Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V Star Classic reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

307 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike

Palm Bay, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second V-Star 650 so you know where this review is headed. It is not a stoplight rocket, it will not go coast to coast at 80 mph. in supreme comfort and silence and no, it was not designed to lay nearly flat in the curves. This is my ninth motorcycle in nearly 40 years of riding and overall it is the best bike I've owned. While HP is modest, some throttle roll will leave most cars in your rear view mirror but again - it wasn't designed to smoke the rear tire. Torque is plenty available wherever you are in the gear range - just twist and go. Remember - it is a mid-size cruiser despite it's big boy looks. Handling is near perfect for me. It's plenty easy in parking lot speed turns but also straight as an arrow at 60+ mph. and in between, just enough lean available in the curves to make you smile. The transmission shifts effortlessly and yes, the clutch doesn't engage until the last bit of lever travel - by design I suppose. You just get used to it. Yes, Yamaha could have added a 6th gear as the engine sounds busy at 60+ mph. - don't be fooled - the bike will run the legal limit and more all day long with no complaints and no issues - you'll just feel/hear it more than on a large displacement bike. For my riding which is mostly back roads at 60 mph. and under - it is terrific! What can I say? Great fit and finish, plenty of chromed goodies available, low seat height, great handling, fairly decent comfort for a stock seat and enough power to please most. I bought both of mine used (the first one had 20,000 miles and ran perfectly, my 2005 has only 6,000 miles and of course runs like new). Go sit on one, go ride one. Perhaps the best mid-sized cruiser on the market.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Hawaii

Reviewed on 2022-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I raced professional motocross in the 1970’s, Montesa 125 and CZ 400. I own a Super Duke and MV AGusta Dragster 800 rr but wanted a dirt bike again. Luckily I am small and only weigh 150 pounds. I Chose the 2022 YZ 85 for its history of reliability and horsepower. 160 pounds wet and 23 plus horsepower gives it the same power to rate as the YZ125 and I can touch the ground flat footed. 2 strokes have more power, easier maintenance, great sound, addicting on/off acceleration vs heavier 4 strokes with their top heavy rotating mass. The YZ 85 is perfect for me with fantastic looks like it’s bigger brothers. Starts first kick, light weight means more fun and agility. So happy with the purchase. Everything is perfect out of the box.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Mason

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love everything about this bike 1 best looking cruiser 2 belt drive can't be beat The 1300 has power up the wazoo 3 beautiful v twin sound 4 great price too 5 reliable always I could go on and on Thee best cruiser by far What more can u say Jim m.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Firefighter Neal

Columbus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2012-04-14

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this V Star on Friday, March 30, 2012. I was looking at a new C50T but the cost was a little high. This bike only had 1,300 miles and the waranty extended until August 2014. I bought the bike without my temps. The service manager drove it home for me and I started it up everyday until I got my temps. I've been riding in my neighborhood everyday. I'm going to take the state motorcycle training course soon. Us older guys need to be careful. Can't wait to get on the open road.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Wallingford, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2012-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After years of riding on two wheels and a trike, it's time to down size to a 650 Yamaha. It's a nice bike. It's not at all heavy. Keep on riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rod

Summertown, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2010-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is heavy enough to cruise well on the open road yet, light enough to handle extremely well. I wished it had a 6th gear. The seats were a little hard, but I love my bike. After adding a set of Vance Hines pipes, and a Mustang seat with the driver backrest (which was worth the $$$) riding now is more enjoyable than ever.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my 2006 V Star 650 Classic in September 2009. It's a perfect fit for my size, like others have commented...not too big, not too small. Corners great, suspension is very forgiving of the bad Dallas roads (potholes galore and I haven't bottomed out yet), and the weight is perfect. Every chance I get to take a twisty road I take it, it's a blast on this bike! Only 2 complaints: 1) exhaust was too quiet 2)clutch lever/friction zone way out there at the end of lever travel. Both were easily fixed. that's one thing I love about this bike is there are more and more aftermarket components being released. Overall, I am very satisfied. A lot of people often mistake it for an HD Fatboy (I removed all badging for a cleaner look). I'm quick to correct them and they usually respond....a Yamaha? Really? :)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Heidi Arvin

Powell, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2010-03-14

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As a newbie, I wanted to make sure that I had a bike that would be easy to learn a manual shift and balance on. This motorcycle is very comfortable and is very forgiving when I dump it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RICH

North Olmsted, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-01-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden my bike all over the Northern Ohio area and around Western PA. I ride it to work almost every day spring thru fall. The only upgrade I would suggest the factory do, is to put a 6th gear in it so I don't overrev at 75 and 80 mph. If you ride long distances, you'll want a better seat and a sixth gear.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Yama Momma

Stockton, California

Reviewed on 2009-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a 2003 Classic in April '09 and ride as much as I can. This is a great bike for a new rider and especially for a woman. At first it seemed big, but after taking the riding course and using the tiny 250's, this one is just right. I only gave it a 3 on performance because sometimes it doesn't seem to have a lot of power especially when passing other vehicles (maybe it's because I was going uphill :) ). Very happy with the bike and with 50mpg it's great for commuting. FYI - for anyone having trouble with the 'friction zone' there is a spring you can get which I highly recommend...it helped tremendously...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 31
  • 1 - 10 of 307 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: