Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha WR450F reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

33 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

KWG

Simi Valley, California

Reviewed on 2009-05-20

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After removing all the restrictions and re-jetting, this bike is outstanding! The AIS kit will really make this bike come alive and after that you will enjoy the true performance this machine has to offer. It's fast, quiet, reliable as a hammer, handles great, and comes standard with top quality components. With good maintenance this bike will last a long time and compared to all the bikes in this category it is worth every penny!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Macdonald

Roswell, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-07-24

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first 450 four-stroke by Yamaha and it has the power delivery that I need to do just about anything. My first bike was a 1996 Honda XR200R and it still works fine but when I get on the WR450 I felt the difference that the 450 made. The seat is a little uncomfortable but won't get you depressed because the rest of the bike is great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carter

Cranberry Twp., Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ok, first thing, the 2005 WR450F is the best motorcycle on the market. Period. I mean, how many other manufactures offer an enduro bike (or dirtbike, for that matter) with 5-Titanium Valves that rip the hell out of whatever terrain you're on up to 11,000 rpm? Not one. This bike is a streamlined locomotive. It has so much torque, it just blows my mind! This little honey doesn't throw grass and rocks, it launches boulders, sedans, oak trees, small children, and unwanted in-laws into the next zipcode. Everything is 'space-age' on this crotch-rocket for the dirt. From Renthal bars, to Kayaba springs, this bad-dad has got it all. I recommend it to anyone out there looking to have a killer good time. CONSIDER YOURSELF WARNED: USE THROTTLE CONTROL! YOU CANNOT 'TWIST FREELY' ALL OF THE TIME! IT WILL BUCK YOU OFF, AND YOUR WILL BREAK BONES! JUST RESPECT IT, AND IT WILL RESPECT YOU! I can handle this bike very well. I have been riding for seven years, and have riden on all sorts of terrain, and bikes (PW80, XR100, TT-R125L, KX85, KX100, CR125, RM125, YZ125, YZ250, CRF250X, CRF250R, DRZ400E, WR426F, CRF450R). This is the most powerful and amazing bike that I have ever rode.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Leonard VanHoose

Stanfield, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2006-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have always rode green 2-strokes until this year. I bought my WR-450 and it's the best thing that I could have done. It's awesome, more power than I will ever need and it handles great, even in the confines of single track. I was leary about the single track, but it just tractors on through! Hill climbs are merely trails that I run over, no problem!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Foster

Elk River, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Right behind my house. What an awesome bike! I cannot say enough good things. After you do the free mods, this is insane. It is my first brand new bike and first 4-stroke ever. I am so excited about it. I love it. I would recommend it to anybody. By far the best bike I have ever ridden.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Butte, Montana

Reviewed on 2006-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Wow, did the free mods, including modifying the pipe and added a Storm adjustable fuel mix screw and jetting and when you pull the trigger on this machine you better be ready because its going to be in a different zip code fast! Can't say enough about Yamaha quality and power. Highly recommend!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

harleysdad

henderson, Nevada

Reviewed on 2005-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a mountian biker lured by the dark side. I had ridden a few bikes prior to this, but what a ride turned out to be. I ride technical single track, open mx style trails and some of the "best of the desert" sections. This bike is truely awesome. It climbs everything I point it up (I usually run a gear or so tall), skims the tops or jump every other "whoop", work my way down seriously steep to vertical sketchy downhills, or jump off 6-10' embankments. The bike is far better than I am. The "e" button has saved me numerous times when I have found myself in a precarious spot. I know there are other bikes out there that may be as good, but I must say, I have not found them yet, and all of my friends who ride KTM's and Hondas can't believe the performance and reliability of this WR. I must say that the suspension change made the biggest change of all mods. I'm prob 230-240 with all the gear on. The springs and valving made the bike truly responsive and apt at lugging my big butt around. Oh yeah, Did I mention that it has enough power to pull the front wheel off the ground at any time...well any time under say 50mph.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brett McGlothlin

Highlands Ranch, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After having not ridden bikes for the past few years I picked up this bike and from the beginning I was amazed by how well it rode. After doing all of my free mods it was absolutely unbelievable. I ride at roughly 8000ft and have yet to jet the carb and it still runs with unbelievable power. The handling is unreal and the bike is incredibly responsive. I would deffinately recommend this bike to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DOUG W WILSON SR

MILLVILLE, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2005-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
STILL LOVE THIS BIKE! DRAG RACED MY BROTHER ON HIS YZ450F (ABOUT AN EIGHTH MILE) ON WET SAND, HIS WAS QUICKER OFF THE LINE BUT THAT WAS IT. ONCE THE RPM'S WERE UP, I KEPT RIGHT UP. HIS IS STOCK. I HAVE AN AFTER MARKET PIPE. FMF WITH POWERBOMB HEAD PIPE. A PAIR OF MOOSE SAHARA SKINS HELPED WITH MONKEY BUTT. THE ACCELERATOR PUMP COVER WAS NOT ON AT THE TIME OF THE RACE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Clackamas, Oregon

Reviewed on 2005-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I almost went KTM this year, tired of top heavy and porky WRs. But, I gave the '05 WR450 a shot and I'm glad I did. Slim and much, much more flickable than previous model years. And, the e-button is a welcome addition as is the more direct front break line routing. The '05 WR450 is a great single track machine as well as a good dual sport platform. Uncork the jetting, add the shorter throttle stop and this bike rips!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 33 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: