Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

220 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Yamaha Rider 525

Elk Grove, California

Reviewed on 2013-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Whether it's your first bike or you're an experienced rider, you will absolutely love this bike. It's very smooth and sounds great! It gets lots of compliments. The only upgrades I did were the exhaust, air box, risers and saddlebags.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2014-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second 1100 V Star Classic. I sold my first one after a year because my wife likes to ride and caught too much air on back. I bought an HD Ultra to solve that issue. I ended up buying another V Star to ride single because I truly love the ride. Especially nice is the low seat and low mass of bike that gives you the comfort of lower to the ground. The low seat at about 27 inches is great for those with short legs compared to the bigger cruisers. Quality for price is outstanding. The retro-like bicycle handle bars are just plain cool and comfortable to ride for shorter runs of 150-200 miles. Longer rides get a bit tiring, especially with the stock seat. You might want to upgrade there with a Mustang seat for comfort. I have a set of Krome double Ds for noise and power, Kurayakan filter for pep and a set of Yamaha passing lights and Iron saddle bags to set it off. I love this bike. PS: The oil change is still a pain with the need to remove exhaust, but once you've done it a couple times it gets easy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Toledo, Ohio

Reviewed on 2012-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike gives me the style, comfort and power I need. The stock exhaust are terrible sounding. I put a set of COBRA pipes on it and it sounds like a true bagger. I've ridden Suzuki, Hyosung, Harley, Honda and United Motors. This bike is better than them all. I love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ug

Oceanside, California

Reviewed on 2011-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Things to pay attention to on this bike - the drive train. 10% or so of the V Stars have midshaft failure or final drive issues (in the hub) around the 30k mile mark. No lie, I have had the bike for four years, I was mile one on it. It served well with very little mechanical issues. The biggest problem is right now I am living the final drive failure at 36,968 miles. Highway performance is great. Keep it at 65 and you can get almost 230 miles to a tank. Get over 75 and you'll lose a lot of miles per gallon, but you will still have power. Citywise, there are no issues other than the mirror height is the same as most cars on the highway so be careful splitting traffic.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Fredericton , New Brunswick

Reviewed on 2011-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just rode my aging 1100 V Star from New Brunswick to Ohio then down to West Virginia, Virginia and the Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway back home. WOW what a fantastic ride! The Star did not miss a single beat and was loaded up to the hilt with gear. Ideal cruising speed is 100 KMPH. where you get about 55 MPG. imperial. The bike would sit on 150 KMPH. all day if asked to but the problem is that you get a little vibration over 110 KMPH. I was sitting all day on the Interstates at 120 KMPH. - the engine works a bit harder at that speed but can absolutely without doubt handle it - and I mean for 12 hours non-stop except for food and gas. Vibration at that speed is a little tiresome for the rider though as stated - but that is the only negative. Ironically it seems to smooth out again over about 130 KMPH. but then who wants to chat to the State Troopers about it? All in all these are great bikes (only known fault is the starter motors fail until replaced with a kit which has some improvement). I highly recommend if you want a cheap very reliable bike you can go anywhere on!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Buzzie

walworth, New York

Reviewed on 2011-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is great! Power and handling is well balanced. The stock seat needs improvement and the bike needs a sixth gear or overdrive at 70 mph. Other than that, the bike is perfect!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ccjj100

boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2010-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Visually beautiful bike. Mechanically perfect, so far (3000 miles). Riding by myself, the bike handles and performs impeccably. Riding two up is ok, but highway performance is lacking. My wife and I are a 350 lb package and anything over 60 mph seems to be a struggle for the drivetrain. The seats are good for about 45 minutes drivetime, without a break. Other than the highway, limited top end, the bike has been wonderful. Not to mention the bargain basement price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Lathrop

Plattsburgh, New York

Reviewed on 2010-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought bike used 2 weeks ago. First day out, ran over a nail...my fault. The next day, battery dead. Dealer replaced and since then, this is by far the best bike I have ever owned. I've been riding 20 plus years and owned all different bikes. This bike rides better and handles better than any. Great mileage too!!! I would tell anyone who is looking for a reliable fun ride to buy one of these.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg

Plymouth, Indiana

Reviewed on 2010-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike in Aug of 2009 with 3500 miles on it, it was a one owner. The last time we rode was the last week of october 2009. 2500 miles on the bike and I love it! The only complaints I have is the seat sucks after about an hour or so and the oil filter changing headache is a poor design. I will be going to an oil filter relocation kit soon. We rode 650 miles on a trip with 5 bikes last fall and we did 75 mph+ almost the whole way, never a hiccup or an issue. I am averaging about 45-48mpg (215miles/4.5 gallon tank, 47.77mpg),at those speeds with 2 riders and gear. The best mpg I have had so far is 56.45mpg, 175 miles-3.1 gallons. I have Cobra pipes, Kuryakin hypercharger and the dealership said a jet kit. The mechanic at the dealership said he has dyno'd a bike like mine and it had almost 80hp. Not sure how close mine is but it is A LOT faster than stock!! You won't regret it if you add these items. With the mods this bike hauls pretty good and people notice you because they hear you. I have 3 friends with V Star 650's and they like theirs too. I would recommend this bike to anybody. My bike has been mistaken for a Harley Fat Boy. :):)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Luis M

Greeley, Colorado

Reviewed on 2009-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2007 VStar 1100, this bike has all I can ask for. I get looks and great reviews every where I go in town or out on the road.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 22
  • 1 - 10 of 220 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: