Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha FZ1 reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

165 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Len

Doylestown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2011-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great all around bike for touring and street riding. It has amazing power and handling and the braking is superb. I took it on a 1,700 mile, 4-day trip and was very comfortable. I have been riding bikes since 1969 and this FZ-1 is the best bike by far. It is rock solid reliable, has easy maintanance and a high MPG. It's a great all-around package.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

matt j

Idaho

Reviewed on 2021-02-26

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
BEST SPORT TOURING OUT THERE. I loved my 07 for thousands of miles. simple Japanese bullet. goes fast when wanted and needed but tours like a champ. I cashed it a few days ago and I'm distraught. looking for a new one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bumble Bee

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2020-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
Bought New in 2004 and have 25K up through 2020. Have done many 14 hour days - would do 24 but can not stay awake that long - have gently put the pegs on the pavement @ 90 mph in the rain - no issues - great handling - took 3 years to adjust the suspension - lots of settings - all manual - to many different surfaces and tire combinations to ever get it "right" - Original tires were dangerous. Major dislike, engine buzz on highway (rpm too high), engine has no working effort on piston pins unless accelerating - partially corrected with 16/39 gearing changes to reduce rpm in top gear, but transmission in my 1967 RD250 6 speed had it correct - pure magic - FZ1 builders should have honored those who did it correct in 67 with 5th & 6th as double overdrive, 1st as a creeper gear (Fz 1st gear would be a good 2nd gear, and the Fz 6th gear would be better 4th gear, and with the flat torque curve in this motor - they should have changed it up from the R1 - can you tell the gear choice is a little off and that I miss the 1st creeper gear and the double overdrive - my 73 Z1 had a better stock gear box with only 5 gears - but that motor was built so it had more rpm (13K) than the FZ1. Overall, I wanted to replace my custom 1973 Z1 - and this 2003 FZ1 has done the trick for 16 years and I still do not want to part from it - it just ticks too many boxes. Now that I'm 65, I still plan to ride it for another 16 years, and from all expectations, this bike will still be good for another 25K in 2036. Should you buy one - Yes, BUT only if you know how to control your speed and enjoy the ride - be safe.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Radman

Michigan

Reviewed on 2016-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The FZ1's now span 3 generations. They have R1 engines in an upright sport bike chassis. Insurance costs are 1/4 what an R1 is which brings ownership costs into the budget level. FZ1's can be modified with R1 suspensions for track. This series of bikes have been bolted with hard luggage for touring. It is not uncommon to see an FZ1 that is street toured to reach over 200K miles with only normal maintenance performed. The dependability of the FZ1 is none other than legendary. I purchased my bike with the idea of tracking it a few times per year for skill building & using throw over bags for traveling. The center stand makes maintenance a breeze. Very few bikes these days have center stands.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robbie Green

Columbus, Georgia

Reviewed on 2013-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If you are looking for a bike that offers plenty of speed and comfort for longer rides, look no further. This bike will keep up with the fastest bikes on the road. With the upright riding position, it will give you all-day comfort.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mr Gone

Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2012-11-22

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Please note, I am 55 and have been dreaming and waiting. This was the ultimate birthday present to myself. My first bike has great looks. While I have only been riding for a few hundred miles, the bike is manageable, nimble and more than I expected. I have only had a mild taste of the power on tap. 65 is a trot. Most of my riding has been old two-lane highways with a 45 limit, lots of elevation changes and curves. Now I take on interstates to cross state lines. I am planning to ride in the cold. I got the bug bad. The FZ1 is the cure. Oh, by the way, Sasha is a red 2010 FZ1
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dwood

Sacramento, California

Reviewed on 2012-04-02

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine used on 2/11/12 with 2,980 miles on the odometer. This is my first running motorcycle. I can't begin to tell you how wonderful it is after 10 years of renting HD and 35 years of shopping. Yes, it is "Scary Fast" to have a Sportbike with a partial upright sitting position, but is so much more comfortable than laying across an R1. The 1st owner did all the cool upgrades, then traded it in at 141 miles, on a GSXR1000. The 2nd owner rode it 1-2 times a month for four years. For touring I am adding the taller wind shield and soft saddle bags. I just added Shogun frame and swing-arm sliders.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lance Semones

Jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2012-01-21

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's an awesome ride wirh plenty of power. It handles great! It's a comfortable ride with minimum fatigue on long rides! This was my third one of these bikes (01, 03, 05). I cried when Yamaha messed up this platform in 2006!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Valentino

Avondale, Arizona

Reviewed on 2011-09-15

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a used FZ1 in Goodyear and it only had 591 miles on it. It came decked out like no other I had ever seen. It had a full fairing, fender eliminator and flush turn signals. When I purchased it, I added a Givi hard case system and this has got to be a "one of", because I've certainly never seen one like it. This is the fourth Yamaha I've owned. My previous rides included an FZ6, R6 and the fantastic R1. The FZ1 is the best of all worlds. You can sport it or tour it in my configuration. Mileage is good and the power is fantastic. I've owned other brands, Ducati, Honda, BMW, etc., but the FZ1 just might be the "keeper" I've been looking for.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

elviz

miami, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-02-14

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Although both motorcycles are labeled as sport touring, there are clear differences between these two excellent motorcycles. I reviewed all the comments in this site (very helpful), and after riding it this past weekend, the least I can do is give some feedback. I was concerned about the riding position and comfort, especially after cruising with my TDM for 6+ hours without any aches. I needed not to worry; the Fazer is comfortable enough for touring, maybe not the six straight hours, but definitely enough hours of fun and adrenaline. The handling is superb. Entering and leaving the curves behind is an easy task, maybe not for first timers, but a piece of cake for anyone who rides +500cc for more than a year. Although I still cannot feel the total thrust of the engine (brand new, still loosening it), I have no doubt I'm riding on top of the 150hp! Wow, speed and acceleration have a different concept for me now. After the first hour, I felt confident enough to have a passenger behind me. Again, the Fazer did not notice the extra weight and rode for nowhere fast! I'm glad with my decision, although I left good memories behind with the TDM. I'm excited to acquire new riding skills with this bike, and handling high speed tours, with comfort, confidence a sense of security. Go for it!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 17
  • 1 - 10 of 165 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: