Not because it is hard, but because it takes time. The only times I have taken it to the shop have been to get the valve clearance checked/adjusted and to replace a carburetor bowl gasket (for 2007 v star owners, ethanol fuel will eat the gaskets over time. run all the fuel out of the carbs before putting away and use stabil marine formula - blue stuff, not red - or use sea foam brands ethanol fuel treatment. this will keep the fuel from drying through the gaskets and giving you a fuel leak.) Other than those points, every 6K miles oil and filter change, every 1500 is a drain and fill of oil. (yes Rotella T 15W40 will work in the bike - save you some money too). 21000 miles in less than 3 years. Show me a different bike that can do that, and I'll show you another well built machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Geoff Powers

Shaker Heights, Ohio

Reviewed on 2009-06-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just clicked 5000 miles last week. Best things about it? Comfortable and stable, stingy on gas (45-50 mpg), loads of aftermarket parts available. Things not so great? OEM saddle WAAAAY too wide, brakes kinda spongy,(accessory luggage rack) a joke...10 lb limit? Come on, now...and rear wheel air valve needs a contortionist to reach/fill/check. Would like to see passing lamps installed as standard because the headlight's not too good at night in the country. Otherwise, it's the best bargain around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CASEY HUNT

HUBER HEIGHTS, Ohio

Reviewed on 2008-09-29

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I now have 2550 miles on my 1100 Silverado. This is the best choice that I made for a bike. It handles great and has plenty of power for two riders. I think the seat is just fine for riding about 2 hours. I get 50 miles per gallon and a lot of compliments on the looks. The saddlebags have come in very handy many times. They are very well made and the plastic liners keep them in shape. I am looking forward to many rides with this bike. I recommend this bike to anyone. If you're looking for looks, good mileage, easy handling and a fun to ride bike, this is the one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Joel

West Wyoming, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded up from a Kawasaki Vulcan for the 1100 Silverado. The first thing I noticed is that this bike has much greater balance. The ride is very smooth with plenty of power. When I first purchased it, I remembered reading some reviews about the horrific location of the oil filter for DIY oil changes. It might take me 1 1/2 hours to do this, but it's not difficult at all. Besides this engineering blunder, this is a first class bike. I added some nice upgrades to make it one-of-a-kind!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Geoff Powers

Shaker Heights, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-08-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had ridden a Honda Super 90 nearly 40 years ago, and decided that it was time to get back on a motorcycle. I am very respectful (maybe even fearful?) of the power that this bike has; however, it is so perfectly balanced and so responsive and maneuverable that it is easy to drive. I can manage very well in city traffic and on country roads without opening the throttle very much at all. I'm averaging about 30 mpg during break-in, and expect that figure to go up after the 600 mile service is performed. I am very glad I chose the V Star Silverado 1100.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark McIntyre

Pataskala, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-08-13

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was going to buy a Vulcan 900 LT, but the dealership couldn't locate one. After riding this bike, I was glad that I didn't buy the Kaw. Very easy to ride and lots of extras available. Looks and sounds great. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good performing bike and don't want to pay an arm and a leg. You will love this cruiser.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G. Quintana

Ro Rancho, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2007-07-10

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchasing my V Star Silverado, has been the best investment I have made. This bike has brought so much fun to my life. The bike rides smooth and is the best bike I have ever ridden.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony Tripolone

Mohawk, New York

Reviewed on 2007-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike rides as nice as it looks. Easy to handle, good balance, comfortable, and power when you need it. I know that I don't have a lot of miles on it yet, but the miles that I have ridden so far have been a pleasure and I look forward to all the miles ahead.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JOE PHILLIPS

CLARKSTON, Michigan

Reviewed on 2007-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I OWN A 2004 SILVERADO SILVER/GRAY AND I HAVE TO SAY THIS IS THE NICEST I HAVE EVER RODE OR EVEN SEEN. I HAVE BEEN RIDING BIKES SINCE I WAS SEVEN (I AM NOW FORTY ONE). THE DAY MY DIVORCE WAS FINAL I WENT TO THE LOCAL HARLEY DEALER TO PICK OUT A BIKE. I WANTED STOCK SADDLE BAGS, WINDSHIELD, FLOORBOARDS, ETC. BY THE TIME I WAS DONE LOADING UP THE BIKE I WAS WELL OVER $20,000. I TOLD THEM I HAD TO THINK ABOUT IT AND HEADED DOWN TO MY LOCAL YAMAHA DEALER. WHEN I GOT THERE MY BIKE WAS SITTING ON THE SHOWROOM FLOOR NOT EVEN FULLY ASSEMBLED YET. THEY HAD NOT INSTALLED THE WINDSHIELD. IT WAS LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT. IT WAS WAY SHARPER THAN THE FAT BOY I WAS JUST LOOKING AT AND IT WAS ABOUT HALF THE PRICE ALREADY LOADED WITH ACCESSORIES. THE ONLY THING I WISH YAMAHA WOULD CHANGE IS PUTTING A SIXTH GEAR OR OVERDRIVE ON THE BIKE. IT WINDS KIND OF HIGH ON THE EXPRESSWAY. NOT REAL BAD BUT TO ME EVERYTHING ELSE IS JUST PERFECT. I AM SHORT AND THIS BIKE SITS VERY LOW TO THE GROUND STOCK WHICH GIVES IT A VERY LOW CENTER OF GRAVITY. I WOULDN'T SAY THIS IS A GOOD FIRST TIME BIKE BUT MAYBE A SECOND. IT TAKES A LITTLE GETTING USED TO THE HEAL TOE SHIFTER. IT IS ALSO PERFECT FOR WOMEN THAT ARE SHORTER. BE PREPARED TO SPEND A LOT OF MONEY ON EXTRA CHROME PARTS THAT ARE AVAILABLE FOR ALMOST EVERYTHING. I WENT AS FAR AS I COULD ON YAMAHA ACCESSORIES AND THEN STARTED SURFING THE INTERNET FOR MORE. THIS BIKE GETS A LOT OF LOOKS AND I NEVER REGRETTED MY DECISION ON BUYING IT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John LeDoux

Bristow, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-06-07

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike almost 2 years ago after getting rid of my starter bike ('86 Honda 700). I love this bike, low center of gravity, good speed, a larger bike (like a HD FatBoy), with all the add-on's she turns many heads. I would like to upgrade to a Road Star soon.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 26 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: