Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha Road Star Silverado reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

96 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

David Cahoon

Birmingham, Alabama

Reviewed on 2012-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Most of my rider buddies ride Harleys. They are the same ones who want to ride my bike after about three hours on the road. It's the best buy for the money on the road.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MSally1965

Mechanicsville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2012-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought our 2002 Yamaha Roadstar Silverado 1600. I rode her home last night and man am I impressed! I owned a 1998 Yamaha Virago 1100 just before this bike and it always felt like it needed a 6th gear at highway speed. So I decided I needed a bigger bike. I rode her home last night and not only is the seat height the same 28" as the Virago but the floorboards are so comfortable. I looked down, feeling like I was moving too slowly only to realize I was doing 70! No need for anymore gears! I've ridden for 12 years, have owned a Honda and now two Yamahas and hit a deer doing 60 mph. on the Virago. One dead deer and $4,000.00 later and the Virago was good as new. The Silverado makes me feel safer as well, due to the extra weight, the heavier steel tubing and the longer stance. All around I wish I had owned it all along! I don't feel you can get a better ride for the money. Mine came with a Mustang custom seat and Vance & Hines straight drags (which my Virago had as well) and I need to say, the pipes sound awesome without being obnoxious! So, if you're considering it, DONT WAIT! GET ONE NOW!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dthorny

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2012-01-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my Road Star Silverado new for Christmas 2006 (thank you wife) and have enjoyed it for many miles. I occasionally commute to SoCal for work, 740 miles round trip, and have not had any breakdown issues. We just completed a 3,900 mile ride to Memphis, Tennessee and had one minor issue: I added a BAK recently and an adjustable PMS screw. At 100 miles west of Albuerquerque, NM, I lost the PMS screw (I failed to install the spring and washer that holds in the screw) and had to pull the choke at idle or the bike would stall. With a 50-mile tail wind, high elevation and no PMS, I got 59 mpg!!! The bike runs trouble free and the engine mods give this bike some get up and go in the midrange with tons of low end torque, over 102 ft. lbs. at the rear wheel.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darin Merrell

Natchitoches, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2011-06-21

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike yesterday. I rode it all afternoon. It's smooth, comfortable and has plenty of power. It handles good in rain.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lee Gills

Frisco, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-09-25

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
One of the best balanced bikes out there! The handling is great and handle bars are perfectly placed to promote rider comfort. You need to wake the bike up with performance mods! A six speed would freshen the bike up and make it more enjoyable. All in all I rate it 8 out of 10. Buy and you will enjoy the ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick Woods

Keystone , Colorado

Reviewed on 2010-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Lots of motorcycle for the $$! Starts every time on the first revolution of crankshaft regardless of temp. With stage 1 installed, (pipes, intake, advanced cdi) pulls like mad at 10,000 ft asl. Rode up MT. Evans 14,000 ft, will smoke rear tire without holding front brake. Ride with H.D.'s on highway at altitude. They Just fall behind....Good looking too. R.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Orlando, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just bought this bike, and after 10 years she looks and rides like new. These bikes really do hold up very good over the years, was saving up for a Road King...and for less than the down payment I own this bike. The 99 looks just like the 09 so when I ride with my friends this bike looks good next to a new Road Star or Harley. The ride is great, put some new Dunlops (white walls) on her and she just goes like a new bike. The stock seat is just fine for around town....I am going to have it shaped to get me lower and further back.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Campbell

Empire, Alabama

Reviewed on 2008-12-24

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the bike to ride occasionally for recreation. Boy was I in for an awakening. I ride every day. I am 50 years old and had not ridden a bike since I was 20 and I cannot believe how much I enjoy this bike. I have ridden a few other bikes but none touches the ride of my Roadstar. My wife loves riding so much we bought her a V-Star. She had never ridden before but after beginner classes she is riding her bike with me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andy Kelhart

Topton, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2008-12-24

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Of the three Yamahas I have owned, this is by far the largest and, oddly enough, the easiest to ride. It has a low center of gravity making it very forgiving in the twisties. It also has enough power for two-up interstate work and does so in comfort.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jim mieras

walker, Michigan

Reviewed on 2008-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in the winter of 06 with 4500 miles. Now in the summer of 08 it has 27000 miles all trouble free with absolutely no oil usage. It is smooth, comfortable, and powerful. When I'm on vacation, I average 500 miles a day. I'm 60 yrs old and when I get off this bike after 12 or 13 hrs I am not sore. I am tired but not hurting. I've been riding for almost 50 years and this is the best bike I've ever owned. It averages 49 mpg.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 10
  • 1 - 10 of 96 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: