Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

81 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Phil Hughes

Jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having been riding for over 30 years now, I was looking for a bigger bike to take me on the long tour but still small enough to handle around town. The Royal Star Tour Deluxe fills this niche perfectly. With almost 10k miles on the bike now, it just seems to get better and better. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 for performance is because of the Carbs instead of EFI. Still that has not been an issue and hopefully Yamaha will bring the bike back with EFI and could we hope........6 speeds.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
What was supposed to be flipped I ended up keeping. I never even recalled seeing one before but it got my attention which isn’t easy after 28 years of riding. I’m also on the younger side too being 36 years old.. bought it from original owner with 8,700 miles with original front tire on it dating 04’..I purchased 4/21.reeking 4 month old stale ethanol gas I rode it 130 miles home..crazy, I think the top off fill helped. did a bunch of cleaning up. 3k miles on it since. Wife and kid love it.(which is why I bought it) I also have the 113 CI Vtwin Raider. The engine that they’re also using on the newer touring eluder. Etc. BUT I found this tour deluxe 1300 to be just perfect balance on power and fuel mileage for traveling despite carburetors.. They seem to perform great as they’re not used to the local gas station and back, these bikes crave long hours or distant miles more than 20.. it took me half a day to realize the tour deluxe didn’t disappoint me on power.. don’t know how it goes if heading up the mountains yet?? My Raider has a crappy mileage in town and a really raw attitude.. they’re both great on highways though. I couldn’t sell either ones for they both meet my needs differently lol. Adjust as to what fits you best and this bike will keep you fresh. Ride safe you all
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

s. talley

Reno, Nevada

Reviewed on 2011-09-25

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my '08 in August of 2011 new, it was still in the crate. My local dealer had bought it at auction from a dealer that was going out of business. It is a good deal for me, I saved over $4,000 on the bike. I had never ridden anything this big before, but after 30 minutes in the school parking lot and a afternoon getting the feel of the bike around town, I was amazed how easy this bike was to ride. Mind you my previous bike was a KLR 650, so it's a real difference. I just rode 1,200 miles in three days and love everything about the bike, but the seat. It's too soft. Power, gas mileage, storage, easy learning curve, it's all great. I'm not sure why Yamaha just does not reduce the entire line up to just this one model. It's a great looking bike. It pulls hard in the middle gears. I love the easy to remove wind screen and back rest. With an aftermarket seat, I'll ride her until one of us drops.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Vince

Shelter Island, New York

Reviewed on 2011-03-24

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the Royal Star used at a Harley Dealer (no kidding) here on Long Island. I traded in a 2005 Suzuki S-83 which was too small for a man my height. The Royal Star is much more comfortable and rides better while not as nimble as the S-83. The Royal Star had 1,370 miles on the odometer when purchased. I have ridden it about 2,100 miles in the year I have owned it. I would recommend the Royal Star to those who want a real tourer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Currigan

Lakewood, Colorado

Reviewed on 2010-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this machine with 2k on the odometer in Arlington, Texas and rode it home to Lakewood, Colorado; just south of 1,000 miles in two days. I rode it to California that same summer three years ago; again two years ago and then up through the Missouri River Valley and down through central Wyoming this past summer. I've replaced oil and tires and two lower farings. The farings have a well nut adjacent to the air filter assembly. I am guessing if this is fastened too tight it will break the plastic holding it. This design flaw is the only real problem I've had with the bike. Yamaha replaced the farings without even a whimper. However, I was told they would not replace a third one. Sounded fair to me. I had the dealer replace the oil this last oil change and being the level has to be checked while the bike is upright and takes two people I figured it was good; the dealer did it. What could go wrong? Well, the crankcase, as I discovered upon returning home, was 3/4 of a quart over filled. That is why oil kept coming out of the air intake assembly breather hoses. Took them apart, cleaned the mess and it's good as new. I also used 10-30w Castrol full synthetic on my second trip to the coast complete with all of the additives that are supposed to make the clutch slip and wear, etc. It never ran so well and included 5 days of 100 plus degree temps. I did go back to motorcycle oil from the dealer this last change. So, I've run everything possible through the engine on the five oil changes I've done including two with the bad additive stuff; not a whiff of trouble. Comfort is a little off only because I would rather my feet be under me rather than out front. The shifter has a heel peg that doesn't allow me to use the entire floor board on that side also. Bags are giant and of high quality. Wind screen is a see through type and does give me a little buffeting. The screen does have lowers and combined with the lower farings it really keeps the cold off the lower body. Fit and finish overall is first class. The paint is even better. The entire bike still feels and looks new and I got it for a song; a great bargain. I've had it for three years and still have two left on the factory warranty-which was the main reason I bought it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2009-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was looking for a big bike that I felt comfortable riding. I have found that in this bike. I enjoy riding it and look forward to the next ride. I was hesitant at first since it is not fuel injected. But I have no complaints about it not being fuel injected. The only issue I have is that I thought the stock pipes would sound a little more throaty.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wildman

Jennings, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was hesitant at first about purchasing this bike but after the first mile I was so glad I did. I have only had it a month and have ridden over 2100 miles already. I can't stay off it! No, it is not a Harley, and glad of it. This is the sweetest handling bike I have ever ridden. The power of the V4 is exactly what I wanted and gives me all I will ever need!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

biker john

arlington , Virginia

Reviewed on 2009-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Very powerful bike, handles better than an ultra classic and I haven't had any problems except the saddle bag bolts backing out (just needs a little purple loctite) and the seat pan curls inward after a while. I love the peace of mind with the 5 year warranty. I ride it rain or shine all year round. Rides smooth and very stable in the wind. This bike is also tough as nails. I was rear ended and the only damage was a crack in my saddle bag and a dented fender and the bike was still perfectly ridable. Best bike ever. You may be hassled by h-d owners but at least you can ride yours on the road not the trailer!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Baker

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2009-06-03

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
There is nothing quite like the feel of a V-4. The V-twins can talk a good game, but when it comes to smooth power and high end that is incredible, the RSTD is the leader. This is a great bike. For what you get standard, there is no match. Elec cruise, removable windshield with lowers, hard locking saddle bags, wide handle bars, adjustable rear shock, a 5 YEAR WARRANTY!!!! There are too many pro's to this great ride to list here. I would get another one in a heart beat. Smooth acceleration, plenty of power, versatility, easy to work on, 5 YEAR WARRANTY and great looks. Minor Con's, having four carbs is ok, but it would be better with EFI, standard brake and turn signal bulbs too dim. I am tall with long arms and it fits great. If you are looking for a touring/cruiser that performs 1 and 2 up, take a look at this ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CHUCK KNEECE

ALEXANDRIA, Virginia

Reviewed on 2008-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike in October 2008 and have averaged 1000 miles per month. I use the bike for commuting and pleasure. The more I ride, the more I like this bike. It was very easy to adapt from my 89 Honda Shadow 1100 even though the weight is double. I thought it would be a little hard to get used to the extra weight so I told the wife who loves to ride with me that I would need a week or so to adjust before we went two-up. But much to my surprise the drive home from the dealer was all I needed. As soon as I got home I told the wife, "Let's go,and she climbed on and away we went. This bike will cruise effortlessly down the highway with both of us at 85 mph or higher if you choose to, but I try to keep it under 90 for safety's sake. No vibration; it just floats along. It's just amazingly smooth and, like I said, the more I ride, the more I want to ride. I really don't have anything bad to say about this bike. It does everything I ask it to and better than I expected from a bike this heavy. I guess the only thing I could ask for would be a better exhaust note. Quiet is nice but it seems a bike of this size should be a little throaty.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 81 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: