Yamaha FZ1 Motorcycles Reviews (163)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ1 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ1 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2016-06-13 2013 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The FZ1's now span 3 generations. They have R1 engines in an upright sport bike chassis. Insurance costs are 1/4 what an R1 is which brings ownership costs into the budget level. FZ1's can be modified with R1 suspensions for track. This series of bikes have been bolted with hard luggage for touring. It is not uncommon to see an FZ1 that is street toured to reach over 200K miles with only normal maintenance performed. The dependability of the FZ1 is none other than legendary. I purchased my bike with the idea of tracking it a few times per year for skill building & using throw over bags for traveling. The center stand makes maintenance a breeze. Very few bikes these days have center stands.
- Radman, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-09-11 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a bike that offers plenty of speed and comfort for longer rides, look no further. This bike will keep up with the fastest bikes on the road. With the upright riding position, it will give you all-day comfort.
- Robbie Green, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-11-22 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Please note, I am 55 and have been dreaming and waiting. This was the ultimate birthday present to myself. My first bike has great looks. While I have only been riding for a few hundred miles, the bike is manageable, nimble and more than I expected. I have only had a mild taste of the power on tap. 65 is a trot. Most of my riding has been old two-lane highways with a 45 limit, lots of elevation changes and curves. Now I take on interstates to cross state lines. I am planning to ride in the cold. I got the bug bad. The FZ1 is the cure. Oh, by the way, Sasha is a red 2010 FZ1
- Mr Gone, Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-02 2008 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used on 2/11/12 with 2,980 miles on the odometer. This is my first running motorcycle. I can't begin to tell you how wonderful it is after 10 years of renting HD and 35 years of shopping. Yes, it is "Scary Fast" to have a Sportbike with a partial upright sitting position, but is so much more comfortable than laying across an R1. The 1st owner did all the cool upgrades, then traded it in at 141 miles, on a GSXR1000. The 2nd owner rode it 1-2 times a month for four years. For touring I am adding the taller wind shield and soft saddle bags. I just added Shogun frame and swing-arm sliders.
- Dwood, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-21 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's an awesome ride wirh plenty of power. It handles great! It's a comfortable ride with minimum fatigue on long rides! This was my third one of these bikes (01, 03, 05). I cried when Yamaha messed up this platform in 2006!
- Lance Semones , Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-15 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used FZ1 in Goodyear and it only had 591 miles on it. It came decked out like no other I had ever seen. It had a full fairing, fender eliminator and flush turn signals. When I purchased it, I added a Givi hard case system and this has got to be a "one of", because I've certainly never seen one like it. This is the fourth Yamaha I've owned. My previous rides included an FZ6, R6 and the fantastic R1. The FZ1 is the best of all worlds. You can sport it or tour it in my configuration. Mileage is good and the power is fantastic. I've owned other brands, Ducati, Honda, BMW, etc., but the FZ1 just might be the "keeper" I've been looking for.
- Valentino, Avondale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-22 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great all around bike for touring and street riding. It has amazing power and handling and the braking is superb. I took it on a 1,700 mile, 4-day trip and was very comfortable. I have been riding bikes since 1969 and this FZ-1 is the best bike by far. It is rock solid reliable, has easy maintanance and a high MPG. It's a great all-around package.
- Len, Doylestown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-14 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although both motorcycles are labeled as sport touring, there are clear differences between these two excellent motorcycles. I reviewed all the comments in this site (very helpful), and after riding it this past weekend, the least I can do is give some feedback. I was concerned about the riding position and comfort, especially after cruising with my TDM for 6+ hours without any aches. I needed not to worry; the Fazer is comfortable enough for touring, maybe not the six straight hours, but definitely enough hours of fun and adrenaline. The handling is superb. Entering and leaving the curves behind is an easy task, maybe not for first timers, but a piece of cake for anyone who rides +500cc for more than a year. Although I still cannot feel the total thrust of the engine (brand new, still loosening it), I have no doubt I'm riding on top of the 150hp! Wow, speed and acceleration have a different concept for me now. After the first hour, I felt confident enough to have a passenger behind me. Again, the Fazer did not notice the extra weight and rode for nowhere fast! I'm glad with my decision, although I left good memories behind with the TDM. I'm excited to acquire new riding skills with this bike, and handling high speed tours, with comfort, confidence a sense of security. Go for it!
- elviz, miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-25 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this motorcycle from a local dealer on 8/24/10 and all I can say is "Wow, this is a great bike." I'm a bigger guy and it's fairly comfortable. Mine had an aftermarket seat when I got it and an MIIV aftermarket exaust which sounds great as far as performance. It's a 1000cc bike in a straight line. It's extremely fast in the turns. It could be better. It's a very good-looking bike and it's very smooth. It is well suited for sport touring. I will give this bike a 4 out of 5. It's overall a solid bike and I definitely recommend it.
- Chris , Christiansburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-22 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also owned a Hayabusa and have sold it. Before that, I owned the previous generation FZ1 and I put over 40K miles on it. The Hayabusa was an impulse purchase, and while it was fun, the romance wore off. It was fast as shit, but the handling could have been better and it handled very poorly in a cross wind. I only put 10K miles on it before I lost interest. I was tire kicking at a dealership and they told me they had last year's FZ1 with a substantial rebate. I said, "can I call my wife?" Sure. She said go for it. First, THIS FZ1 handles better than the older FZ1. In fact, it almost handles like a gixxer. And that is saying a lot. It is more nimble than one should expect, but still very stable on our pot-hole filled Oakland roads. I have a Givi top-box on order and will likely get a new seat. The old one was so much better. I rode to Los Angeles and then Vegas and back and my bum was fine (on the old FZ1). This one hurts within the hour. I'll probably get the slightly taller windscreen and then I'll be done with the mods. You can sit up, or you can lean forward. Both work. My wife has already been on the back. Life will be better for her when there is a backrest, which is part of the Givi luggage package.
- Robert M, Oakland, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-10 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay...so it's not as ooh-ahh as the Duc or Aprilia....but you can sit on this bike for more than an hour and not have to be lifted off. The ergos are much more real-life and comfy for those of us over 18 and standing taller than a Pygmy. The Fizzy has heaps of power...especially with the upgrades I put on. The old Genesis engine still makes enough power to pull a mid 10 second quarter with my fat butt aboard. Stock it will pull the front wheel off in a couple gears, handles well in corners and the gearbox and brakes are dandy. Is it an R1 or Gixxer slayer?? No. But for a 48 year old who cannot fold himself up to fit on a repli-racer crotch-rocket any longer, this bike is more than enough fun. In fact it's a kick in the a$$. You won't regret buying this bike.
- Haggis, Camas, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-25 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I live in London England. I commute and get around town by motorbike, and I also like a good burn at the weekend. This bike really does kick arse. Yamaha have got so much right about this bike. It is a pleasure to ride around town, even in fairly heavy traffic. It just feels so comfortable stable and secure, even on pretty crap roads. It is really agile, nimble and well balanced. The best bike I have ridden round town, and that includes a lot of bikes. On the open road, what a buzz! What an engine. It will do whatever you want, and whatever you want to do, suits the bike. It is an animal if you want it to be, it is a refined and controlled sports tourer if you want it to be. You can even ride very sedately and with the smooth engine it can really pull that off too. It seems that however you want to ride the bike, it suits being ridden in that way. Round town or on the open road, this bike has style and character, and it feels good! I think this is already a modern classic model and I can't recommend it highly enough. The suspension could possibly do with a small amount of adustment from standard. I'm not sure what yet. I guess I am just trying to imagine a better version of perfection. I can agree with others that the seat is hard, and after just a couple of hours, you can start to get a numb arse, but that's to be tolerated, and anyone'e tolerance will increase/arse will toughen up with time.
- nopaultaylor1975, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-07 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello fellow riders, I have always wanted this bike since the first review I read from the european market. I got myself a great deal on a used 2001 with 13,000 and change on the clock. It came with two jackets, two helmets, extra brake pads, flush mount signals(if i want to install them) some extra fluids and some minor mods. I have spent most of my riding career on vintage sport tourers, i.e. Yamaha FJ's and XJ's, Honda V65's, a 1993 Kawasaki Concours and a 1996 Triumph Sprint. Ergonomically, my 1983 XJ 900 Seca has been the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden. I also found it very fun to ride, as it was way ahead of it's time in design. The bike handled amazingly well for it's day, it cornered and stopped well and had great acceleration and torque for a 100hp bike, especially considering it was shaft drive. I was expecting a little more performance from this bike simply from the technological advances in recent years, what I wasn't expecting was the hair scorching acceration of this bike. This bike is amazing. Coming from vintage bikes to this bike was like being transported into the future via a time machine. This bike amazes me in every category. What a nimble little rocket this thing is. I am enjoying every minute on this trusty steed. The kicker is how cheap it is to maintain this bike. Over 20,000 miles before you have to pull the valve covers. Brilliant. Ride fast, but ride safe. Will
- William Hemmingway, West Bend, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-06 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great, great, great bike! First off, its not an R1 or GSXR1000 so don't compare it to these monsters. The one thing it is, is the best all around bike you can buy today. The engine is great! Very smooth with linear acceleration. It is totally manageable as you can feel the power building between 3k-5k, comes alive at 5k-8k, and you better HOLD ON if you have a wrist full of throttle above 8k because she is pullin' hard. I have owned my bike for 3 years and she still surprises me from time to time. You can't go wrong with this ride.
- Rider, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-10 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
O.K. here we are 5 years and 27,000 miles later and now for the REAL truth! WOW, Still! Yes, I am stll in love with this awesome machine. More into the Sport and Sport Touring now. I have several long didtance trips, 2200, 1700, and even an 1100 miler with the wife. I have replaced tires twice, soon to get the third set. The drive chain once(20K). Iridium Spark Plugs. Best MPG is 50.3 and worst is 44.1, riding two-up with 60 lbs of baggage and gear, at 70-75 mph. Of course regular service and 3-4k oil changes(synthetic) and air filter cleaning(K&N). At 24K valve check(all 20) no adjustment needed:) Original brake pads still on(F&R). Nothing has ever gone wrong or needed repairs! Without a doubt the most reliable bike I have ever owned!:) Still a hoot to ride in the twisties, it does anything you ask of it and delivers all and more and wtih flair and plenty of power to spare! It addapts to any style of ride and road conditions. WOW!
- Scotty, Henderson, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-14 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike you could ever want for all around use. Insurance is cheap! Way, way, way cheaper than the R1. Comfortable riding with high bars. For the money it's your best friend. I laugh when people try to compare the FZ1 to the race version R1. Apples and oranges to say the least.
- wayne rhodes, florence, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-11 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well well, if your butt hurts like mine does on long hauls then you can get away with shoe gel packs in your jean pants. For a little pocket change take those silicone shoe inserts and either pack them in your back pockets and or bungee cord them to your seat. Either way works like a charm. Can't say enough about the FZ1 Yamaha. I mean 87 mph in first gear!! Bang second and the front tire starts skimming the pavement. What a bike way more power than you can use on the street. The most fun bike I have ever had.
- wayne rhodes, florence, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-25 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is all that I expected. Handles great and plenty of power to do what you want. Consistantly scrapes the pegs in the corners. The seating and handlebar position is very comfortable, great for a 40 something year old. The seat is a little uncomfortable for long straight cruises but that is not why you get this bike. The rear fender has to go, it hangs low and vibrates.
- Mike S, whitesburg, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Performance: Power is everywhere. You have to be really watching the speedo as speed climbs quickly and you don't even notice it. I don't feel like I am riding a much powerful bike in the sense of being fearful. The 06 had a throttle snatch where power used to dip and surge at 6K rpm. This is called the fuel-cutoff. Ivan's FCE is the solution. 07 and beyond don't have it much as Yamaha slowed down the rate at which the secondary flies are opened. However FCE will make a difference on the 07 FZ1s too. I got the Ivan's performance package cheap from ebay so I will report back the difference. Handling: Handles like a dream, so compact. It tracks and holds a line great. The front end on the FZ6 hangs out too much. For the FZ6 I had to point the front end in the right direction in the curves even with R6 forks. FZ1 falls into a line almost automatically. Riding Position, Handlebars, Footpegs: The riding position is very natural for touring as well as carving the twisties. Though I may still rotate up the bars a little bit. Actually not needed once your muscle memory builds up. A little more aggressive stance than the FZ6. That is the reason I put FZ1 bars on the FZ6. PERFECT RIDING POSITION among the many bikes I have tried and sat on. I feel like I am ONE with the bike which I didn't feel with the FZ6. The FZ1 is very compact in the front. Wind Protection: The stock screen is great so far. Less turbulence. Have to ride one with a aftermaket double bubble screen to know whether to get it or not. I actually got the MRA Vario and it has eliminated the turbulence totally. Beauty is that it is the same height as the stock and the 7 position adjustable laminar lip makes it comfy for the pillion too. Seat: The seat may need to be changed but I was fine after a 180 miles interstate ride. You feel like you are sitting on the bike rather than into it. But then the stock FZ6 seat was the same too. Stock brakes are awesome. 2up: My wife actually feels more comfortable on the FZ1 stock seat compared to the FZ6 Top Saddlery seat as she sits a bit higher. I have bought a Sargent seat already for the rider. Suspension: Suspension is good too but will become gr8 after it is properly dialed in. But the stock setup with the rear shock on preload 5 is working great for me. Actually it is the best I have seen on a stock bike. It absorbs bumps much better than the R6 suspension on my FZ6. Could actually adjust the rebound and compression a bit for the twisties. MPG: Ohh did I mention: 43 mpg interstate avg speed 75mph (95-100 tops) even with 10 less psi in both tires (forgot to check b4 leaving). I bet you could get 50 at 55-65mph speeds on local roads. On spirited twisty rides the FZ6 returned 48mpg whereas the FZ1 returned 44mpg which is freaking cool. Lights, Controls: The headlights are like a volcano. Amazing visibillity and spread with the dual H4s. Tail light is good with the dual pods. Controls are good quality, easy to use and standard. Instrument cluster is great with lots of details like air and coolant temp, fuel gauge, tacho, odo, two trip meters, f-trip/reserve, battery, oil, maintenance, high beam, neutral, adjustable brightness, clock. Could do with a gear indicator and trip computer for a sport touring bike. In Short: I will say anyone who is on the verge, should upgrade to the FZ1. I betcha this bike is more suitable for the tracks in terms of handling if not in terms of excess power compared to the FZ6. It handles much much better. You will forget the FZ6 quickly. I can say this as I own both and can ride them back to back. Even though I loved the FZ6 I always used to be confused if it was really the bike I wanted, whether it was my perfect bike and I used to always look at other bikes. At least now I will stop lusting/looking at other bikes. It is the ultimate bike I wanted. Trust me, I don't look at other bikes any more on ebay, CL, cycletrader, etc. Some reasons being it is a FZ1 - an icon, legendary bike, it is such a looker and then the power. Go test ride one! If you don't want to upgrade then you better don't as that test ride will make you think about getting the FZ1 all the time.
- Akshay Dabholkar, Brentwood, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-12 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new in 06, for commuting to new job at a remote location. Had to ride 90 per day with a bad back, able to do it for two years, until surgery to replace toasted lower disks. Minor tweaks for fuel and exhuast slip-on (M4 Carbon and Ivan's jet kit), crash bars (SWMoto-tech). Luggage rack has been most useful (Rev-it). 125 HP on the rear wheel dyno, 120 on the as in seat meathod. Slight lag off line without high rev's, will drop greaing by 1 tooth at small sproket soon to save clutch, and to shot the holeshot without more drama. Old lady has gear now and is back in action looking safe and hot while she screams in her hat and grabs my belt.
- RDC, ERIE, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-06 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you want to ride all day and toast your buddies, then this bike is for you. Super fast, great handling, and easy wheelies. The bike handles great! You must get rid of the dirt bike fender.
- Dave Martel, Ashford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-02 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just traded my S4 Monster in for a pre owned perfect condition Lava Red FZ1 Fazer 06 with 4000 miles on the clock, only had it just over a week and cannot keep off it. This bike is the perfect blend off usable performance comfort and handling, what a bike.
- CameraMAN, Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-14 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2009 FZ1 First 1000 miles. OK, I have about 3800 miles on the FZ1 now. I installed the gel seat from Yamaha when I had right at 1100 miles. The seat is harder than the stock seat and took a little getting used to. Is it better? Is it more comfortable? Comfortable in this situation is a relative term. I'll do my best to explain... The stock seat is softer, due to that, there are two points that become VERY uncomfortable because the foam eventually gives enough to feel two distinct pressure points. These points pain hurt at level of around 8, 10 being worst after about 35 minutes of riding. The gel seat being a little harder and not breaking down as much, the points are not felt, HOWEVER, instead of two point on my rear hurting at level 8 after 35 minutes, my whole rear hurts at a level of about 3 to 5 after about 1.5 hours of riding. The gel seat discomfort is bearable. The stock seat pressure points are not, the pain level gets to 10 within and hour of riding. I'm 42 so I'm sure that has something to do with this. Although I have been riding all my life and my rear has seen it's share of hard seats over the years. I hope this helps anyone out there considering buying a gel seat from Yamaha. I would get the gel seat, but don't expect a night and day difference, however you will be able to ride all day. (with a few breaks of course, you gotta get gas eventually)
- Chad Mouton, New Iberia, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-04 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike as it fits me like a glove at 5'9. The engine has long legs and really pulls hard from 5000 and up. Agile and comfortable, perfect mix of sport and comfort! I see keeping this one for a LOOOOOOOOOONG time!
- Jimbo, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-26 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike 2 years ago with 6k on it. I put about 6-8k on a year by sport, touring, commuting. The power is amazing. I can sit on it all day. My insurance is cheaper than a lot of full plastic sportbikes (which is kinda funny). I don't understand why you would want to hide that sexy motor in the first place?! My girl loves sitting on the back of this bike instead of laying on my back.
- TreadHead, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: