Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V Star Custom reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

74 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

tim hanam

eastern passage, Nova Scotia

Reviewed on 2012-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought this bike. It is awesome. It is a great ride. Thanks to the dealership I got it at.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Clopton

Acworth, Georgia

Reviewed on 2011-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Yamaha is the best road bike on the road as of today. As I am a former deputy in LA County, Ca., and have ridden Harleys and BMWs, I like your bike. Today I am trying to get another one. Right now I don't know if I can get it yet. Thanks for your web site.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allen

Iowa City, Iowa

Reviewed on 2010-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 650 Custom last year, and after a year of riding I love it. It will run all day long and blends in good with my buddies Harleys. I may upgrade the seat, it does get a little uncomfortable after 2-3 hours, but other than that you can't ask for a better machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dustin

pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I love this bike, it is so fun. It is really light and I can put it way down in the corners. It is extremly comfortable. I have taken three 800 mile trips on it already. It is comfortable at highway speeds and faster. I have not had a single problem with the bike, very reliable. After putting 5000 miles on it in the last 3 months, I have really out grown it. It does lack in power now that I have gotten used to it, but that is by far my only complaint about this bike. If you want a starter bike that doesn't look like one, this is the one for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D. Straw

Richmond, Indiana

Reviewed on 2009-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first new bike. I use it for riding to work and touring the country roads in Indiana and Ohio. This is a nice bike, reasonably comfortable with good fuel economy. It has a low center so it's easy to ride. It could use a 6th gear but this is a minor complaint. What bugs me more is all of the plastic parts. But for the price I really can't complain. This is an excellent bike for a new rider, someone on a tighter budget or someone who is just an occasional rider. Like many of the Japanese bikes the quality seems bullet proof.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Jay

balgonie, Saskatchewan

Reviewed on 2009-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am 33 years old and never had a bike growing up. I always knew I wanted one so this is the one I got! Love it, rides good and has enough power for a new driver like myself. What I like best is the balance it seems effortless to move around. Vibration on the highway is noticeable at 120km/hr but does not wreck the experience for me. New riders this is the bike for you!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ted Cichocki

Newtown Square, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought this bike used from an owner who abused this bike. Spent $500 in parts to give it new tires, broken mirror, turn signal and clutch. This is one of three bikes I own and it was the first I did work on to restore. I have to admit that it was to easy taking this thing apart to replace what the previous owner abused. Within a weeks time I had this thing looking and running like it came from a showroom floor. Now I ride it all the time and put 1,000 miles on it. I gutted the exhaust for a mean and beefier sound. The only draw back if any is the stock quiet exhaust. Some people like, some like myself want something louder. The rear seat is really not idea for someone on a long ride. If I can make suggestion, take off the rear seat because it will expose more of the rear fender and make the bike look much cooler. Sitting position, handlebar placement, and shifting and brake pedal are all in ideal locations. If you would like to see pictures from before and after, please contact me at email address.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Ball

Lockport, New York

Reviewed on 2009-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike to replace a 81 500. I fell in love with the midnight edition, so I had to have it. I was impressed with the power of the 649cc motor. My friends have older 800s and 900s and I have no problems keeping up. I would recommend this bike to anyone. It's an easy bike to drive (very balanced). I am looking at the new 950 V Star but I will still keep the 650.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MJ

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2008-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike a few weeks ago from the original owner. It is a 2006 that sat for over a year. It has taken a bit of work to get it back to great running conditions, but now it runs like a top. The bike has plenty of power and awesome classic cruiser looks. I get compliments everywhere I go. As a short rider, it was important for me to be able to securely plant my feet at stops and the stock seat height on the Custom is ideal. However, the seat could be cushier, so I will likely be upgrading to a Corbin solo seat next riding season.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gene Brown

Florence, Arizona

Reviewed on 2007-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had this bike a month now and love it. It has plenty of power but after awhile will probably want to start upgrading. It does great through the mountains and is awesome on the freeways, braking is better than my Toyota and all I can say is it is the best bike I have found for this price, you just can't beat it...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 8
  • 1 - 10 of 74 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: