Yamaha FZ6R Motorcycles Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ6R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ6R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2016-03-05 2014 Yamaha Fz6r Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was purchased this bike with 0 miles,for commuting and occasional weekend rides. Love the bike...but for second thought, I'm gonna sell it. Pros: power,77 or so...perfect for commuting Nimble handling Reliability, never had a problem Cons: super uncomfortable over 1 hr ride,I'm 6 foot/200lbs Transmission clunks,I hate it, my old Honda was smoother At age 42 I have to change for more comfortable bike.
- Anonymous, San Marcos

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-10-27 2013 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding only Cruisers for the past seven years, I decided I needed a change. I spoke to the folks at a couple of local dealers and narrowed my search down to either the Suzuki Gladius or the Yamaha FZ6R. I got a much better trade in value for my V-Star 1300 Tourer from the folks at Yamaha and they also were asking $1,500 less than the Suzuki dealer was asking for the Gladius. Needless to say I went with the FZ6R. It was quite a change in riding style and position from my previous bike. After a couple of hours of riding however, I was able to get more comfortable with the FZ6R's higher seating and more nimble handling. The dash display was well positioned for easy viewing and it's nice having a fuel gauge for a change. The FZ6R handles the wind and open roads quite well considering how much lighter the bike is compared to the Star 1300. Shifting is not as smooth but getting used to it quickly. Fun factor is very high (can't wait to hop on it again). Engine power is not intimidating but by no means weak either; this bike has more than enough power to entertain most if not all riders. I will update my review after the 600-mile service but so far the bike is great and would highly recommend.
- JD, Flemington, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-21 2011 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought it but I'm already enjoying it. It rides smooth, is pretty quick and the acceleration on corners is great. Dee at the dealership traded me out of a V-Rod! The staff was great to do business with. I miss my V-Rod's pure hp, but for my needs, this bike should be great. The only drawbacks I see are the wind affects it and it is too tall. Thanks to Dee, Rick and Krista!
- butch, birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-12 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike, affordable and has plenty of power. My wife and I both ride this bike together. You can not tell you have a passenger on the bike. I can get 50 miles per gallon in the mountains where we live. The only thing I would change is there is not a big after market parts selection as far as exhaust and other performance parts but maybe I'm looking in all the wrong places.
- Brian, Pound, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-29 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great starter bike. It's perfect for anyone wanting to get started and have some fun. If you want aggressive, this isn't it, but for fun and easy driving, it's perfect.
- Three4one, Monroe, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-31 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle and I have to say, it's perfect for the newbies. The power is there, the upright seating position is very comfortable and it is very easy to ride. You dont have to be scared about the throttle like the R6 and R1. It's a very good bike for the long run and I could actually see myself not upgrading to a sportier bike for a long time!
- Ray, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-19 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's quick, comfortable, fun, well built and so far I've had zero problems with the bike. It's just too bad it's winter now so it's too cold to drive it anywhere.
- Justin Smith, Alabaster, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-07 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is only my second bike I've owned, and my first was a 2001 Buell Blast (500cc Thumper). By comparison, the FZ6R is a dream bike (hence the 5-star ratings across the board). The bike has great power, but it doesn't go crazy off the line. It lets you build up power as you get into the higher revs. At the low end it has enough torque to get you going without giving it a lot of throttle. The bike handles very well. It feels stable (other than in high wind on the freeway) and is fun to ride both in a straight line as well as in the twisties. The transmission is smooth and I have not had any troubles with shifting gears. The yellow paint on mine comes with some loud graphics that I could do without, but the yellow paint helps get me noticed when I'm on the road, and I've gotten many thumbs up while stopped at stop lights. All in all, I love this bike. It's just what I need at this point. I added an undertail kit because I didn't care for the light tree it came with, and I added a K&N lifetime air filter as well and put on a couple of K&N stickers.
- Tom , Arlington, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-15 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I do year-round commuting and get 44 to 48 mpg. There are no "chicken strips" on these tires. The rear tire lasted 12,000 miles, the front has half way to go. To say "beginner bike" is an injustice. 50 years of riding and I feel that a beginner bike is called a Moped. One set of plugs and full by the book service at the dealership is all that has been needed. This is the East Coast and a 200+mph bike is a rush, but is wasted. Every time you get to warp speed you need to stop and pay a toll. There is plenty of power from this bike and it's still inexpensive to insure. I rate this a best buy!
- Joseph Reed, Bloomfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-27 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike fits me very well. The higher setting handle bars are perfect for this 45 yr olds back. Plenty of power, just don't expect R6 performance. You can't just snap the throttle and bring it up, but it still reaches 128 mph fast enough. Very satisfied.
- Allen Sheaffer, Landisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-26 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took the safety course, rode a friend's Harley for a few months, and bought this bike. GREAT DECISION. It has more power than I need (as a beginner rider), looks sharp, is light and maneuverable, and is very forgiving and easy to ride. R6 and R1 are something to aspire to, not to start out on - this is the first-bike-sportbike. Even my experienced friends say it carves the curves like nothing they've ever ridden! :-)
- Anne, Pine Bush, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-01 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first sport bike. After my Harley was stolen, I decided that I would try this. It is definitely a lot more powerful and quicker. Although it is only a 600, it has plenty of power, for the beginner as well as the seasoned rider. My only drawback is lack of storage that I was accustomed too. I love the stock muffler. It is underneath the bike for a clean look; just my opinion. I have really enjoyed this bike. You will too.
- Philip Pinter, Flowood, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-20 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Amazing bike for beginners. First time I have stepped on a motorcycle was this one and I couldn't have felt more confident. Extremely confortable, good power and looks nice. Only downside is a very quiet exhaust note, thought it still sounds nice. Would recommend this bike to any new rider or commuter. Great buy, you won't regret.
- Eric, Bowie, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-30 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 08 V Star Classic to buy something sportier. I am not disappointed at all with my FZ6R. It is very comfortable and I love the fuel injection. Well worth the money. A perfect beginner bike or a perfect old Man's rocket for myself with over 20 years riding experience.
- Corey Huller, Hannibal, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-24 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a comfortable sport bike to start out with, this is a great choice. This is my first bike and I wouldn't trade it for anything! The only riding experience I had before buying the bike was taking the motorcycle safety course. I went out riding with my husband and it is a nice feeling to have something to do together.
- Tricia, Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-26 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Experienced riders have written reviews about this bike saying that it would be great for beginners. Well let me just say that they are right. The only other riding experience I had was during the Motorcycle Safety course. While going from a 250cc cruiser style bike in the class to a 600cc sport bike was a leap, this bike made it easy. Even though it is 470lbs when full of fluids, riding it you wouldn't know it. Even on the highway with semi trucks and dump trucks creating all sorts of crazy winds, this bike rides rock solid. It's very responsive when making turns and maneuvers. Hell, it's even easy to do the -figure 8 in the box- that most people loathe in the safety class. This bike felt comfortable right out of the gate. I had no problem riding it home from the dealer (30+ miles) and in 5 days I put over 250 miles on it, smiling the whole time. Definitely a great starter bike.
- Kevin, Waterbury, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-23 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Quick, stable, smooth, comfortable, tremendously fun, capable, love this bike. Makes me think of riding all the time, so I go often.
- Joe L., Nor Cal, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-22 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike two weeks ago and have ridden for 320 miles. The bike is awesome, comfortable, sturdy and very nimble to use. It is worth the price. I would definitely suggest this to a rider who has a year of experience.
- Maryland Outlaw, Brooklyn, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-12 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had this Bike 2 weeks, absolutely awesome. Had a cruiser and would never go back. Want a fun, fast ride? Go buy one. You won't want to get off the bike.
- Marty, Exton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-20 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my Katana for this bike. I love it because it's sporty and comfortable and sturdy. I have a hurt shoulder so it's not as demanding as a supersport. Love it!!! I just don't like that the pegs are too far forward and my jeans get stuck on them when I put my feet down.
- Kristi Kaczmar, Edgewood, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: