Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Zim Zimma

Tucson, Arizona

Reviewed on 2010-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike can take pin point turns with ease - 9.98 stock quarter mile. I own the charcoal/silver R1 and it looks awesome, but you will have to change the huge ugly fender and turn signals. There is supposed to be a governor at 189mph, but I have personally taken mine to 191 before I felt like I was floating above the ground, and decided to slow down. I race anyone on the road and have yet to meet my match.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Knightdale, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2010-01-18

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2007 R1 with 4,500 miles on it. I have ridden the bike for a year and love the top end performance. The bike's handling is razor sharp and it devours high speed curves. I do wish the bike had more mid-range and bottom end torque for those low speed curves. The under seat exhausts will also cook your thighs. This is my sixth bike and have only ridden Honda up until I bought this bike. The bike is definitely better than my previous Honda liter bikes. I have recently ridden the 08 CBR 1000RR and think it is a better bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

some guy

North BC, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2010-01-14

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I picked this bike up new in April 09. I am very happy I purchased the bike. There is a glitch at 5500 rpm in second gear, the dealer fixed this for me. It took about a week to get it fixed. Other than that, the seat gets pretty hot. Fixed that by getting rid of cat. Bike handles pretty awsome. Sexy looking bike that has insane acceleration.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Adam

New Haven, Michigan

Reviewed on 2009-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just picked up a 07 r1 with 700 mi. on it and have put only 18 mi. on it in 2 days but love the bike. It rides like a dream. I was looking at getting a 09 but came across the 07 and figured save some money and get a great bike with 700 mi. I love how smooth it is and I wanted the yamaha blue but found it in red and the more I looked at it the more I liked it. I would recommend this bike to any experienced rider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TONY

LOS ANGELES, California

Reviewed on 2009-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Being so used to cruisers, I decided to buy a sportbike. Many people told me a 1000cc was too much power and to go with a 600cc. So to make a long story short, I went to a dealership that had a gray/black R1 with 1000 miles. So I decided to buy it. don't get me wrong; this bike is powerful and fast, but it is easy to manage. I'm only 19 years old and have ridden 650cc cruisers. The 1st gear is amazing. I can go way beyond 70 mph on one gear. The braking, handling and visibility (HID headlights are real nice and give you a wide range of light at night) features on the R1 are superb. This bike gives you tons of confidence and makes you feel like you own the streets. Yamaha did an amazing job with the design of this bike. It is definitely a smooth ride and attention grabber. If you decide to get this masterpiece you won't be disappointed. I'm loving this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

The Gregster

Pemberton, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2007-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got the 07 R1 about 2 weeks ago and already I have put 1,000 miles on her. It has to be one of the most comfortable street-bikes I have ridden on and the response you get from the motor is just amazing. I jumped from a 1990 600 to a 97 1200 then right to the R1 without missing a beat and I have never looked back. If you are pondering getting this bike, stop pondering and go buy the best motorcycle you can ever own.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wayne

Saratoga Springs, New York

Reviewed on 2007-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has everything a sport rider could want. Great big power, handling, looks etc. I highly recommend this machine to anyone who is looking for performance taken to the next level. Has a few first model year glitches but it DOES NOT detract from the overall package and Yamaha is working on correcting these bugs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason

Ballston Spa, New York

Reviewed on 2007-06-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought this bike a week ago and fell in love with it. I previously was ridding a Ducati 996, and this bike handles a 100 times better in high and low speed cornering and throttle response. Torque and handling is unbelievably better than most bikes I've ridden including a 600. For all you 600 riders, I recommend you test ride or step up to this bike - you will not be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Previous bike was an 05 R1 which was awesome. The new bike has more torque down low which helps out with cruising. It is a very good sport tourer. Very comfortable for my size. Besides the torque it feels very similar to the previous generation. The new look is, in my opinion, better. They really cleaned up the look including the screwless windscreen. Highly recommended motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jesse Keller

Merced, California

Reviewed on 2007-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
To all prospective buyers, this bike is awesome. The power is very controllable but at the same time a monster. By this I mean the fly by wire is smooth, no jerks that I could fell. How ever there is a delay in 2nd gear around 50 mph - it seems to take a second to pick up also this happens in third at a low rpm. You'll find it if you ride one for a while. You have to cruise it at say 50 mph in second for a few seconds then gas it, you'll see what I mean. This is because the butterflys are contolled by electronics not your wrist. There is a way around this. You can buy the power commander and get rid of it, or you can slip the clutch real quick and be careful, it willl take off. The power on this bike is amazingly strong. I'm happy with the looks of the bike. I have the blue one - liked the gold shocks and a few other things they changed to black on the charcol on for sure. The turning is very reponsive and quick this bike is the closest feelling to a 600 to me. I get about 35 miles to the gallon but what do you expect from a 1000 cc? The tires are a great choice grip very well and are reliable. The suspension was a little stiff for my weight but just softened them up a little and it works for me. The front lights on this thing are pretty damn cool projectors stock and you have the brites if it gets a little dark. Every one coming the other way will hate you, don't ask me how I know. The bike is quiet stock so get ready to purchase something if that's what you're looking for. All I can say is this bike is a great choice. Happy I waited for what I wanted. When you hit about 9 grand this bike really goes thanks to the extra set of tubes for the manifold it really works hope this is enough info.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: