Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha FZ6R reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

San Marcos

Reviewed on 2016-03-05

Motorcycle reviewed2014 Yamaha Fz6r

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I was purchased this bike with 0 miles,for commuting and occasional weekend rides. Love the bike...but for second thought, I'm gonna sell it. Pros: power,77 or so...perfect for commuting Nimble handling Reliability, never had a problem Cons: super uncomfortable over 1 hr ride,I'm 6 foot/200lbs Transmission clunks,I hate it, my old Honda was smoother At age 42 I have to change for more comfortable bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JD

Flemington, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2013-10-27

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Yamaha FZ6R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After riding only Cruisers for the past seven years, I decided I needed a change. I spoke to the folks at a couple of local dealers and narrowed my search down to either the Suzuki Gladius or the Yamaha FZ6R. I got a much better trade in value for my V-Star 1300 Tourer from the folks at Yamaha and they also were asking $1,500 less than the Suzuki dealer was asking for the Gladius. Needless to say I went with the FZ6R. It was quite a change in riding style and position from my previous bike. After a couple of hours of riding however, I was able to get more comfortable with the FZ6R's higher seating and more nimble handling. The dash display was well positioned for easy viewing and it's nice having a fuel gauge for a change. The FZ6R handles the wind and open roads quite well considering how much lighter the bike is compared to the Star 1300. Shifting is not as smooth but getting used to it quickly. Fun factor is very high (can't wait to hop on it again). Engine power is not intimidating but by no means weak either; this bike has more than enough power to entertain most if not all riders. I will update my review after the 600-mile service but so far the bike is great and would highly recommend.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

butch

birmingham, Alabama

Reviewed on 2012-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Yamaha FZ6R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought it but I'm already enjoying it. It rides smooth, is pretty quick and the acceleration on corners is great. Dee at the dealership traded me out of a V-Rod! The staff was great to do business with. I miss my V-Rod's pure hp, but for my needs, this bike should be great. The only drawbacks I see are the wind affects it and it is too tall. Thanks to Dee, Rick and Krista!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Pound, Virginia

Reviewed on 2012-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great bike, affordable and has plenty of power. My wife and I both ride this bike together. You can not tell you have a passenger on the bike. I can get 50 miles per gallon in the mountains where we live. The only thing I would change is there is not a big after market parts selection as far as exhaust and other performance parts but maybe I'm looking in all the wrong places.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Three4one

Monroe, Washington

Reviewed on 2011-09-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great starter bike. It's perfect for anyone wanting to get started and have some fun. If you want aggressive, this isn't it, but for fun and easy driving, it's perfect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2011-05-31

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first motorcycle and I have to say, it's perfect for the newbies. The power is there, the upright seating position is very comfortable and it is very easy to ride. You dont have to be scared about the throttle like the R6 and R1. It's a very good bike for the long run and I could actually see myself not upgrading to a sportier bike for a long time!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Justin Smith

Alabaster, Alabama

Reviewed on 2010-12-19

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's quick, comfortable, fun, well built and so far I've had zero problems with the bike. It's just too bad it's winter now so it's too cold to drive it anywhere.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Arlington, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-12-07

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is only my second bike I've owned, and my first was a 2001 Buell Blast (500cc Thumper). By comparison, the FZ6R is a dream bike (hence the 5-star ratings across the board). The bike has great power, but it doesn't go crazy off the line. It lets you build up power as you get into the higher revs. At the low end it has enough torque to get you going without giving it a lot of throttle. The bike handles very well. It feels stable (other than in high wind on the freeway) and is fun to ride both in a straight line as well as in the twisties. The transmission is smooth and I have not had any troubles with shifting gears. The yellow paint on mine comes with some loud graphics that I could do without, but the yellow paint helps get me noticed when I'm on the road, and I've gotten many thumbs up while stopped at stop lights. All in all, I love this bike. It's just what I need at this point. I added an undertail kit because I didn't care for the light tree it came with, and I added a K&N lifetime air filter as well and put on a couple of K&N stickers.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joseph Reed

Bloomfield, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2010-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I do year-round commuting and get 44 to 48 mpg. There are no "chicken strips" on these tires. The rear tire lasted 12,000 miles, the front has half way to go. To say "beginner bike" is an injustice. 50 years of riding and I feel that a beginner bike is called a Moped. One set of plugs and full by the book service at the dealership is all that has been needed. This is the East Coast and a 200+mph bike is a rush, but is wasted. Every time you get to warp speed you need to stop and pay a toll. There is plenty of power from this bike and it's still inexpensive to insure. I rate this a best buy!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allen Sheaffer

Landisburg, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike fits me very well. The higher setting handle bars are perfect for this 45 yr olds back. Plenty of power, just don't expect R6 performance. You can't just snap the throttle and bring it up, but it still reaches 128 mph fast enough. Very satisfied.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: