Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha YZ125 reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

83 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Nick R

Fort dodge, Iowa

Reviewed on 2012-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike absolutely rips. It shuts down all other 125's and can keep the 250's easy!! Buy it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jhon

seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2011-12-27

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike flows and jumps beautiful. It goes up hill, climbs like a dream and is reliable. I went up a 75 degree slope. Its engine runs clean and like a dream. This is the best bike for 11-to-12-year-olds and it's freaky fast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mason Holloway

Elberta, Alabama

Reviewed on 2010-12-27

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My bike is a 2001 YZ125. She's the best investment I've ever made. She has just the right amount of power and is the most comfortable thing I have ever sat on. I'll never give her up until the wheels fall off and the frame is rusted in two. I love Yamaha. Yamaha is the best there is, no question about it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim

Wells, Maine

Reviewed on 2010-12-02

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought this bike for $800 off a friend, and I've only gotten to ride it two or three times because it's so cold, but this thing rips. It rails pretty much any other bike out there and I love it. It starts right up first or second kick and handles just as well as my 2010 KX250F I love the clutch on it for some reason. The only thing I don't really like is how you have to turn off the gas petcock before you shut off the bike or it will flood instantly and won't start. I've never heard of this before but I don't think I have ever turned off the gas on any of my other bikes and had a problem with it. But overall, I love this bike. I just wish I could race it in my local series but I can't because it's bored. Overall, it's well worth the $800 I paid for it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ROB

CYPRESS, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-10-09

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the best bike I've ever owned! I bought it and rode it that day. The last bike I had was a 2003 YZF450. The two strokes are the best if you're not trying to be a pro. There is a fun factor.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zach

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2009-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently bought this bike from my friend. It was a steal. Complete bike - all it needed was a new piston and fork seals. My friends thought it would suck because I got it for so cheap. I got it running and have never ridden something that fast. I got on my yz250f and that bike just seemed like a pile compared to the yz125. I couldn't even believe I ever went fast on my 250 compared to it. Hands down the most fun I have ever had with a bike. The only thing I don't like is that I don't know if I should keep my 250 now!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brad K

United States

Reviewed on 2009-06-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is one of the best bikes I've ever ridden. Handles great, rides great, there's nothing I would say bad about this bike. This bike is AWESOME!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Russell

Carlsbad, California

Reviewed on 2009-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First off I absolutely LOVE this bike. It has quick acceleration, is extremely lightweight and it is just overall fun to ride. I love how it has a 6-speed transmission, it makes the riding more fun. For a two stroke the power band is real smooth, I was surprised after I rode an older YZ. It has excellent high end torque and it is realitively cheap. HOWEVER...I have had one potentially major issues with the bike but it is preventable. I had to spend several months diagnosing and repairing the bike with my dad and it involved splitting the crankcase. Apparently, about 50% of all 2005 and earlier YZ125's have an issue with how the shift stopper lever is designed. There is a bearing on the end of it that tends to fall apart and pieces can go into the transmission and because the bearing is absent, you cannot shift out of whatever gear you were in. But, fortunately for under 30 bucks I'd estimate you can easily prevent the problem and save yourself $500 if you fix it yourself or easily $1000 if you take it into a shop. All you have to do is buy the redesigned stopper lever from Yamaha and assembly is fairly easy if you have the manual. The actual process involves just removing the side cover, taking out the clutch basket, and swapping out the stopper levers. Dont forget to buy a new gasket. So with the proper tools (including the manual) and a little bit of work you can prevent the only issue I have with this bike. Overall it is a dream to ride and a wonderful step up bike. Buy one if you're looking for a 125.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andrew B. Cameron

Port Angeles, Washington

Reviewed on 2009-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Wow, what can I say? Due to the economy bikes are cheap! Great deal. Want to know why? Because this bike has like 5 hours on it. I checked the pegs, zero wear. Gear shifter lever, zero wear. Grips do have wear but when dont they after riding it for 5 hours? Sprokets, zero! So I basicly get this bike stock but with a few amps like new pipe and exhaust. So I ride it for three hours and even though I'm small for 14 I can really cope with this bike! Plenty of power. Adjusted the suspension perfectly for me and all of a sudden jumps aren't as scary as they were on my cr85. This bike was amazing right off the bat. All I really had to do was drain the gas and change the tranny fluid (cause it was sitting around for 7 months.) I always knew Yamaha had the best 125 but they REALLY have it dialed. Great job Yamaha. If you're contemplating going out to buy a Yammy 125 just do it already. 2-smokes are the funnest thing you will ride and they will keep up with 250f's.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Urmston

montgomery, New York

Reviewed on 2007-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZ125

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Yamaha lately has been putting out clutch performance bikes. The YZ 125 is the leader in best bike for the 125 class. I moved up from a Honda CRF100 to this and at first I thought it had too much power, but trust me, after a week of riding I was ripping. It has a good amount of low-mid end power per gear. It always starts right up. So far it's been a very durable bike, no problems. Of course it is a race bike and it won't be as comfortable as a crusier, but it'll do. If you're looking for a: fast, durable, reliable, high quality, and over all fun bike, this has your name on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 83 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: