Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha TT-R250 reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

35 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

RedRockRyder

Everywhere, Arizona

Reviewed on 2011-04-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 20 years without a dirt bike, I got the Jones for something to hit the backcountry with. The last bike I really had a great time on was a KDX220, but I didn't really want a 2 smoke. I looked at CRF and TTR 230s and then CRF and WR 250s, and this bike almost slipped through the cracks. For my type of riding, though, I'm extremely happy with it. These are rock-solid all-day trail and dirt road bikes that will plug along (like a tractor, as one poster put it) or pull right up with the pack. The rear disc, stronger engine and better suspension puts it way ahead of the 230s and lighter trail bikes, and it does seem like a much bigger bike, maybe a drawback for some. I think it carries its weight kind of high, but it is very nimble and stable on rocky and tight trails. That said, it's not a WR or a YZ250. If you want to jump triples or roost on your buddies, save your money and get the bike you really need. This ain't it, and the boards are right - there aren't a lot of performance options for them. I'm very happy with it, and very happy to be keeping one of these fine bikes in circulation. Matter of fact I might get another one, I like this so much.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brahm

Mission, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2007-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This Bike is awesome for riding anywhere. Real good suspension, and even better power. 3rd gear is great, it just pulls forever! The front brake is so powerful, I fell down the first time I used it. The electric start is worth the extra weight and it's way more handy then you would think. The best thimg about is that it is a blast to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sparkmite

Billings, Montana

Reviewed on 2006-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has been a blast to own so far, although it didn't take me long to exceed the limitations of the front suspension on jumps. To be fair, I didn't think I would ever do 40 foot jumps, and I'm sure Yamaha didn't design the TTR for that kind of abuse. My next bike will be a YZ. Anyway, the TTR is smooth, comfy, easy to ride, powerful enough to push me around and lands smaller jumps (under 25 feet) very cushy. Buy it if you want to ride... Buy a YZ or a WR if you want to jump.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allan

Melbourne, Prince Edward Island, Australia

Reviewed on 2006-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had the bike since April 2005, 36,568kms on the clock now, bunch of mods, can not get enough. Little issues with head wind and trying to sit on 110kph with all the camping gear. City, bush, sand dunes, all good. 800km day was sore but felt less tired than a car, no issues at all with bike build or it working as it should.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

California

Reviewed on 2006-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got this bike last week and I love it. I was used to riding my friends TT-R125 and what a difference it was riding this machine now. The bike has got plenty of torque. The only problem is it heats up fast when I don't get air flow through the engine. The seat is comfortable for the tough trails. I don't consider this bike for racing. My friends YZ250F is still faster lol. I don't do any racing though, so I don't care about how fast it is. I think this is the perfect trail bike. It has the power. You can also customize the suspension too!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dirk Wieneke

west branch, Iowa

Reviewed on 2005-12-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Yamaha TT-R250 is probably one of the best trail bikes around! One of the positive aspects about this bike is the disk brakes. This thing can beat my friend's KDX 200, and that's a two stroke.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Finley

Rogersville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2005-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
All reviews I've seen so far are only bragging about TT being a really good trail bike. Let me tell ya, I personally think it is also an excellent beginners moto x bike. It corners very well with a heavy rider, after having stiffened up the pre-load on both front and rear suspension. The bike also jumps like a pro. Responding very well to panic braking and revving. Even with my large butt, the suspension has never offered to bottom out. The engine is a little cold natured, but after a couple of laps she seems to heat right up to normal temps. For one of the greatest "rubber-tired chainsaws" on the market. I give the TTR-250 great big thumbs up!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

shane

tullamore, Australia

Reviewed on 2005-09-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 15 and this is my first bike, I have ridden ag200 and crf250x's before. I only got it one week ago and I'm very happy with it. No problems so far and it has more than enough power for me. It easily does 120km/h. The only problems are that I havn't been able to get the front wheel up, I can do it on a ag200 so its very suprising that its hard to do on a ttr250, and the other problem is the amount of fuel I'm going through from riding it almost non stop.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andrew Buck

Emerald, Australia

Reviewed on 2005-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Australian version of the TT-R250 has the bonus of electric start and kick start, giving the added security of starting the motorcycle when the battery is low. (a bonus for all those who have had to push the darn thing to start.) Also included is the indicators and dual beem headlight, brake and tail light together, which is great for letting those guys you constantly 'roost' know what the heck you're doing. A gut-load of torque and acceleration, combined give the perfect handling in those tight spots. Enjoy!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ralph ( 99 TTR250 )

Michigan, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The TTR-250 is a great motorcycle for riding the woods, trails, logging roads --- the electric start can't be beat. The engine has more than enough power and torque to speed off, or tackle the hills. Ground clearance and suspension is more than enough to carry my weight in any trail condition so far. The only "wish I had" is for a stop-light in the tailight, a dual beam headlight (instead of the single beam), and optional kick-starter (although I've never needed one with the electric start)-- but would be added assurance when riding way out in the woods. For the money-- TTR250 can't be beat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 35 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: