Yamaha WR450F Motorcycles Reviews (33)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha WR450F Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha WR450F Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-20 2008 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After removing all the restrictions and re-jetting, this bike is outstanding! The AIS kit will really make this bike come alive and after that you will enjoy the true performance this machine has to offer. It's fast, quiet, reliable as a hammer, handles great, and comes standard with top quality components. With good maintenance this bike will last a long time and compared to all the bikes in this category it is worth every penny!
- KWG, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-24 2006 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first 450 four-stroke by Yamaha and it has the power delivery that I need to do just about anything. My first bike was a 1996 Honda XR200R and it still works fine but when I get on the WR450 I felt the difference that the 450 made. The seat is a little uncomfortable but won't get you depressed because the rest of the bike is great.
- David Macdonald, Roswell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-12 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, first thing, the 2005 WR450F is the best motorcycle on the market. Period. I mean, how many other manufactures offer an enduro bike (or dirtbike, for that matter) with 5-Titanium Valves that rip the hell out of whatever terrain you're on up to 11,000 rpm? Not one. This bike is a streamlined locomotive. It has so much torque, it just blows my mind! This little honey doesn't throw grass and rocks, it launches boulders, sedans, oak trees, small children, and unwanted in-laws into the next zipcode. Everything is 'space-age' on this crotch-rocket for the dirt. From Renthal bars, to Kayaba springs, this bad-dad has got it all. I recommend it to anyone out there looking to have a killer good time. CONSIDER YOURSELF WARNED: USE THROTTLE CONTROL! YOU CANNOT 'TWIST FREELY' ALL OF THE TIME! IT WILL BUCK YOU OFF, AND YOUR WILL BREAK BONES! JUST RESPECT IT, AND IT WILL RESPECT YOU! I can handle this bike very well. I have been riding for seven years, and have riden on all sorts of terrain, and bikes (PW80, XR100, TT-R125L, KX85, KX100, CR125, RM125, YZ125, YZ250, CRF250X, CRF250R, DRZ400E, WR426F, CRF450R). This is the most powerful and amazing bike that I have ever rode.
- Carter, Cranberry Twp., Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-10 2006 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always rode green 2-strokes until this year. I bought my WR-450 and it's the best thing that I could have done. It's awesome, more power than I will ever need and it handles great, even in the confines of single track. I was leary about the single track, but it just tractors on through! Hill climbs are merely trails that I run over, no problem!
- Leonard VanHoose, Stanfield, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-17 2006 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Right behind my house. What an awesome bike! I cannot say enough good things. After you do the free mods, this is insane. It is my first brand new bike and first 4-stroke ever. I am so excited about it. I love it. I would recommend it to anybody. By far the best bike I have ever ridden.
- Jason Foster, Elk River, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-14 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, did the free mods, including modifying the pipe and added a Storm adjustable fuel mix screw and jetting and when you pull the trigger on this machine you better be ready because its going to be in a different zip code fast! Can't say enough about Yamaha quality and power. Highly recommend!
- Mike, Butte, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-05 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a mountian biker lured by the dark side. I had ridden a few bikes prior to this, but what a ride turned out to be. I ride technical single track, open mx style trails and some of the "best of the desert" sections. This bike is truely awesome. It climbs everything I point it up (I usually run a gear or so tall), skims the tops or jump every other "whoop", work my way down seriously steep to vertical sketchy downhills, or jump off 6-10' embankments. The bike is far better than I am. The "e" button has saved me numerous times when I have found myself in a precarious spot. I know there are other bikes out there that may be as good, but I must say, I have not found them yet, and all of my friends who ride KTM's and Hondas can't believe the performance and reliability of this WR. I must say that the suspension change made the biggest change of all mods. I'm prob 230-240 with all the gear on. The springs and valving made the bike truly responsive and apt at lugging my big butt around. Oh yeah, Did I mention that it has enough power to pull the front wheel off the ground at any time...well any time under say 50mph.
- harleysdad, henderson, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-09 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After having not ridden bikes for the past few years I picked up this bike and from the beginning I was amazed by how well it rode. After doing all of my free mods it was absolutely unbelievable. I ride at roughly 8000ft and have yet to jet the carb and it still runs with unbelievable power. The handling is unreal and the bike is incredibly responsive. I would deffinately recommend this bike to anyone.
- Brett McGlothlin, Highlands Ranch, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-13 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
STILL LOVE THIS BIKE! DRAG RACED MY BROTHER ON HIS YZ450F (ABOUT AN EIGHTH MILE) ON WET SAND, HIS WAS QUICKER OFF THE LINE BUT THAT WAS IT. ONCE THE RPM'S WERE UP, I KEPT RIGHT UP. HIS IS STOCK. I HAVE AN AFTER MARKET PIPE. FMF WITH POWERBOMB HEAD PIPE. A PAIR OF MOOSE SAHARA SKINS HELPED WITH MONKEY BUTT. THE ACCELERATOR PUMP COVER WAS NOT ON AT THE TIME OF THE RACE!
- DOUG W WILSON SR, MILLVILLE, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-23 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I almost went KTM this year, tired of top heavy and porky WRs. But, I gave the '05 WR450 a shot and I'm glad I did. Slim and much, much more flickable than previous model years. And, the e-button is a welcome addition as is the more direct front break line routing. The '05 WR450 is a great single track machine as well as a good dual sport platform. Uncork the jetting, add the shorter throttle stop and this bike rips!
- Dan, Clackamas, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-22 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yamaha continues to lead the market yet again. The '05 is everything you'll expect. That is after several mods to uncork her. Although if your experience level is low, then she is tamed down to a managable level for beginners. Awesome bike that is easy to ride and hard to find enough space to open up!
- timcook, Marana, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-19 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been doing a lot of hill climbs on my new 450, and am very happy with the ease of handling this machine in tight woods. My last bike was a 2000 WR400, so I can only compare it to that bike's ability. And there really is no comparison! The new 450 just does EVERYTHING well! I am amazed how it balances itself in idle situations. It really makes me look like a good rider!
- Gary Lopez, StPetersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-10 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one impressive bike. I bought this for myself this Christmas and it came prepped with all the free Mods already installed/removed. Only thing I did was install the GYT-R tail pipe, (well worth the money), and installed something called powernow. It increases the off idle to half throttle H/P. Since this is the average hill climbing position, it too was well worth the money. This bike has performed flawlessly. Starts like right now. haven't tried to kick start it yet. Too much fun just pushing that little electric start button. Climbs hills better than my CR500R. Not that it climbs them faster, but under it clibms them with much better control. Advertised weight difference is a little over 30 lbs. Does feel a little heavier, but only during trail riding. A little heavier on top. Jumps better than the CR500R. More balance with a MUCH improved/controlled landing. I've ridden a lot of bikes in the last 45 years, and felt the CR500R was the best hill climbing piece of machinery out there. This WR450F is changing my belief!
- Don Griffith, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-12 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Unreal horsepower. It has a very smooth delivery to the ground... one that really hooks up. Had to put pro-taper bars on it. ('04 came with steele bars). The only reason reliability is 4 stars is that I let it set for about a month and a half (I know, but I was moving) and it was very hard to start.
- Ryan, Emmett, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-18 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent reviews, owner loyalty and years of refinement compelled me to buy this bike vs. waiting on the Honda CRF450X. Also, the CRF450X is heaver, more expensive and its little brother's (250X) valve issues concerned me. The bike is impressive: fit, finish, quality, ergonomics, etc. I was impressed with its speed, handling and ride, but it didn't have the "torquey snapI expected -- like my old school (last) 1977..ish MX bike KX250. If you read the reviews here for the 2004 WR you will notice that EVERYONE does the "free mods": Remove the airbox snorkel, Remove the exhaust baffle insert, Shorten the throttle-stop (or replace with YZ stop), disconnect the "grey wire" under the gas tank. Once I did the mods it's twice the bike it was; it's very fast now, pulls hard in every gear, a 2nd and 3rd gear unicycle with a twist of the throttle. After the mods, the WR450 is the "beast" I expected. No complaints; it just keeps impressing me on each ride.
- Elton, Killen, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-16 2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After first purchasing this bike I was very disappointed with Yamaha over the fact that they had corked up the performance on this woods rocket. The throttle stop screw was a joke, as it would not let you open the throttle past 3/4. Why they did this is beyond me but after cutting the stop screw to YZ specs and performing all of the free mods this bike came to life. The power delivery is very smooth and predictable. The engine performance would have got a 5 if it were not for having to modify it to get full use of the carb. I felt very comfortable in both tight and open trails. The suspension felt good and has plenty of travel. All in all this is a great bike for the trail rider or woods racer at heart.
- Jason, Ridge Manor, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-18 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike about four months ago, have ridden mostly mountain trails. Overall I'm quite satisfied with it. The motor is very good with usable power and torque all across the powerband. Handling is nice-typical Yamaha not too quick steering, not too slow. I was a little concerned about the thin seat, but it doesn't cause monkeybutt any more than others. The easiest starting four stroke I've ever owned- even kick starting usually only takes one to two kicks.
- Greg Swan, Lewistown, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-18 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just down graded from a Honda XR650R to the Yamaha WR450F and let me tell you what. I went from a tank to a sportscar. This bike is great. Low end torque is so sweet, this bike is a unicycle most of the time. It powers through the sand and whoops like butter. Nice soft landing on the jumps. What more can I say? Buy one!
- TRENTON C PARSONS, PORT CHARLOTTE, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-07 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THE BIKE IS NICE! IT IS VERY PREDICTABLE, WITH SMOOTH POWER AND CAN BE THROWN AROUND EASIER THAN I EVER IMAGINED (AND IT KEEPS GETTING EASIER). COMFORT IS 4, BECAUSE MY BUTT GETS SORE. don't KNOW IF IT'S THE SEAT OR IF I NEED TO BUILD SOME TOLERANCE TO RIDE THIS ROCKET. THE TIRE NEEDS REPLACING AFTER 200 MILES, I'M ALWAYS ON THE GAS! I ONLY HAD THE EXHAUST UNCORKED AND THROTTLE STOP TAKEN OUT, IT'S FAST ENOUGH! BUT, I THINK A STEERING STABILIZER WOULD HELP AT HIGH SPEEDS.
- ERIC, LAS VEGAS, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-06 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, after doing all the mods like removing the exhaust baffle and cutting the throttle stop, this bike has serious power. The overall looks of it are just stunning. Love the electric start, that works great. I highly recommend the 2004 WR450F to anyone.
- Michael Minery, Lake Havasu City, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-05 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike to make it street legal. Now that its on the road and complete its been worth every penny. Its lots of fun.
- VICK, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-03 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok folks, I have not had a dirt bike for 20 years. Road and motocross as a teen with street bikes for last 20 years. So I decided to get the boys and I bikes and the reviews for the WR450 were awesome. Let me tell you, this thing has caused a permanent smile on my face!! I have only had this bike for 2 weeks and cannot believe its capabilities! Smooth power, killer suspension and I can't keep the front wheel down. And I have ONLY pulled out the exhaust baffle!! This bike is worth every penny. And I LOVE the magic button!!!
- Azemon, Parker, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-03 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was riding a DRZ400 for several years and decided to jump up to the 450. Here in Colorado, I ride the trails in the summer and fall and then I hit the track in the winter. The WR is a completely different monster on the track and I love it. The suspension and power is absolutely superb! I love trying to tame this beast! Once the trails thaw out, I will be spreading real estate in the mountains as well. I can't wait!
- Brett Mugg, Parker, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The stock bike was okay power wise and pretty quiet. But once you open the thing up with a new exhaust and the free modifications she is scary fast, I can now wheelie in every gear with just the twist of the throttle. I pull away from a modded CR250r every time by at least 3 bike lengths. The WR is a sick beast with tons of power for almost any type of riding from tight trails to mx. So if you want an extremely powerful bike with great potential, and reliability that will go anywhere you want it to this is the one for you.
- Joey Carnill, Elkton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The WR450 ran well right out of the box. For the first fifty miles or so I ran the bike in stock condition. I then removed the baffle out of the exhaust and ground the throttle stop down 1/4". These two modifications alone made the bike run much better and gave a better feel as to what the bike really has. The bike is very quik and responsive off the bottom and the power only gets better as you get higher in the rpm's. My only complaint is that the bike feels a little too high geared. That is easily fixed by adding one or two teeth to the rear sprocket. The WR is a very fun machine to ride and has more that enough power to conquer the high desert in which I live and ride.
- Ryan Kendall, Rock Springs, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: