‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V Star 250 reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

7 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Iverr6

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-04-24

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Yamaha V Star 250 view listing

5.0
Being an experienced rider that took a few years off, I decided to get a small inexpensive bike. I was really surprised how well this bike performs for a 250, plenty of power. I would almost go as far as to say that it rivals the Intruder 800 I used to have. I had it up to 80 mph. with a little more throttle still left. The V twin gives it big cruiser looks and has a little rumble to it as well. It blows the Honda Rebel clear out of the water.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hung Huynh

Utica, New York

Reviewed on 2009-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Yamaha V Star 250 view listing

5.0
I like to cruise around the city with this bike and I use the bike to travel to work and home. Everything is ok, except when it windy, it kinda pushes the bike and rider around. Overall, I love it..I roll like the big boyz & in style.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

swymour, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2009-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha V Star 250 view listing

5.0
I have had this bike for about six months now. I have been riding it 30 miles to work, on the weekends and even with my girlfriend on the back. It has plenty of power with just my 200lbs on it, with my girlfriend and I on it it is fine unless going up a good size hill, then you'll need to down shift. I have been getting well over 80 MPG. It is comfortable although after a half an hour or so my legs get a little cramped and I stick them out to stretch them. The bike handles great, no problems so far and looks amazing! I didn't like the mirrors at first but I have gotten used to them and don't mind them anymore. This bike shifts very smoothly. It seems to be geared very low as it tells you to shift into 5th by 25 mph, I tend to rev out the engine a little more, but hey do ride how you like to. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ashley

Overland Park, Kansas

Reviewed on 2009-02-27

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Yamaha V Star 250 view listing

4.0
This is my first bike and I couldn't have asked for anything better. This little gem has taken me from being scared to death to ride in heavy traffic to feeling very confident in just about any traffic situation. If you're looking for the big cruiser image in a smaller package, look no further. With the dual pipes and all the chrome you could ask for on a 250, the stock version of this bike will get noticed. Without comparing this bike to its big brothers, the starts on this little machine are pretty healthy - I haven't had any problems taking off from a stoplight/stop sign/steep hill with a car wanting to go over the top of me. It doesn't quite have the rumble of the larger bikes, but it does have a little bit of a purr. This bike also started beautifully after sitting in the Kansas cold, untouched, for two months. You would have never known it wasn't being used regularly. Overall, if you're looking for a starter bike with enough power to get you around town and big cruiser looks, this is the bike for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Whisenhunt

Independence, Missouri

Reviewed on 2009-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha V Star 250 view listing

5.0
I purchased my V-Star 250 in May 2008. As of 01/02/09 I have put over 8,400 miles on the bike. I am completely satisfied with my bike. It rides and handles very well. Gas mileage has averaged around 85 to 90 miles per gallon. The fit and finish is excellent. I would recommend this motorcycle for a beginner, or if you are like me and have not owned a bike for many years, it is a great way, and very inexpensive way to get back to motorcycling.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rich D.

Brandenburg, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2008-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha V Star 250 view listing

5.0
I used to ride motocross when I was a teen. 18ish or so years later I decided to buy a street bike. Everything I looked at in the 250 class seemed plain and, well... blah. I kept coming back to the V-Star (Virago) 250. The lines are nice, the V-Twin looks great and it just felt better while sitting on it. Every sales rep at the dealerships kept telling me to get a 650+. However, I have had 2 full hip replacements and the extra weight of the 650 class is just too much for my hips. I would like to state for the record that a large guy can fit comfortably on this bike. Nowhere was I able to find a review where a large guy such as me (6'2275lbs.) liked or disliked the bike. I am here to say that this bike will haul me around at 55-60 with ease and it's very comfortable for your typical work commute. Three hour hauls on the other hand, you do begin to feel it. I will agree that the bike does not have a lot of power when pulling hills, but you have to remember it is a 250, and it is a starter bike. It does exactly what it was engineered to do. I do have to give it kudos though. I have a hill in my area that has a 4-6% grade. As long as I hit it at 55, with the throttle open, it handles it just fine. No need to downshift. The hill is about 1/4 - 1/2 mile long. Even with my fat... um... self' I'm seeing slightly above 75 MPG. So if you're looking for a great starter bike that's easy to handle, gets great gas mileage, looks good and is still comfortable for a big guy, treat yourself to the V-Star 250.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 7 of 7 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: