Yamaha TW200 Motorcycles Reviews (23)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha TW200 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha TW200 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-01-09 2005 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very good all-around bike for anyone. I want to get a 450 engine put into it for a little more zip on the highway.
- honda guy in utah, salt lake, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-22 2009 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is geared too low so I changed the rear sprocket. This bike is not for adults. It's just too slow on the road. I put a Maxxis ATV tire on the rear and a Dunlop 606 tire on the front. It now goes great through sand and snow. Get the DRZ400SM or the DRZ 400S! I've also had the DR650 and the KLR650 but they're both too heavy for going off road. The DRZ400 is perfectly balanced for on and off road with the right amount of power. don't buy the TW200.
- Jvalkanet, Gurnee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-07 2009 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second TW 200. I have owned many motorcycles over the years, but none as enjoyable or versatile as this one. One of the most comfortable seats and riding positions I've ever enjoyed. You can ride at 60 mph for hours at a time in relative comfort. It cannot be stopped when going off-road either. It will climb straight up the side of almost any hill and it is almost impossible to get stuck in the mud (but if you do it is easy to pull out because of the low seat height and light weight). This is a great bike for a beginner and capable enough for the experienced rider.
- Jeff, Johnson City, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-30 2001 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike about 2 months ago and it has some road miles but its in better shape than most new bikes I see. It's in very mint condition. It's altogether a fun bike. You can walk it basically on crazy trails, and at the same time get on a road or highway with ease. I've heard its top speed is 60mph. that's bullcrap, I've had my 2001 at about 70-75 on roads. I usually ride on the trails around here at about 40-45.
- sLaTeR420, Iron-hood, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-15 2005 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanted one for years. Finally broke down and got one and there's nothing about it I don't like. A good Yamaha dealer will stand behind their product, I know because I work at one. And, in this neck of the woods, you have to be good to your customers or you will go out of business.
- Dale, Juneau, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-08 2006 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got this bike basically to play with it. It's street legal and a great trail bike. It also turns heads because it's different. Big tires makes it handle great off-road and equally great on the street. The bike comes with a stock 50 tooth sprocket in the rear which makes it rev high at 55mph. I changed mine to a 45 tooth sprocket and it's a lot better. I have been to the freeway with it for short runs (10 miles or less). With the 45 tooth, it tops out at 70mph. I will recommend this bike to everybody especially shorter riders for it sits low to the ground and center of gravity is low. There is a tw forum (yamaha tw200 forum) that has endless info on this bike.... I hope this review helps.
- ken godinez, bakersfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-10 2006 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first road bike after several dirt bikes. This little boy is fun. It pulls my fat butt around w/o problems. I love that I can just turn off the road and follow a trail or railroad tracks ... great for short runs around town ... but not a bike for highway driving ...
- Fred Fein, Loveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-04 2005 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this '05 hold over in August of '06. It had never been started! There are deals to be had out there! After 15 years on 4 wheels, I decided to get back on 2. It feels great! The TW200 and its 'fat' tires really work well in the soft or where traction is limited. Though handling on the road is a little odd, it's not objectionable. I needed something to get me to work and take me down some trails now and then. I was looking for MPG and utility. Two things motorcycle salesmen just DO NOT understand. The TW200 delivers it. My two complaints: The instrument lights (neutral / high beam / turn) burn out quickly. I've had the high beam go already and only owned the thing for two months. Also, the engine sounds noisy to me. I'm used to my old Hondas and, well, if they sounded like this, I'd tear them down and rebuild them. I can squeeze 98MPG out of it. Yes! Almost 100 miles per gallon! I average 85MPG. Most of my driving is in 45 MPH speed zones. 35 = 95+MPG, 45 = 80+MPG. I'm experimenting with various mixes of E85, No data yet. The bike is great around town. It's fair on the trail. Low speed handling is shakey. It does well on the road but high speed cornering with that fat rear tire is a bit wierd, though, predictable.
- George Bowles, Brazil, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-14 2005 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 26 motorcycles so far and this one is the most fun by far. I can ride in the snow, on gravel roads, dirt roads and off-road through the woods or any place I feel like going. It's very reliable and I'm getting 74 miles per gallon.
- JM, LAFAYETTE, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-14 2005 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Meets or exceeds all my expectations. I bought my son a dirt bike early this summer, and realized that I should keep an eye on him. I did tons of research and kept coming back to the TW200. I use it to commute 18 miles on a busy state highway and chase my son around the woods. 80 MPG is a huge plus. Not a ton of power on the highway, but very capable around town and off road. It's sort of like the old VW I had in high school, kind of slow, sort of ugly, but nearly bullet proof and very reliable. It suits my needs VERY well. It is just plain fun to ride.
- T Johnson, Sequim, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-25 2005 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2005 Hayabusa today but this is the bike it all started on. It was a good first bike with GREAT gas mileage but the power is not much. However, it is possible to do highway riding, but the rpms are very high and you won't do much faster than 70mph. If you're looking for something sporty I would recommend the Kawasaki Ninja 250R. For the same price you can get a much faster bike but if it's off road you want, it's an excellent all around bike.
- Dauria, William, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-06 2004 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in March 2004 and in the past 5 months have used it every clear day (and a few rainy ones) as my primary transportation to work. Commuting through the busy streets of Northern New Jersey and New York City are a pleasure on this bike, although I don't recommend riding it on the highway for more than 10 or 15 miles. Not only will it only do about 60 MPH (and that's pushing it) it's very uncomfortable over rough pavement due to it's soft suspension. This bike handles well considering and is simple to drive. I had my 15 year old sister riding this bike in 20 minutes, and she'd never driven anything with an engine in her life. don't expect to be taking jumps with this off road, but that's not what it's designed for. It's made to be driven at moderate speeds on trails, and power though just about any obstacle you reach. It's also excellent at climbing hills. This bike's true attributes are its user friendly ease of operation and great economy around town. I highly recommend this bike to any beginner, someone looking for cheap, reliable transportation combined with light off road duty or just a fun weekend toy. Take it from me, my other bike is a 2001 YZF R1, and I still enjoy riding the TW200.
- Dan, Lodi, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-22 2002 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for beginners and I should know being a 37 year old mother of 2 who has never ridden an adult sized dirt bike(my kids have a 50(suzuki) and an PW 80). I hopped on and was able to immediately take it for a spin which REALLY impressed my spouse. The fact that I am 5'3" and 130 pounds does make the bike a little heavy and hard to control(such as backing up). My husband is now looking for one for himself since he is the only one in the family without a dirt bike.
- New Rider Girl, Crouse, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2004 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This little Yamaha TW200 is amazing. I've been riding forever and race motocross and have skills on a bike so I was surprised with the TW200. I did change to a smaller rear sprocket so I could go down the freeway. 40,000 miles of reliability. Great MPG, will climb anything. Because of its low seat height and fat tires it can beat many bigger "serious" trail bikes, and I often do.
- Pingree, Santa Maria, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-20 2004 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This little bike is great! It is exactly what I wanted to run to the Store, Post office, Check on my Cows, basically to get out to the gorgeous spring day. I hope to have many country road excursions on this bad boy. You will love it!!
- steve mills, mansfield, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2002 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a dream bike... (In the dirt) it looks so small and squeamish, but it's a blast to ride. I can take corners with heavy traction, while my friends with 650's (dual sport) can't catch me. Power sliding is slower than actual traction (in this case). The pavement is a different story though... It moves along with the others till about 60mph, then it's, "see you later guys, I'll catch up to you later... and pass you when you're getting a speeding ticket" I know its just a thumper bike, but I really enjoy riding it...It's loads of fun, because it's so easy to handle. It also seems to run on air, and never fail. It's quite frankly, a little monster.
- Me, Yes, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-17 2004 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike for a beginner rider. It is kind of heavy BUT I will say that this bike has one of the smoothest power-bands that a beginner will desire. It is designed well and does what its intended for. Trail riding, fire roads, camping, local town riding etc. It's not for jumping, racing, extreme off road. If you want something that is really a fun and simple ride... look no further this is it! Plus for some cool reason a lot of people ask about the way this bike rides/handles... they seem like they never knew these bikes existed. The cool factor is definitely A +. Great gas mileage and reliable. Plus it looks great too! (Not cookie-cutter) Go get one for simple fun!
- John Priest, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-30 2001 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this 2001 TW 200 with 1345mi several months ago, and find it to be most impressive. I am 6'0 and weigh 230 lbs. I can travel easily at 60 mph with lots to spare. The seat and suspension offer a comfortable ride both on and off road. At 264 lbs, the bike is pretty nimble on the trails. It takes turns and curves nicely, and because of it's oversized tires, you need not worry about bogging in soft sand.On the road however, it would be nice to have a sixth gear, as it appears to be geared a little low for freeway travel.Overall a great bike. Even for us big guys!
- Nick Albanese, St. Augustine, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-26 2001 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 5' nothin and around 110lbs and it is a perfect fit, and will cruise comfortably @ over 70 mph. I love the electric start, as it has never failed me. The suspension, and brakes are also superb. Perfect bike for people that are small to average size. I love how I don't have to load it on a trailer to hit the trails as it's street legal.
- Kris, Girdwood, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-05 2001 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All I can say is this is a wonderful bike very nice features for road use, could use a bit bigger engine.
- annonymous, whoville, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-01 2000 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yo, my TW got stolen last weekend, so don't blame me if I get nostalgic. This motorbike is the perfect run-about in the city. Smooth acceleration coupled with good handling makes it rule in rush hour traffic. I found this bike underpowered for highways with a topspeed of about 100-110km/h, but below that, no problems. Power curve tends to flatten out past about 70 km/h. Off-road this bike is really designed well. I let her drop only twice in as many years, but she took no damage. Front suspension a bit soft (short) and maxxed out on pityfull 1m high jumps, but the rear tire just about chows anything you can throw at it (including mud and rivers and sand and bush...hey, I live in Africa!) I would reccomend this bike to anyone who needs a quick and reliable (and fun) way to get around the city or to go off-roading (not too heavy though). Best for new riders as this bike handles well and predictable.
- Riaan Myburgh, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-24 2000 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a '94 version of this machine, which is mostly unchanged. Crashed twice taking corners in the dirt at less than 25-30mph. It's really shaky trying to accelerate out of corners or if you try to take it into corners with any kind of speed. This machine was made for going real slow. But it is comfortable though...
- Anonymous, Singapore, Singapore

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-01-23 2000 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Engine: Runs good, starts good. Low vibration. Tank: too small for long rides. Transmission: could use 6 gears. Suspension: OK but a bit firm. Not as comfy as the XT. Handling: Excellent, easy to ride. Low COG. Stability: Unbeatable on loose sufaces. Overall: For 40mhp and under it's a great bike. Over 40mph it gets a bit noisy like it needs another gear.
- Vince, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: