‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha Raider S reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jason

Central Washington State

Reviewed on 2018-09-19

Motorcycle reviewed 2014 Yamaha Raider S view listing

5.0
Like Thor's hammer, Mjolnir; "in Norse mythology as one of the most fearsome and powerful weapons in existence" Yamaha Raider has a 'Thunderous' feel due in large part to its torque no doubt
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Southern California

Reviewed on 2016-03-06

Motorcycle reviewed 2014 Yamaha Raider S view listing

5.0
My first impression of pictures of this monster was wow. But then I saw the beast in person and was in stunned silence; pictures cannot do justice. It is absolutely incredible & makes my heart palpitate every time I see it. And now that I actually own one, well lets just say, its my therapy. All the reviews on this are spot on especially regarding the raw power and handling. Even stock is just fine for me with no plans in the foreseeable future for any upgrades. I cannot get enough of riding on this machine; its man and machine at its finest. Very contented and satisfying experience that keeps rewarding with every twist of the throttle. I'm not much into speed, but as some have commented, this will get you up to speed effortlessly; the fastest I have gone on this is a little over 100 mph. I am more into torque which is the very reason why I acquired this bike; it has tons of it. The torque actually scared me on my first ride; but of course I got real used to it & love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Iocono

Middletown, Delaware

Reviewed on 2012-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha Raider S view listing

5.0
I rented a Raider a few years ago and rode six hours straight from the Finger Lakes Region of New York to my home in Delaware. The only stops I made were for fuel. I have to say I was surprised how comfortable it was. The first thing you'll notice is the torque. If you have a passenger you'd better have a back rest for them or they'll fly off once you hit second gear. On Route 15 in PA I got 50 mpg. with straight highway driving at 75 mph. I found a great deal on an '08 Raider a few weeks ago. It had 12K miles with Cobra pipes, passenger back rest and luggage rack. I'm looking forward to many years of great rides with good friends. Ride safe/Semper Fi.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

dayton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2011-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Yamaha Raider S view listing

5.0
My Raider is a 2008. I bought it in Feb., 2009. I ride when ever the weather lets me. It handles great. The bike speaks for itself. I was looking to buy the M109 and then I sat on the Raider. I told the salesman ring me up on this one. It handles well for all my needs. I have the red w/flames. I love the black power coated.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Curtis K

Jax , Florida

Reviewed on 2011-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Yamaha Raider S view listing

5.0
I started out with a Roadliner but wanted the Raider; however, it didn't have enough leg room. Since the 5-inch extensions came out, I HAD TO HAVE THE RAIDER and haven't looked back since. This is one bad son of a gun. This bike begs for attention and the fella gets it! Yamaha hit the mark with the Raider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kd armstrong

keller, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha Raider S view listing

5.0
The Raider S is by far, the best bike I have ever ridden. It has great power and comfort!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kent Kechter

St. Francis, Kansas

Reviewed on 2010-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha Raider S view listing

5.0
I loved the look of the '08 Raider S (Candy Red) and just had to have one. I was a bit concerned about the handling of the raked bike, but it handles very well. Engine has plenty of power (even riding two-up). I have taken the bike on 5 trips of more than 1300 miles and have had a great time. Just got back from a 2400 mile trip to Utah. The only problem I have had with the bike is some valvetrain noise (planning to take to to the dealership next week for a look/see). Star really hit a homerun with this machine!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don O'Brien

Raymond, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2010-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Yamaha Raider S view listing

5.0
I first sat on a Raider last summer at an open house at a dealership. I wasn't looking for a bike at the time rather I rode my 1980 XS1100 Special there and thought I was happy with that bike. I took a Raider for a test ride and when I returned, my response was, "Where do I sign?" What an unbelievably comfortable ride. Low and well balanced, PLENTY of power, smooth as can be and a great looking bike that turns plenty of heads. The only negative thoughts were the exhaust pipes as I thought they were way too bulky. I immediately replaced them with the Vance & Hines pipes. No issues at all with attempting to get around large trucks on the highway. Just a slight turn on the throttle and you'll go from 60 mph to 80 mph with barely any effort. Riding with a passenger is effortless for the powerful 1854 cc engine. This bike is my absolute favorite. I wouldn't trade it for anything...except maybe the new 2010 Blue Raider. lol
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Roberts

Seminole, Florida

Reviewed on 2010-04-02

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Yamaha Raider S view listing

5.0
When I decided to get back into riding I bought an 800cc cruiser to get back my motorcycle legs. Then went to every manufacture demo ride that I could find to see what the all the new bikes were like. When I went to the Yamaha demo I like the look of the Raider but thought that it would be too heavy and it would be hard to steer. I was so surprised with the Raider. All of the other bikes I rode from then on I compared to the Raider.. I rode the HD V-Rod and Rocker along with the Suzuki M109R and Victory Vegas but none of them matched up with the power, ride and handling of the Raider. It's got the looks with lots of muscle but it's agile too! It's The Power Cruiser to beat at this point!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: