Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dirt Bikes

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

GB

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2010-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After waiting 30 years to ride again, I couldn't afford an expensive bike, so the wife let me buy this. It reminds me of the two strokes of the 70's, but easier to ride. It's both a hobby and fun ride. At 50, my mind would love a YZ250, but my body is in love with this bike. I have a young daughter to take care of, and this bike allows me all the fun of mods, riding all day and returning home safe. It's great weekend fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Devin Tarantino

longmont, Colorado

Reviewed on 2011-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I was a beginner rider, this bike was great. It handles nice on the track and in the mountains and it's great for off road. It has the get-up-and-go that any new/intermediate rider needs. It's a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Swarthmore, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-08-09

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had this bike for about 4 months now and this bike is better than what I expected. I never got into a 4-stroke but this bike is fast, comfortable, and easy to ride. One thing I like about this bike is the knobbie tires; they have great grip in mud and light sand. Over the last couple weeks I have been letting my 11 year old son ride it and he loves it. Over-all this bike is the bomb. Great bike for trail riding and perfect for an intermediate rider. Great job Yamaha once again!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TAB

Lehi, Utah

Reviewed on 2007-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My boyfriend bought me the TTR 230 last year. I was a brand-new rider with no experience. The 230 has plenty of power, is great for trail riding, and even took me through a motocross academy with ease. I have put it through whoops, jumps, corners, sand and mud. I broke up with my boyfriend 4 months ago and he took the bike away, so I've been out test riding every manufaturer's bike. The TTR 230 is, by far, my very favorite. I am buying a new one tomorrow! The electric start is fantastic, the bike is easy to pick-up off the ground (I should know, I've picked it up entirely too many times..hahaha.) Be sure to get a set of handlebar brush guards - they are very helpful. Two thumbs and 10 toes up!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Henri Botha

Mosselbay, South Africa

Reviewed on 2007-02-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a new TTR-230 this year (2007) in January. I still have my old XR 200 (1982) also which I completely rebuilt for enduro (trail races) but the TTR-230 is about 500,000 times better! It is fast, corners good and everybody that has ridden it wants to have one. don't mind no kick starter. If I could choose to buy again I would choose the TTR-230 again! Amazing what Yamaha achieved designing this little powerhouse with its wide range powerband!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rodney

Richmond, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have only put a few hours on this bike but thus far am very pleased. Great handing, power, and it is a comfortable ride. that's all I could want at this time. I do wish it came with kick-backup...as opposed to just the electric start. Yamaha has put out a great product with this machine. For the price, I don't think I made a bad decision.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MK

Columbus, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2006-12-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my TT-R230 in the Spring of 2005, and I have no complaints. I agree with all the other reviews that it's a great bike for what it's built for. I primarily ride it on an MX track, and it gets me around just fine. Of course, I cannot keep up with the racer guys on 250F's, but I am not trying to keep up with them. My objective with the TTR is to build skills and have fun. The only problem I have with the bike on the MX track, as other reviewers have noted, is that the suspension is just not built for jumps over 5-7 feet high, and so it does tend to bottom out on the bigger jumps. What I like most about the bike is that it is great to learn on, build skills, and have fun, and best of all it is virtually maintenance-free. The reviewer who had mechanical problems must have purchased a bad apple. I ride on a full-fledged MX track, and the only maintenance I have had to do in the past year and a half is clean the air filter and change the oil regularly. I have not had to replace anything, and I have not had any mechanical problems. I will definitely step up to a full MX bike (like the YZ250F) soon as I think I have reached the limits on the TTR. If you intend to ride trails and fields, this bike will suit you just fine for a long time. If you are a beginner and intend to ride hard on a serious MX track, consider getting a used 250F or 125 two-stroke (or even a used TTR230) on the cheap just to build some skills, and save the rest of your money to buy a new 250F or other MX bike when you are confident on the track.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scottie K

cedar rapids, Iowa

Reviewed on 2006-11-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I like this bike a lot! I don't know how all those other people can say it sucks. She runs great and I have never had a problem with it. It is a four stroke and handles like one, it can get up the big hills and speed up when you want it to. Overall, a great bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter Ottle

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2006-09-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bike has great handling, acceleration, and braking. Overall, the bike is a great trail bike. Surpasses Hondas standards by far.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Malcolm Miller

Lacey, Washington

Reviewed on 2006-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my TTR for about 45days and I ride it every weekend, sometimes on the weekdays through capital forest (waddle creek, Rock candy, McCleary) so far this bike has been flawless with very smooth power (the bike is still stock)they say this is a trial bike for beginners, I disagree I have two other dirt bikes and neither of them can keep pace with this one. I ride with two other guys who have yz 250's and while they can beat me in the straight away's and on the track they are no match for me on the trails!!!! This bike has plenty of low end and can tackle any hill or trail riding you put in front of it, just when you think you have bottomed out the low end by being in too high of a gear, you hit the gas and it comes to life.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: