Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha Road Star reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

90 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ron Forneris

Vancouver, Wa.

Reviewed on 2018-05-03

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've been riding almost 60 years and owned everything from a Honda 50 to a Gold Wing and several Harley Ultras..... This thing is like a two-wheeled car......too big, too heavy and too ponderous in traffic. Look for something less.......
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Max

Sunrise, Florida

Reviewed on 2013-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought a beautiful 2006 Road Star stock. It rides great and has plenty of power. I look forward to many rides/tours.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rider

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2013-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought a super clean stock 2006 Road Star Silverado. I love the bike!! It has plenty of power with two up, smooth riding and excellent handling for a bike of its type. I'm looking forward to many tours!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Walt

Evart, Michigan

Reviewed on 2012-02-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in August of 2011, with 1,300 original miles on it. I bought it from a Navy sailor in Chesapeake, Va. He had it stored for a few years while deployed to Iraq. He came back, and was expecting to be deployed to Afghanistan, and needed to sell to help his wife and child out, and I got a great deal. It was just a base model when I bought it, and completely stock. I have since upgraded the entire bike, because I like it so much. It rides like a dream, and has not had any glitches, whatsoever. It has plenty of power, and outruns my Roadking, and my buddy's Screamin' Eagle Deuce that has the 1550cc engine. I have fine tuned this bike, and did not require rejetting of the carb when fitted with the SpeedStar pipes which are manufactured by Yamaha and the K&N upgrade. I did not purchase a sissy bar or rear rack as I prefer the Retro-Classic looks of the bike without that garb. The addition of the fender tips with the flared fenders really set off the looks of this bike. I also bought a set of the OEM mini engine guards, as I thought the larger one looked quite gaudy. I bought most of my parts online, and have about $1,500.00 in upgrades, bringing my total investment up to $5,800.00. I just had it appraised for $8,500.00 last week. It now has 4,500 miles on it. I will be buying another set of whitewall tires in the near future, as the originals have become a bit hard...to be expected after six years. If you're considering buying a very dependable cruiser, buy a RoadStar!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason myers

Mayfield, Australia

Reviewed on 2012-02-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had purchased a 2nd hand 2006 Roadstar recently with approximately 18,000 miles on the clock for $9,000 (Australia). I had sold a brand new 2011 Victory Vegas as I was very disappointed with the transmission and the poor treatment from the dearlerships. I am very happy with this bike as I prefer not to have fuel injection and I like a well behaved and smooth transmission. The bike could do with a sixth gear and more horsepower. It's an easy bike to live with! It's easy to jet carby and adjust lifters with one end being hydraulic. Also it has rather simple pushrods as opposed to 3-4 feet of cam chain as in the previous bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

GRAYLORD

WEEKIE WACHEE, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Everyday I get on, it feels like the first time. There is plenty of power and looks. A lot of friends have H-D's and say, take mine for a ride - wrong! A Road King with big juggs and cam and all the other so-called parts, can't compare. Comfort is day and night. When it's time to fuel up, they have to use high octane, and still ping along, and don't forget the added octane booster. Whenever taking off at a stop, somehow someone always misses a shift. Is it me, or don't these guys know how to shift, or is it running too hot? My only complaint is tire wear. I'm on my third set in 17,000 miles. Normal, I don't know and can live with that. Plenty of miles and tires ahead. Ride safe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jonboy

Venango, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2011-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Late September, 2010, I bought this bike used with 5,300 miles, and I have not regretted it one bit. A lot of customizing has been done, however, it's a great bike. I have put 600 miles on and 300 miles on the first week I had it. For a larger man of my size, it is hard to find a bike that is comfortable for my wife and I, but I found one with more than enough room. My wife doesn't complain about being on it like she did my Honda Shadow 1100. The look....well let's just say she turns heads (raven black over burgundy). But the performance and reliabilty was what I was looking for and I have not been disappointed. She runs with the big dogs if you know what I mean. Overall it's an awesome bike. It will not disappoint.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

the GOG

Bedford, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2010-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had a Dragstar which I thought was a great bike but after colliding into a crash barrier (The Barrier won)I was bikeless. After about 6 months with the insurance paying out I looked to the Roadstar and boy was it worth the wait. Far far superior to the Drag. Smoother, more comfortable, and beleive or not, easier to handle. Only poor point is the MPG more expensive than my Merc but wow what a ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Avant

Port Hueneme, California

Reviewed on 2010-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I can say that the '07 Roadstar 1700 is a true beauty when cruising down the PCH! The handling and power are unmatched. The balance and comfort collaborate in a smooth riding experience that captures the attention of those who see it in action. This bike is very versatile and the accessories available can enable the rider to fully personalize this awesome machine. I have since moved on the Yamaha Royal Star Venture S, but will always cherish my cruiser experience.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carlos

Fredericksburg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2009-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned my Road Star for 2 1/2 years and had not one issue with it. It is very comfortable, plenty of power and even though is over three years old, it is still more powerful than the newest Harley's out there; they are still trying to catch up with Yamaha! Definitely a must have for long trips as it is very forgiving and looks great on the road!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 90 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: