Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V Star 950 reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

thomas poelking

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
Had this bike for a dozen years. nice and low. nice and wide. well balanced. 50 mpg. easy to handle. Said to be a great first bike or a ladies'ride. For me it was a re-entry to the motorcycle world. Hadn't had a bike for thirty years. see this link: https://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/a12889/4289328/
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Browning

Rock Cave, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2012-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I really like how this bike handles and looks plus this bike gets great fuel mileage. I am averaging 55 mpg. I replaced the factory seat with a saddleman seat. What a difference.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Corey

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2012-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love the ride, stance and the feel - smooth, easy ride. It has a fairly large feel, but not intimidating for a rider of my skills. I dragged the floorboards a couple of times, but in all I love it! The anemic factory exhaust will be my first upgrade probably followed by a more comfortable seat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

martin parrish

Meridian, Idaho

Reviewed on 2012-02-26

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great bike. No problems, only regular maintenance, except for the recall for new fuel lines. I wish there were more aftermarket accessories for it. It's a smooth riding bike, I even still have the original rear tire on it. I am thinking about replacing it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dean Herring

Nampa, Idaho

Reviewed on 2011-12-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding bikes since I was 11 years old, and (at 56 now) that means I have spent a lot of time on two wheels. My 950 is the best bike I have ever ridden - by far! It has plenty of power, and the balance is second to none. The throaty sound of the stock pipes as you take to the road is music to my ears. You will not regret buying this bike. It is in a class by itself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G

New Brunswick, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2011-02-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2009 V Star 950 in April of 2010 and by November 2010 I had 14,000 miles on it (I took it 12,000 miles around America for the summer). The bike really is great, especially for the price. It handles great while being a big solid bike. It also has enough speed where it will do anything I need it to, without ever getting out of control. It has plenty of power for 2-up riding. I have had absolutely no mechanical problems and have only changed the oil myself (very easy to do). I will take it in for the full 16,000 mile service, though. The only problems were with the stock seat and that it vibrates a bit over 75 mph. I put the Mustang seat on it and can now easily ride for 600 miles a day without a break. Kuryakan grips help with the vibrations, which really aren't bad to begin with. I get around 55 mpg. around town and about 47 mpg. on the highway. The bike is a real looker, a very sleek and sporty cruiser. Although people do ask me "What's a Star?" every once in a while, they tend to be people who only know about Harley's. There might be better bikes out there, but you will have to pay a lot more for a small increase in quality and performance.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony D Tiger

Dawsvonville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2010-09-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After owning this bike for 6 months and 5600 miles, there have been no problems with this bike. Even after riding other bikes at demo days, nothing compares with the maneuverability, power and speed of this bike. I just wish the seat was comfortable enough to allow riding until the tank is empty before a need to get off and walk.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dot

Southaven, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2010-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was at the dealer the morning they pulled the Candy Red 950 onto the showroom floor...it was love at first site. It rides good, handles good, has more than enough power and the seat height is good for my short legs. The stock seat is a little uncomfortable so I will probably get a gel seat for it. I can't believe I waited so long to trade in my 650 Custom. My husband and I have been looking at the 950's for a long time so he decided to trade up to the 950 the same week (his is black). We do a lot of long distance traveling so we can't wait to take our first trip.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debbie

Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2010-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I fell in love with this bike at the Greater Vancouver motorcyles show and had to have it..I was right. It is so easy to ride and feels great. I don't have many choices at my height so this bike is great. I have to agree with one of the other reviews about the seat. I have installed a Mustang Daytripper and it's a huge difference. Thanks Yamaha!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bobbie

Kerrville, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 950

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Lovin it!!! Low seat height and lots of power. Added Risers to bring the handle bars back and much more comfortable, stock seat kinda hard, added a gel pad and no more hot spots. No regrets great ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: