Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

paul vonk

Ontario

Reviewed on 2021-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Aa phenomenal. Machine genesis 5 valves of 90hp.they got their act together on point. Itss really does rev your heart. Its a blast from the past built to last aa nd very fast 0-100 in 3.3secondds. The style is very cool people who have owned this wisshh thhey hhaad it back. Its held its own aas it maintains its throne. Dont try to clone
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

lynette campbell

san pablo, California

Reviewed on 2004-01-25

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 85 maxim recently from a gentleman that had it sitting in his yard for over 10 years, and it starts everytime! Never seems to fail me, and if well maintained I think she could go another 10 years! Poweful bike! 'Lotta spunk! I love mine, and I won't ever part with it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kelly

st.croix falls, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2004-01-08

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is the nicest bike I have ever owned, the only problem is hard to find parts. Mine has 3800 miles on it and the only thing I want is a factory backrest. Otherwise the bike is fast, comfy everything I want!!! A+++++
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Farrington

Franklinville, New York

Reviewed on 2004-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased one of the 1985 Yamaha 700's new of course in 1985 and it still look's to be brand new. All I have done to it is put some higher bars on it because I have short arms. It has always been garaged and never been misused. The great thing about it is it has never leaked a drop of oil which also has been well maintained. Oh I did install some meg mufflers on it because I couldn't find the origional mufflers after they had burned through. It has only 15,000 miles on it at this time. What a great little bike with a lot of heart!!!!Any one owning one knows what I mean. If you had 10 stars I would give it a ten!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

P Hermans

EDE, Netherlands

Reviewed on 2003-11-26

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I did fall for her looks. Red, and the type of custom model I like: not too stretched. Handling is good for a custom. The front fork is a bit weak in the response, but I use another fork-oil now (thicker) and that helps. Never fails in starting even when its freezing. Second reason why I like it because it doesn't need any chain lubrication... The bike is of 1985 and for this kind of age it looks...er... say good enough for me!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

IRONMAN

Jackson, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2003-11-21

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I hade one. Bought it in 1987 but it was new. This machine has a high tech whistleing sound to it's powerful engine. I have not driven a finer machine. It has medium torque at mid range, but get those RPM's to the lowe high range and hang the freak on. 11.2:1 compression means power. With 6 close ratio gears, it's s crotch rocket of beauty and style. This is one of the fines motorcycles ever made.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andre

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviewed on 2003-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my first " X" 3 years ago. It's a great bike to ride. As long as you keep the tachometer under 6000 rpm, it's a normal bike. But exeeding the 6000rpm the beast inside wakes up and you feel like taking off in a plane. I love this bike so much that I bought a second one after the first one had a blown engine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg Clausen

Nanaimo Canada, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2003-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This machine is amazing. All the performance of a FZ and all the style of a cruiser. To me this is the epitome of form, function, and speed. I will never sell this bike. ( Maybe for a v-max someday ) the handling is great. looks great, reliable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MrDicB

Ft Walton Beack, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-03-06

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've recently discovered some background info on the 85/86 Maxim 700. This came from reliable dealership staff, but if someone told me it was bull I'd be okay with that too! Anyway... Apparently for the 1985 model year the U.S. imposed an embargo on foreign made (maybe Japanese only) motorcycles imported into the U.S. to boost the ailing American Harley Davidson Motorcycle company. This embargo charged heavy tariffs on all imported bikes above 700 cc's. Yamaha, in an effort to keep sales up and avoid excess taxation, downsized the XJ750 and came up with the XJ700N. It had many of the same features of it's slightly larger cousin but did not exceed the 700 cc limit. In late 1986, U.S. Courts rules the embargo illegal and cancelled it. This is why the Maxim 700 was only available in 85 and 86. Owners of Maxim 700's now sort of own a piece of U.S. Legal history, and a "limited edition" (so to speak) bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ARTIE NY

NEW YORK, New York

Reviewed on 2003-01-01

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I REALLY LOVED MY XJ700, HAVING BOUGHT IT USED AND RIDING OVER 20,000 MILES IN THE PAST FIVE OR SO YEARS. THE BRIGHT RED METALLIC PAINT GOT LOTS OF LOOKS FROM BOTH THE SIDEWALK CROWD AND OTHER RIDERS ALIKE. A GREAT ALL AROUND RIDE, I WAS SAD TO SELL IT THIS PAST FALL. IF YAMAHA (OR ANY OF THE OTHER BIG 4 MAKERS) MADE A SIMILIAR CRUISER WITH COMPARABLE FEATURES, I WOULD GO OUT AND BUY IT RIGHT AWAY. THE XJ700 HAD DUAL FRONT ROTOR STOPPING POWER, LOW CENTER OF GRAVITY WITH GOOD BALANCE, RESPONSIVE HANDLING, A MAINTENENCE FREE DRIVE SHAFT, PLENTY OF TORQUE FROM THE INLINE 4 CLY ENGINE, AND GREAT GET-UP AND GO POWER! THIS BIKE WOULD START EVERY DAY WITHOUT COAXING, EVEN IN THE COLDEST WEATHER. IT HAD A COMFORTABLE STRAIGHT UP RIDING POSITION WITH A VERY COMFORTABLE STOCK SEAT (AND A PLEASANT PASSENGER PILLION AS WELL). REGRETFULLY WAS FORCED TO SAY GOODBY TO MY OLD FRIEND WHEN I BEGAN TO ENCOUNTER (EXPENSIVE LOOKING) PROBLEMS WITH MISSED SHIFTS (1ST TO 2ND) AND JUMPING OUT OF GEAR. I FINALLY FOUND A DECENT REPLACEMENT IN A USED TRIUMPH THUNDERBIRD TRIPLE; BUT THATS ANOTHER REVIEW. RIDE FREE - RIDE SAFE
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: