Yamaha XT225 Motorcycles Reviews (53)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha XT225 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha XT225 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-12 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The lil' XT is a great dualie as a commuter/off road bike (not highway or rush traffic, mine will do 74 mph. but I weigh 210 pounds). The bike has a nice low seat position (I have a 30" inseam and I can touch both feet on the ground with some to spare). The 6th gear is great on level grounds (but is very tall and will pull it down on inclines). It has electric start (you can get a kick start for this bike for about $130, but it is extremely cold natured). You can take twisties with ease (with the right tires). The bike is a ton of fun to ride even though acceleration is slow (about 8 seconds 0-60 on tarmac and very sluggish after 60). With all that said, this is an excellent bike, and I couldn't imagine not having it (my pure street bike is a CB750). Bear in mind that it's not a KLR650, it is a 225. If you don't hit interstates or have to maintain 55 or higher going up mountains, and you are inseam impaired, this is an excelent lil' dualie. Off road there aren't any complaints. In fact it's light weight and its manuverability are why I bought it in the first place, but soon realized I was driving it more than the CB750 on the street as well. I highly recomend this little bike to anyone.
- Dwayne H., Milledgeville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-05 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought mine (06) this weekend and it's about 40 degrees out. I've got to admit that these little 4-strokes are a pain to crank. It's taking about 30 seconds on the starter, when they're cold. I expect to choke it in cold weather for at least five minutes. So far in the past two days I've put 80 miles on this bike. After it's warmed up, it starts right up really quick, with just a bump on the starter. I've found it has ample power, but in 6th with my big butt on it, it struggles climbing inclines. But that's fine and was expected for a little 17 hp., 225. I'm short legged so it was a tossup between this and a DR200SE, and I'm proud I bought this one. Riding through the woods and logging roads this little bike shines. It has plenty of power for those 30-foot, 30-degree inclines and great clearance for riding over downed trees. The seat is a little hard for a dual sport, but I guess that's because it's staying true to its dirt bike heritage. On tarmac it corners very well, even with the New Pirelli Scorpions, which grips extremely well in sand and leaves - not so well in realy slick mud and clay since they clog easily. If it was warmer out I would trust the starting on this bike a lot more, but right now it's too cold for riding this bike anyways. I just got a good winter deal saving a lot of $$$. As far as quality,this engine has been around for a while and is considered to be bulletproof, with quick easy shim-less valve adjustments, and just all around foolproof. The tranny shifts great but at times it's hard to get that 1/2 shift into neutral. That could just be me. It's a Yamaha and it would be hard to beat if you're vertically inclined, and want quality, and durability in an easy to fit package.
- Dwayne, Gordon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-12 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned bikes most of my life. Usually big CC Kawasaki's. I bought this bike for basic transportation. But in the first 10 months due to job circumstances I've ridden this bike from Michigan to Miami (1550 miles) then 4 months later left Miami for Nogales, Az but took a tour through Mexico. In that trip I put 5,150 miles on it in 18 days. (3,300 in Mexico) I just love this bike! Is it fast? No! I never run this bike hard. That isn't what I bought it for. I usually cruse 50-60 MPH down the freeway and let people pass me. I've gotten as high as 93 MPG ridding 50-55 MPH with 50 lbs of lugagge on a rack in back) I get 80 MPG consistantly with 2 people on it. (GF 125 lbs) The secret to getting high gas mileage is to NEVER wind this bike out going through the gears. This bike has plenty of tourque and I ride it like an old woman going through the gears. With over 16,000 miles in 10 months, I feel this bike will run 50,000+ miles with no problems. Actually I want to see if I can get 100K out of it. If you're looking for a bike to go fast, then get a fast bike. If you're looking for a bike that's light, great handling, and GREAT on gas, this is it!! I've never enjoyed a bike more than this one. But, I'm 54 years old and not in any hurry any more.
- Dennis, New Richmond, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-29 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my XT225 for almost 2 years. I have been riding for over 35 years and did a lot of research when I purchased this motorcycle. I wanted a trail capable machine that was highway legal, light and reliable. The XT225 is all of these things. Other than oil changes and one new spark plug, this motorcycle has required no maintenance. I use it to commute within town and it always delivers at least 75 MPG. This is not a machine for someone that wants to ride 70+ MPH. This is a motorcycle that is excellent in tough trail conditions with a close ratio 6 speed transmission with plenty of torque. It has pulled my middle aged overweight carcass over some incredibly tough terrain here in eastern Oregon. If you are looking for a motorcycle to ride the backroads, offroad, and 60 MPH or less commuting, this is your machine. Do not be put off by the 223cc displacement. The XT225 has been used by tourers all over the world and has been used on some incredible cross continent trips.
- inuvik, Hines, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-22 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked this bike up pretty much new from a local mom and pop bike shop. It only had 700 miles on it and it was affordable, so I couldn't resist. I never had a motorcycle before and the owner said it was a good beginner bike. After riding it home, I agree with him. This bike is soooooo cool and handles excellently! Last weekend I took it up to my cottage and it handles even better off road. I always tell my friends it's a street legal dirt bike with some motorcycle mixed in, and that's exactly what is. You also have plenty of room on the seat. It fits two people perfectly and the shocks absorb EVERYTHING! My neighbor who has three motorcycles and even more up at his cabin is even a little jealous. When my dad (I'm 18 and still living at home) called my mom at work to see if it was okay with her to buy it, we stepped away from the bike for a second and another customer walked in and started eyeing up the bike. So right then and there I put a down payment on it before my mom picked up her work phone. So if you see one of these wonderful bikes on sale, grab it then and there! You will never be sorry with these bikes. They also hold their value VERY well!
- Scorpia, Green bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-27 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It runs smooth, is easy to handle and looks great. This bike gets great gas mileage. It doesn't hurt the wallet when you fill it up. I put a luggage rack on the back just to carry light loads.
- Timothy J Dryer, Chandler, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-05 1999 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is actually the first bike I have ever ridden. So light and easy to ride. I wanted something to save me money going to and from work 10 miles instead of my big truck. $4 a week in gas instead of $70. It is not a big bike but it will get up and move. I have hit 75 on the highway and it is right at home on the street or in the dirt. Great starter bike.
- Fletch, St. Charles, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-02 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey I love these bikes so much I bought two of them two months apart one for me and the other for my son to run around on his Army base with. Traded in my 2005 Yamaha FZ-6 with only 3018 miles on it for the last one key for key. It's just to hard to ride a fast bike slow and a slow bike fast, so now I got the best of both worlds, plus a good off roader to boot! My insurance is only $76 bucks a year on the two of them, and with the gas price of three bucks a pop, the 70 to 80 miles a gallon I'm getting is great, and I go about 22 miles a day to work one way, at around 75 miles and hour, and the cops don't even look at you. They stopped me all the time on the 600. So if you're looking for the very best all around bike stop looking and get this one!
- Dave, Wills Point, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-06 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have a 2003 that is still going. Recently got a job closer to home and now commute with this bike. It gets 70 to 85 MPG depending on how far I go with it. It can walk away from most cagers without a doubt. I wish they made a 500 version so that I could take my wife with me on rides. The 225 is a bit too small for two-up riding, but is great solo!
- Speed, Leesburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-19 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the bike 4 weeks ago. I got the 2006 for the color all blue. So far she rides like the wind. The dealer said it would go about 70mph; they are wrong, I got it up to 95mph. The bike is too light to keep that speed but it's nice to know you can wail on it. I will use my racing bike for that speed. It rides great for the street and dirt. I tried both - it's just fun and it feels great. The best thing I like is it's not tall like an off street dirt bike. Oh buy the way, it was new.
- Kirk simon, bellmore, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-15 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got an 07 tonight. Rode it a nice and easy ten miles. It handles very nice and it is a light bike. Ride is smoother than I expected with my daughter on back (118#). I will be adding upgrades and hope to add to this review soon.
- Robert Mareches, Bloomdale, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-14 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased this bike about 3 weeks ago, it is a left over 2006 but was brand new. I've been riding for many years but mostly street bikes. This is my first dual-sport in 35 years. Previously I had a 2-stoke 175 which had much more power than this Yamaha. The bike is very satisfactory if you don't need or want to go over 55mph. For trail riding, it is fine and has a very low first gear which is great in the dirt. The seat is comfortable for short rides but gets hard after about 50 miles. Gas mileage is very good, I've been getting about 75-80mpg so with the 2 gallon tank you could go about 150 miles if your butt could take it. After saying all this, I must say I am ready to trade it in for something with more power such as a Suzuki 400. The problem is the Yamaha is so nice and light and handles like a dream and the Suzuki is quite a bit heavier. I just wish the Yamaha could comfortably cruise at 65 on the highway(maybe when it's completely broken in or with someone lighter in weight).
- Pete Fetzer, Peoria, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-17 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought XT225 used with 2000km. A perfect bike for me. My last bike was a Suzuki TS 185 in 1979. I wanted something light and easy to handle for off road and short runs to work and the cabin. Very pleased so far. Negatives: the seat is hard but after riding it for awhile the old backside toughens up. Also hard to start after been laid up for awhile. Especially if it is cold. However, a shot of quick start after taking out the plug gets it going in no time. Overal, I'm pleased.
- b matthews, gander

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-04 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Commuting: Most of the time I spend on the XT225 is commuting through a fairly busy city with lots of intersections and roundabouts. Right from the start, I have been impressed with how nimble and maneuverable the bike is. It handles the corners around town with no problems and I am constantly reminded as to why I love Enduro bikes. The upright seating posture affords great visibility in traffic and the light weight of the bike makes parking and low speed maneuvering a breeze. Touring: I have to admit that prior to getting the XT, I had a certain preconception that a 250 or smaller would not be up to the rigours of long distance tours for a long time and that I would be pushing its limits too much. A trip from Hamilton to Waiouru on familiar but challenging roads - very steep hills climbing to the Central Plateau near Mt Ruapehu - changed my mind about the XT225 by convincing me that it was up to the rigours after all - more so than my old LS400, in fact. I had expected that the little 225 would be lagging behind my friends' more powerful bikes (750cc and 800cc) on the steep hills, especially around the Central Plateau. To my great surprise, the XT225 climbed the steep roads around the central plateau at 100km/h in sixth gear and nothing seemed to slow it down, including hilly stretches of road that had reduced the LS400 to 80km/h. I had no difficulty keeping up with the larger bikes after all. The agility I had noticed at lower speeds when commuting was still there at 100km/h on the winding mountain roads and there always seemed to be enough left in the throttle to power around the corners - certainly a lot more than the LS400 had. In my assessment, the XT is more than adequate to climb steep hills and maintain the open road limit for extended periods and its performance (not its top speed) is favourably comparable with far larger bikes. The XT225 is not capable of much more than 120km/h - making it unsuitable for riding on the Autobahn or similar but that just means you ride the slower, and probably more picturesque, roads at a pace more conducive to enjoying the scenery. For my style of open road touring (not desiring to exceed the legal limit) the XT is a great choice. Adventure Riding: The go anywhere factor. As an Enduro, the XT is designed to handle conditions far more rugged than any road designed to accommodate cars, no matter how rutted and gravel-strewn. I feel quite confident I could tour anywhere on the XT225 and take any road or trail that I fancy. Comfort: A frequent complaint about the XT225 is that the seat is not particularly comfortable on long journeys and this is true. A more comfortable seat would be good in many respects but it could also be argued that the pain in the posterior is a good cue to stop, look around, take in the scenery and pause to reflect on where you've been. Personally, I would get work done on the seat to make it more comfortable. Summary: I have often described the XT225 as one of the best bikes I've ever ridden on the road - with a more comfortable seat it would be the best bike I've ever ridden on the road. Fitted with a centre stand (to facilitate road-side maintenance) and proper racks to secure a load, it would be the perfect tourer - light, nimble, economical, goes anywhere. Whether you want a commuter, an off-roader, a tourer or an adventure bike, the XT225 fits the bill.
- Jon Tocker, Hamilton, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-28 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like the bike but I drive at highway speeds quite a bit so I think it could use a bit more power. No reliability issues so far but it's still fairly new. Downshifting to 1st can be a bit of a problem when new it gets stuck in neutral but that seems to happen less frequently now that I'm getting the bike broken in.
- Ernie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-25 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For all around riding for riders short in inseam, the XT225 is the best bike available. Even for tall riders, fat riders, and skinny riders, the XT225 is still a great motorcycle for off road riding and touring if you are not into comfort, as in a Gold Wing, and high speeds. There is also a very large fun factor to riding this bike. Rock solid reliability. The only negative is cold starting in the winter. Keep it covered and there is no problem. There are many cures for this problem.
- T. Wilson, Leesburg

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-29 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my xt the first day of august 2005. I an order in for it and was waiting. It's not like it's my first bike but it is the first bike I have had of this type in many years. Many people still call this type of motorcycle an enduro, probably because that is what they were called originally back in the late 60s early 70s. Anyway, mine does exactly what it was designed to do, for its size type and horsepower. It goes on the highway as well as down dirt roads (not an all out off road cycle). It is a good compromise considering that no one motorcycle can do it all. Good value for the dollar.
- Mark Griffith, Farmington, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-07 2002 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 20 years experience as a motorcycle rider and I must say that this bike is the one I enjoyed the most. Got it used in spring 2005. Reliability has been excellent. Only problem with this bike is starting it in cold condition but can be cured with some work on the carburetor. Performance is good, you have to recall that it is still only a 225cc engine, it's not a 650cc. Comfort is okay for a dual purpose bike, but on the long runs, your butt will hurt. Quality overall of the bike is excellent. Maintenance is very easy to do also. For me it is one of the best "bang for the buck" bikes out there. Very fun to drive, either on the streets or dirt. Life is all about compromise and the XT225 is one of the best in this department.
- Jon, Quebec, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-06 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike brand new approx. one month ago. Choosing to upgrade from a 50cc Zuma scooter to this machine was a great investment. Too many guys start out on 600cc and 1000cc sportbikes and end up downing them in the first week (I have witnessed this twice with friends). The XT is ultra light and has a high ground clearance. The center of gravity is higher than a conventional streetbike. Shifting is a cake. I often tell people that it handles like a bicycle. As for reliability, the only bad thing is when starting up and heading out in the early morning. I will usually allow three to five minutes idle with full choke, and the bike still jerks down the road for a few seconds until warmed up. At the end of the day though, I have no difficulty with aspiration. I have yet to experience riding the bike in the snow. My gas mileage ranges anywhere from 65-75 mpg depending on acceleration, shift patterns, fuel, etc. If stunts are what you are in to, the XT225 will get up on one for a second or two but will quickly drop unless the weight is shifted all the way to the back. Anyway, this is the first dual-sport I have ridden, and I will enjoy riding it for a very long time. :)
- Dan Weidner, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding dual purpose bikes since 1972 because I love them. Short trips around town or exploring off-road, they can't be beat. This bike is the best one I have owned. If you shut off the fuelcock before you shut off the engine (draining the bowl), it will start right up the next time you go for a ride. I get around 85 mpg around town (slightly less off-road). I wish it had a back-up kick starter, but have not needed it so far.
- Dr. Chandler, Mount Dora, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used from a friend for $900 about 3 years ago and have changed and replaced the normal stuff (clutch, handlebars, oil, plugs)... The only persistent problem is the oil gets excessively dirty in a hurry and needs to be changed more often than it should. I took the baffle out of the exhaust which caused the machine to run hot and subsequently resulted in my having it jetted up to compensate for the lean-ness. The starter has been great and very reliable. The performace is good for a 225 (223, actually) with wheelies easily attainable in 3 gears (although you have to yank on it in 3rd). I wish there was a replacement exhaust for performance upgrade. The headlight sometimes flickers and stoppies are near impossible without pushing forward dangerously due to the skinny front tire. Top speed is 67 on mine so yeah, it leaves something to be desired in that arena, but it smokes from 0 to 67 (although I don't weigh very much either). Get someone riding on it with you and it's a different story though. Overall a great value with parts easily available from nearly any dealer, and most mechanics seems to be able to work on this bike without any problems. Highly recommended.
- DePorter, John A., Rock Island, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-26 2002 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a 1973 Suzuki TS100 and a 1976 Suzuki RM125, and then went almost 25 years without a bike. I purchased my XT225 new in 2002. If you just want a light, fun to ride, reliable, and capable trail and dual sport bike, it is hard to do better. To me, this bike is the modern day version of the early seventies Japanese enduros (TS, DT, XL, etc.) except with better suspension. I ride on side streets in southeast Michigan, and have also had my bike in the trails of northern Michigan. I have climbed some pretty steep hills, and there was no drama involved--just sit a bit forward and twist the gas. The bike just scampered right up the hills. It is not a motocross bike and is not made for jumping or riding at speed through whoops, but for trail riding and dual sport riding, it is excellent. If you search the used bike ads, you will not find many XT225s for sale, and there is a reason that people tend to hold on to them. I have had many compliments on the appearance of my stock XT225, and the craftsmanship on the XT225 is excellent. The one upgrade that I am considering is a change to Pirelli MT21 tires, since northern Michigan is mostly sand. If you do a search on the Internet by typing "250 Serow", you will find that Yamaha has just updated the XT225 for the Japanese market. Not sure how long it will take for this new version to reach the U.S. market, but it will definitely have some big shoes to fill. Good luck in choosing a bike.
- Tom, T, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-27 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think yamaha made a winner, this 2006 model is excellent, it is a smooth and good running bike, and they made an improvement from the 2005 model,(color). I will enjoy this motorcycle for years to come, Thanks Yamaha.
- loni, Curtice, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. After reading reviews and looking at all the options for a dual sport motorcycle, I decided on the XT. I am really glad I did. It has plenty of power for what I need. It's light weight,incredibly nimble on the trail and has a broad range of power that enables it to reach highway speeds (75 to 80). Although this is not a bike for highway travel. It's not as stable at high speeds as a heavier bike designed for the highway. It's better for someone who likes trail riding and enjoy's taking rides around town. You can hit a berm in the dirt and it's suspension soaks up pot holes and smaller jumps with ease. It handles well and is very reliable. Get the chromed out, show off, big $$ bike out of your head and have some fun. Rid yourself of the ego and get one. It's the most fun you can have on two wheels.
- Chris Chandler, Cooper City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-15 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think it is a terrific bike. I am using it to get back and forth to work and if I see a trail I can just go. I get about 73 mpg and have run it 60-65 mph don't want to run it to hard until it is broken in but I think it is perfect!!!!
- vince Schweiger, Siletz, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: