Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

109 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jeff Stephens

Kitchener, Ontario

Reviewed on 2014-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike has been reliable since June, 2011. My upgrades are grips, passenger floorboards and a top rack.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CByrd

Elizabethtown, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2012-03-04

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This my first brand new bike, and I love it! It has the perfect engine size for me, providing plenty of power and low end torque for cruising. I do keep looking for a higher gear when on the highway. But overall, this bike handles very smoothly, and has great balance, especially in low-speed manuevers. The build quality is definitely good, with plenty of chrome standard. Of course it is a neverending process to add more chrome -- it is hard to have too much. But really, it is the ride comfort, balance and feel, as well as looks that really make me love this bike. I definitely gets lots of looks and great comments on this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Fredericton , New Brunswick

Reviewed on 2011-06-22

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased this bike second hand last year with 50,000 km. on it. It had not been well looked after although it looked great. The worst thing was that the starter motor failed (a very, very common fault that needs to be fixed for your own peace of mind, if you own one that has not had "the kit" retro fitted!) and had to be replaced. Apart from that it has been 100% reliable. My only complaint is the fuel consumption can be high at high speeds. However if you stick to 65 mph. (110 kph.) it is reasonable although still not great (about US 40 mpg. at best and US 30 mpg. at worst - average of 35 mpg. US is about right). Anyway, I've owned three Harleys in the past - an 883 and 1200 Sporty and an Electra Glide. I honestly think the V Star is better once you get over the Harley image thing (although Harleys do sound better in my opinion and look better.....but they just don't have the relaibility). To me, the V Star is what a Harley ought to have been in terms of reliability.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Johnathan

New Hope, Alabama

Reviewed on 2011-01-27

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I could not ask for a better bike so far. It is extremely comfortable, smooth and well balanced. It also has plenty of power to carry a passenger. It takes curves better than any bike I have ever ridden. Another big plus is the price tag. I highly recommend this motorcycle to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Toba

Murray, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2010-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The bike is great and I would definitely tell anyone to get one since this is gonna be the last year. This is actually the first bike ever that I bought brand new. Need to buy mustang seat though since after about 1 hour your rear end would feel it and definitely some after market pipe since the bike is so quite. Overall great bike and I hope it stops raining so I can start riding again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

UG

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-04-26

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The only problem is the seat. It can get uncomfortable after some long hours (about 3-4 straight) of riding. Suggestion for improvement would be an added 6th gear, however, the bike does not necessarily need one, it has the power to use it and would make high speed cruising more efficient. Other suggestion would be the oil filter placement, just a bugger to get to during oil changes (manual recommends filter change every other 3K miles). For performance, there are no complaints. This bike has all that is needed and at a great price. Enough stature and maneuverability for tight spaces and city rides, plenty of power for highway. Sometimes the bike will seem angry at you around 70-75 mph, but it will smooth out after 75. With upgrades, the bike sounds great, runs better. I can squeeze out 54 mpg (staying under 70 on highway). 750 mies per week, 4 total maintenance (600, 2000, 6000, 18000) the rest was oil changes done my me. Maintenance, easier than some. As mentioned the oil filter is behind the front exhaust pipe on the side of the bike. The pipe needs to be removed to get to it. The first time took me about 2 hours to finish. Now I have I down to about 45 minutes. Not because it is hard, but because it takes time. The only times I have taken it to the shop have been to get the valve clearance checked/adjusted and to replace a carburetor bowl gasket (for 2007 v star owners, ethanol fuel will eat the gaskets over time. run all the fuel out of the carbs before putting away and use stabil marine formula - blue stuff, not red - or use sea foam brands ethanol fuel treatment. this will keep the fuel from drying through the gaskets and giving you a fuel leak.) Other than those points, every 6K miles oil and filter change, every 1500 is a drain and fill of oil. (yes Rotella T 15W40 will work in the bike - save you some money too). 21000 miles in less than 3 years. Show me a different bike that can do that, and I'll show you another well built machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Groothand

Aiken, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second Yamaha. I previously owned an 82 650 Maxim. I found this one in a line of new bikes and I thought it WAS new. It was in great shape and 3 years later it's still starts first time everytime (with choke on at 1/2 way point) and has never disappointed me. 6th gear would be great but not many, if any had a 6 speed tranny in 03. My only complaint is changing the oil filter. If you wrench your own, plan on at least 45 minutes start to finish. The filter change requires removal of the front exhaust.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Geoff Powers

Shaker Heights, Ohio

Reviewed on 2009-06-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just clicked 5000 miles last week. Best things about it? Comfortable and stable, stingy on gas (45-50 mpg), loads of aftermarket parts available. Things not so great? OEM saddle WAAAAY too wide, brakes kinda spongy,(accessory luggage rack) a joke...10 lb limit? Come on, now...and rear wheel air valve needs a contortionist to reach/fill/check. Would like to see passing lamps installed as standard because the headlight's not too good at night in the country. Otherwise, it's the best bargain around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Martin

Auburn, Alabama

Reviewed on 2009-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a very solid ride. Enough power for Interstate. Gear ratio takes getting used to over 60 MPH. Sounds like it needs a 6th gear. Runs fine with power to spare though. This bike handles very well for a 1100. Looks like a much larger bike. Only cons are the oil filter location and you will probably need to change the stock seat. After about an hour your rear will let you know it. Overall this is a good all around bike for weekend trips or just around town.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Loudon , New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2009-01-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding bikes all my life and only twice have I received more from a bike than I expected. They were my 88 Virago and my 2006 1100 Silverado. It is just a fun, predictable ride. I downsized to this from my previous luxury tourer. It is sweet, and the little woman likes riding on this better.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 11
  • 1 - 10 of 109 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: