Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha FJR1300A reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

37 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

S.D.Willie

Long Island, New York

Reviewed on 2014-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
don't know how I am the only one here with a review of the FJR1300 since 2009 but this bike is quite the sport tourer. Sadly, I haven't logged many miles since I only got it this season but it just rocks. Coming from an '09 FZ6, this bike has gobs of power in all five gears. It has smooth power, yet pulls. My only gripes with this bike are the sheer weight of this beast and the handlebar setup. Nothing to do about the weight but a relatively cheap pair of risers brought the bars up nicely and make it more comfortable for sure. Trying to get used to moving this beast around my garage is no small feat. I just ordered the park and move dolly to help with that.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Smith

littleton, Colorado

Reviewed on 2013-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had the bike three years now and am closing in on 40k miles. I've had several long road trips with many 700+ mile days, including a 4,200 mile trip through British Columbia, down the Pacific coast to So. Cal and back to Colorado. The bike is dependable, fast, light, comfortable, cheap to own, easy to maintain, fuel efficient and fun to ride one or two up. I'm taking my honey on a jaunt to Mt. Rushmore and the Badlands this weekend and know it'll perform flawlessly. I've considered other touring bikes like the Victory CCT, but that bike's size and crappy gas mileage make me realize I already have the best bike for my riding style. I fully expect to reach 100k on this ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Lowry

Atlanta, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is one class act. FJR - best bike for the money. I have put 8k miles on mine since I bought it and have enjoyed every mile whether it's the beat back and forth to work or a weekend outing. Once again, Yamaha sets the mark.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter

Redlands, California

Reviewed on 2010-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it new in March '09. I put on 19K miles the first year. I live at the base of two mountain ranges (San Gregornio and San Jacinto). It keeps up with most of the sport bikes no problem. It handles extremely well in the twists and turns but is very stable on the interstates. I normally have to hop off every couple of hours to stretch the legs but it is very comfortable on long rides. 600+ miles a day is no problem (that's about 2 tank fulls). You will make no friends with the Harley crowd as you cruise past them in quiet comfort. The only problem is front fork bushings, covered under warranty. I talked to a motor cop who rides an '06 for fun (when he is not on a Honda) and he experienced the same issue. It might be coincidence but worth keeping an eye on the front tire for cupping. As previously mentioned, there is no helmet lock but the helmet fit easily in the side bags (which hold a lot and are very easy to operate/remove). I only wish I could ride it all the time.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

Fresno, California

Reviewed on 2010-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned many bikes and I bought this one new a few years ago. Ninety percent of my riding is 2-up with my wife. The riding position is still a little too far leaning forward even with the risers. I plan on adding a Heli triple clamp this year. The stock BT-021 tires didn't last very long and caused a steering shimmy on decel after some wear. After two sets I now have Roadsmarts. I get 39-45 mpg. The foot pegs are a little low and drag frequently when mountain riding. Other than the ignition switch recall and the ECM replacement per TSB to fix an altitude surge it has had no other problems. Yes, the bike is not light. But it is smooth in the twisty turns with lots of smooth power and almost stalker quiet. We love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Barry

Reston, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I just bought a brand new 2009 FJR in early May 2010. I just don't like silver (= 2010). I'm giving it 4 stars only because I don't have a lot of experience beyond cruisers. There must be some things that could be better that I don't know about. I can't believe how I have fallen in love with this bike so fast! Never would have expected it. It's FAST, nimble. Aside from just handling like it could out-maneuver a pending accident, its got ABS which I was wanting badly. It's fun, and as fast as I'll ever need a bike to be, and comfortable on long trips. I did a weekend tour in PA (800 miles or so all of which was before full break-in). I've also ridden to Manhattan and Westchester, NY (from VA). Comfort was not an issue. Oh - buy a big tank bag and you can lean your head on it under the adjustable windshield (at full height) for an almost silent ride (except for the soft hum of the engine). Downsides: On a hot day, sitting in traffic! You just want to get off of it at traffic lights it runs so freakin hot. Also - why no helmet lock? That said, I paid cash for the bike and don't miss the money (like I expected I would).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G Vail

Springdale, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2010-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A few years ago I owned an 07 AE and didn't like the automatic. I ended up trading it of for another bike. Last September, I was in a dealership and decided to test ride an 09 FJR1300A. Loved it. Rode to Minneapolis and back the second week I owned it. Great ride. Super smooth with nice power. The best of all touring bikes due to size, weight and balance. The only complaint I have is the seat. I ordered the gel seat from Yamaha but after three hours on the road it is just as brutal as the original seat. Ended up buying a Day Long seat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ElkGroveSam

Elk Grove, California

Reviewed on 2010-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 09 FJR in June of 09 and have logged more than 4,400 miles on it. This is a comfortable bike as soon as you take a break every 2-3 hours. The performance of this bike is outatanding. It has very strong accelaration and braking. I pushed this thing up to 130 MPH on hwy 50 in Nevada one time and it remained extremely stable. My bike did have a minor problem with the front wheel bearing since new but the dealer fixed it with no charge 3 months ago. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a touring bike at a very affordable and reasonable price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Carroll

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2009-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased an 08 FJR with 850 miles on it. Took it in for an inspection and it received a clean bill of health. That was in April of this year.(2009) I had not ridden a bike for more than 34 years. I joined a group and to date (09/09) I have more than 19K on the clock. With no problems at all, it has been a wonderful machine. The bike has performed as expected or better in every way. I did a great deal of research on-line before making the purchase and I am Very Very Happy with this great machine. My average ride is 550 to 650 miles per day with more than 700 miles per day on more than one occasion. Twelve to fourteen hours ridding time per day is not unusual. No issues at all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J Nicholas

Montgomery, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2009-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my FJR for over a year now. First, I'd like to say that it is the best motorcycle I've ever owned. I've been riding motorcycles for over 30 years. It does so many things well, but not everything quite perfect. It has been reliable, and it is relatively comfortable. For example, it is very fast, handles very well, but you can ride it for several hours without fatigue, unlike pure sport bikes, because of obvious ergonomic reasons. Saddlebags are great. Adjustable windscreen is fantastic. I upgraded mine to the larger touring size which gives even more cold weather protection. I love the centerstand too. The oil filter location is pure genius and makes changing simple, as it should. On the downside, this is without question the worst fuel injected motorcycle I have ever ridden. It needs sync adjustments appx every 4000mi. I've had to do it twice so far, and it is ready for the third adjustment as I approach 8000mi. The engine is not smooth as some of the Honda's I've owned, and tends to surge as you approach the need for Fuel Injector adjustment. Another downside to this bike is the amount of throttle pull required. I had to buy a throttle lock in order to ride this bike for more than 30 minutes. I never had this problem on any other bike I owned. The pull required fatigues the wrist. The final downsides are the sheer weight of this machine. It is a tank, and a crappy sidestand. Thank god for the centerstand, as now that is all I really use to park the bike safe and secure. The kickstand released twice. And picking the breast up is a challenge. Fortunately not a scratch on anything! But as stated, overall this is an excellent machine for 3-4hr cruises. The bike is very fast, comfortable, and corners well. It does eat through front tires because of its massive girth. I've had to replace the front at about 4500mi, and I'm close to having to replace it again. I'm still on the original rear tie, which is holding up fine. I'd recommend getting a Throttlemeister throttle lock. There are some mods for the throttle springs, but I just use the throttle lock for wrist comfort. Also I purchased the rear trunk and use that as a backrest for the wife. She enjoys cruising on it and reports that it is the most comfortable bike we have ridden on.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 37 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: