Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (2,129)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Arthur Bliss from San Antonio, Texas says:

I have owned nearly a dozen bikes during the last 50 years plus. I have wanted a K1200LT since they came out but could never justify such luxury. I am

Read More (2129 reviews)

Have you owned a Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2009 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned nearly a dozen bikes during the last 50 years plus. I have wanted a K1200LT since they came out but could never justify such luxury. I am so sorry I waited. I bought a 1999 with 7,403 miles on it last year from a guy just like me. There is nothing about it that I don't like. It has performed flawlessly and I find myself making excuses to ride it every day. The K1200LT is one of those machines that you can park but you have to look back at it when you are walking away. I really like the way that bike makes me feel. That is surprising at my age. Just don't wait.
- Arthur Bliss, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-10-10 2005 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this as a beginner bike. It is so fun to ride because you are always changing gears. It is great on and off road. Very reliable and simple machine. The bike is very light and easy to control. I love the tw200 community. You can have any questions answered on their forums. Cons- I wish it had a slightly higher top cruising speed. I wish it was a taller seat because I’m 6’2” with long legs.
- Carl Rider, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-09-11 2019 BMW G310GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been a licensed rider for 54 years. I've owned dozens of motorcycles. All makes and models, Brit, Japanese, German, American etc. From 1200 cc to 50cc This bike, manufactured in India is without question the best bike I have ever owned. Quick, nimble, responsive and beautiful to look at. I took a group of guys out for a ride on back country roads. Honda Africas, BMW r1200s, Harley Fat Boys, Indians etc. Smoked 'em all. You will love this bike!
- chris, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-05-20 2021 SSR 400U Bison Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nice UTV, All options are standard equipment except winch. Great traction with rear diff lock. Top speed is 36 mph. The 400cc motor is more than enough power for 2 people.I wish you could shift for low to high without stopping. Priced below $10,000.
- Dennis Luba, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-04-07 2017 Suzuki DR200S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2017 DR200s in May of 2019 from my local Suzuki dealer. The bike was brand new .1 miles and had been sitting on the dealers floor for 2 years. When I went to check out the bike they had just put it on clearance for $2995 which is about 1/3 off. So I quickly bought and it's been flawless so far. 30 some years ago I bought a 1987 Suzuki SP200 and I'd always liked that bike, and honestly the 2017 DR200s is basically the same bike except it now has electric start. The bike has a nice low seat height which I needed because I'm getting pretty old and I'm not as flexible as I used to be. The DR does fine on and off road and although it's not fast it does keep up with traffic. I have ridden it on the interstate for about 30 minutes at 65~75 mph and it was ok but I wouldn't push it to much further. The bike seems to be happier at speeds below 60. The DR's quality is excellent and I get around 225 miles on a full tank. With normal maintenance the bike is pretty much bullet proof and it looks good too.
- R. Fleenor, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-02-22 2014 Kawasaki KLR650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought used 14 model with 2300 miles on it for $4300. Had a klx250 and was way under powered. The 650 really has 3 times the power and is way easier to ride on the road. Just did a 25 mile trip down a sandy beach through some soft sand..no problem. Starts right up, idles nice, no hesitation. Give it gas and hold on.
- tom jones, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-01-27 2010 Yamaha XT250 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think it is heavy for a 250cc but I'm 62. I put close 8,000 miles on it in just a few years. I took it up to Duluth twice and rode it in a day long dual sport ride over widely varying terrain. It's fun but it is dated. I cashed it in for a 2021 Honda Trail 125...the penultimate old-dude bike.
- peetpixel, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-11-02 2005 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode it 300 miles the first day on I75 and the performance was outstanding! Torque at 70 mph was excellent and stability on the Highway was comparable to my 2019 Roadglide. Handling and maneuvering is 4 and at 610 pounds this 71 yo could do most things right away. My tight turning radius was reduced by 4 feet. I have now ridden the Suchs loop and Natchez Trace and it is very strong in curves. You must have the Nav 6. A local upholstery guy raised the drivers seat 1-2 inches. Negatives: wife hates the ride, Bluetooth barely works
- Jim, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-13 2004 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 6'1", 54yrs having owned ZZR1100, Blackbird, GSXr1100, VFR800, FJ1200 to mention but a few. I bought this BMW with 23kkm on the odo. I've managed to find very good you tube directions to do complete service on her. May I add that I'm not a mechanically minded rider but servicing this bike is a labour of love, quite therapeutic might I add. ito riding...She is heavy regardless! I do not believe this bike commutes well but she is an open road intercontinental joy. I've found many scary stories on the net about the ABS II and yes, I believe that its costly to repair. BMW however do warn that complying with regular servicing with circuit bleeding is a prerequisite. I have to say that this bike is one that you could virtually do most of the work on yourself...the only part that has a dark cloud hang over it is the seal in the clutch. I dread that day as its a major job. On idle, expect to hear that dry clutch sound like a 'thousand tambourines' but its apparently normal. Engine performance: Loads of usable torque makes for a very rewarding ride. Perfectly ratio'd gearing simply makes for great touring. She's not going to scare you performance-wise but these days I'm beyond that. I'm not quite sure what the Bavarian designers were thinking though with the tanksize. Fuel range is below par.... I get about 15-17km/litre which should give me over 300kkm per fillup but the fuelgauge is not linear and things get a little scary as she drops toward 1/4 full. I've subsequently learnt that on a long tour you need to plan re-fuels well but this is a very poor and obvious weakness by designers. The price of spare parts is reasonable but the actual cost of BMW agent servicing is simply shocking...learn to look after as much as possible yourself, its completely do-able and you'll have years of a high quality machine serve you well.
- Andre Strydom, Yukon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-03 2000 BMW F650 STRADA Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It sounds like a tractor and it drives like one. Engine is struggeling under 3000 rpm and above it, the vibrations are so severe that you will think twice about driving above 60 miles per hour for extended periods of time. The Rotax engine is the worst engine I have ever driven. Good for your lawnmower but that,s it. And, in my opinion, not worthy of the BMW badge.Pro,s: it is reliable, cheap to maintain, and easy to handle.
- Roger, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-27 2018 Suzuki DR200S Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love my dr200s I bought basically brand new it had 4 miles on it I ride it everywhere some say it’s not good for highways I wouldn’t take on the interstate much but on highways with speed limits of 60 it’s perfect it gets 0-60 in about 14 seconds which is good enough some say it’s shaky over 60 but I’ve had it going 85 with no problems (I’m 5”8 165 pounds) I will get a drz 400 in a year or 2 but for now it’s my favorite way to go anywhere.
- Chris, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-24 2008 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had 2 F800ST motorcycles a 2009 that I put 27k miles on, and a 2012 that I have put about the same miles on. These are great bikes. You can (and will) ride them all day long. Gas mileage is 60+ MPG on a trip as long as you don't go crazy with your right hand. The eat up the twisties, and do well on the highway too (with the right windscreen). Shifting up and down is smooth, throttle/power delivery is predictable and linear, Vibration isn't even noticeable with grip puppies on. Speaking of grips, the standard heated grips are a joy in the Northeast. I also love the low-maintenance belt drive. No chain lube or gear oil changes! And when I had to replace the new belt, I got one online and changed it myself, quick and easy. Mods: As an older rider, I didn't like the lean forward position, so I added bar risers and lowering kits on both bikes. The progressive springs front and back make a world of difference in handling.
- John Carpino, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-05 2019 BMW F850GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike so far only had it fo a month Haven’t been able to ride it much yet due to our rain and wind here in Seattle. I will have a bette review at a later time I can’t wait to get on the road I think bmw is tops!!
- Shawn James, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-08-06 2017 Honda CRF250L Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
great bike they are this is for the 2017 not 2016 wick seem there glitch there ,adding FMF ejk seat concepts seat for the price I paid for 2017 with 64 mile I saved for all the extras,the bikes do well of road too,from youtube video I have watched ,I will be mostly road riding ,an may do super moto,but will propbley keep it just the way it is for tires are perfect for on road an off,great looking bike efi cant say enough about ,want miss the carb ,though I may keep one on hand incase,dont go buy the new one from 2017 to 2019 are the same bike ,I know some hope to se the crf300l using the older cbr engine,the newer version with upgrades has more power then 2016 on back ,you can do so much to the bikes ,I think the best upgrade is the seat ,I also did the wider foot pegs 57mm makes me feel so much more stable ,there huge ,will probley get the folding shifter at some point an billet parts for dress up ,there is also a nice universal wind shield looks like it is stock,i did think about the rally sport,but seem to much plastic an does not show of the engine very much but still both nice bikes ,I would have got the rally at the right price ,I got the 2017 with 64 miles an not scratch for $1500, less then some are paying in the NE ,only problem was the shipping brokers out there these days made my purchace scary an took some time ,to find a desent shipper comfort goes to 5 stars with the better seat,the stock seat is for the younger guys
- scott , New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-10-13 2001 BMW R1100R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this motorcycle. It has 80 horse power. Sure wish they had put another gear in it. No need to be winding it up so much when just cruising. I'd been happy to downshift to pass.
- Paul Eckerson, Lincoln Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-20 2014 BMW R1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
George at Indian Motorcycle in Libertyville was very professional, easy to work with, and offered an excellent price! I will definitely be back at his dealership in the future!
- Dusty, Chicago

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-07-26 2017 BMW R Nine T Racer Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had BMW's in the past and this bike is a tad out of what I would call BMW normal. We refer to it as a Vintage Sport Bike. As I have a long distance bike this is just for Sunday mornings and is pretty much what I was looking for.
- Rich Daniels, N. CA.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-14 2018 BMW GTL 1600 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2018 BMW GTL 1600 and I am in love with motorcycles once again. I have many problems with my back (whole back), neck (herniated disks), and shoulders (surgeries on both), and I rode this bike for 8 our the a few days after I bought it from Texas to Mississippi, and other than being tired of riding or being on the road, I had no problems with any of my physical or health conditions due to riding a motorcycle. This bike should not be classified as any regular cruiser or touring bike; it has a 1600+cc engine with 0ver 155hp and more than 120 pounds of torque. I rode it for 8 hours with my wife on the back seat, and if I didn't already knew she was there, I would've not notice. Lots of people get scared of all the technology it has, but I think about it as the best luxury motorcycle ever built today. I had dirt, sport, sport touring, and cruiser bikes, and this one outperforms all of them. My wife and I love it. Next: Tail of the Dragon...
- Amilcar (Mickey), Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-05 2017 BMW F800GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rides well. Lots of plastic. I have 3 airheads so this is a different beast. Negative: Worst seat I have ever been on. I am waiting for Panniers so I strapped a bag to the rear. When it fell off ( That's on me) I ripped to rear fender and license plate off.I am not sure what this means, but would not have happened on a metal airhead. Bike is pretty high. I have 29" inseam and am on balls of feet bilaterally. When I bought new seat (for a brand new bike) I got a low one. Bike should also settle a bit. With 400 miles on it, take this review with a grain of salt. Ask me in a year. Still not sorry I did it.
- Timothy DuBon, Jeffersonville

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-12-22 2003 BMW R1150R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The BMW R1150R is a marvel of handling, quickness, and power. All of the reviews I read did the bike no justice at all. The bike I found using Cycle Trader is in excellent condition and delivers great bang for the buck. There were only 13 to 15 bikes of this model listed nationwide at any given time. The R1150R I found was within 100 miles of me and was about midrange in price. The Bike is fantastic, the dealership, not so much, but that is another story. Like all BM's, you think turn and the bike is halfway through. When I twist the throttle the bike not only moves, it jumps. The reviews said it would not win any races and was a bit heavy. Bull*&@3. This bike is definitely fast and light weight. The exhaust note, while not a Harley, has a bark and the tail pipe is stainless steel. The last BM I had back in '78, had a problem with rusty pipes. Hopefully, gone are those days. After reading everything I could on the R1150R, I am very, very surprised at the overall speed and agility.
- Bernie Camp, Central Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-11-19 2007 BMW K1200R Sport Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
"The "Rocky Balboa Bike" of Sport Street Fighters's go the distance" Last Bike 2009 Yamaha FJR was a great bike but... Rider for over 45 years and was looking for a "Bucket List" Bad Ass that had it all! Power, Extraordinary Handling with Touring Comfort Capabilities. Finding a "The Diamond" for sale at a Highly Reputable Yamaha/Honda ATV/Boat/ Motorcycle was aided by Cycle Trader.com 's search/notification App. 2005-2007 BMW Sport Bike's 1200 Inline 4cyl 13:1 Compression , German Engineering and research was a natural attraction. These are Real Machines for Motorcycle Enthusiast who dedicate time to strict maintenance! Not recommended for the casual owner. High Compression, High Horsepower, High Heat make it imperative you to maintain and be vigilant. The prior owner came up short. Traded in @ a Jap Bike Dealer fortunate for me. West Oakland had a Tiger by the tail with the cooling system but came through in the end result.
- Ron Baker, Vero Beach FL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-09-30 2007 BMW F800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike had a complete failure of the fuel pump just after I bought it. It was expensive to replace. I use this bike 95% of the time for commuting and then 80 mile round trips for pleasure. It gets 55 mpg average and over 60 mpg on the freeway. After owning it for 7 years, I'm upgrading to a Honda touring CTX 1300.
- Dave, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-13 2003 BMW K1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cons: very top heavy and tricky to handle in tight quarters, difficult to maintain because of all the "tupperware". Pros: very smooth bike, extremely comfortable for long distance rides, can take a lot of hard riding and not even breathe hard love my K1200LT
- Les, Fort Lauderdale

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-10 2003 BMW K 1200 LT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cons: heavy heavy bike would not recommend for a new rider, repairs and maintenance are not exactly user friendly, top heavy difficult to handle in tight and close quarters. Pros: extremely smooth motorcycle, meant for hundreds of miles a day with no problems, the weight seems to disappear when at speed, "drive it like you stole it"!
- Les, South Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-08 2015 Suzuki S-40 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only had my Suzuki S 40 for a short time. I really enjoy the bike. It has plenty of power to do what ever tickles your fancy. It's light weight and slim lines, make it easy to ride. Insurance was not bad on this machine either. So I'm looking forward to putting many more miles on my bike. I do need to gear up. too.on Some cool nights I need a little more cover and maybe even a windshield & saddle bags. So I can use it year round. Do Be Safe and watch out for other riders. Maybe a wave as you pass.
- Roger H., Burbank, CA.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: