Yamaha YZ250 Motorcycles Reviews (50)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ250 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZ250 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-25 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall the bike is amazing. The power that comes out of it is extraordinary, and the 4 strokes can't compare at all. The back suspension is perfect, nice and soft, not a worry on the big jumps. The front suspension is a big stiff, but it's fixable. It's a fairly reliable bike, usually starts first or second kick every time and there's plenty of compression. I rode a mate's 2007 KTM SX-F250, and the power that that bike produces is absolutely horrible compared to the YZ. It's a perfect bike for racing. I usually ride in the forestry, and it's perfect for out there. The bike can usually get a top speed of about 150km./h., but obviously the bike isn't meant for long straights. It's got plenty of power for all the corners and the tight tracks. Overall, it's a 5-star bike. I'll never be upgrading.
- Matt Robson, Gympie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-28 2010 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2007 450 but I really missed the fun of a two stroke. Now that I have both bikes, I don't race the 450 as much as I used to. This bike is too much fun, it rails the corners, it's light and is easy maintenance. My son was racing a 250F but now he prefers dad's 250 two stroke. The two stroke is definitely not dead and, thanks to Yamaha, I can still fill my need for a real MX bike.
- Tuff Guy, La Plata, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-17 2010 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third YZ250 in the last eight years, and I had two YZ125's before. I am totally sold on Yamaha 2 strokes' reliability, broad power band, flickability, overall they are the do-all package. They have been bullet proof, and cheap to maintain. I've had a couple other brands before these, and nothing has compared to the overall joy of owning and riding a YZ 2-strokes.
- Josh Blue, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-27 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sweet powerband, awesome suspension, and extremely lightweeight compared to the four strokes. Great job Yamaha!
- Johnboy, Agat, Guam

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-30 2003 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
GET THIS BIKE! I absolutely love it and I consider myself a 4 stroke guy. This bike is crazy. Bottom line, ridiculous. Has been ripped out of my hands before, it's just that strong. Yamaha is renowned for terrible bottom but amazing mid and top. It has alright bottom, AMAZING mid and pretty good top. Make sure you grab the next gear once it starts to fall flat otherwise you will get thrown over the bars. Chug and lug or ride it like Stewart and it will still go fast. Pulled holeshots over 450s and 250fs all day. It just falls into corners wanting to get out of the corner fast and very smooth and down the next straight. Handles like a 125 but has the power of a dragster. Loves to be whipped, it was made to whip. The forks are a little harsh and bottom quite a bit but need the compression to be turned out a few clicks. Shock is pretty good, not bad. The chassis is not as good as my 04 crf250r but the motor make up. It packs the heaviest hitting motor I've ever ridden and I've swung legs over 450s and 700 quads. It's sometimes uncontrollable and I love it. I'll be putting V-Forces on it for more bottom and mid for the trails. All in all, buy this bike, will not be disappointed. Honestly, greatest all around bike, trails, freeriding, racing. No problem, bring it on, the bike will just eat it up
- Luca Casinelli, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-05 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Couldn't be happier with this bike. Suspension is firm and hooks up well out of turns. Power delivery is phenomenal. Loads in mid-range and top-end of torque spectrum. Very reliable. All parts and components have held up well...just a top-end change every 40-50 hours or so.
- Todd Henry, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-07 2003 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for a little over a year now and this bike is amazing. I can jump it as high as I want to. Sometimes a little too high. It has the power to bring the front tire off the ground in every gear. I'll race people at local parks and everyone thinks I'm crazy just because I'll ride wheelies doing well over 80 mph for miles. The bike has a lot of power but it is easy to control. I'm not really good at MX, but when it comes to Enduros, no one can catch me. The suspension of this bike lets me hit roots, rocks and bumps wide open and hardly feel them. The only downside of this bike is that I wish it had a little bit more on the top end. A stock YZ250 will probably do 70 mph. I have mine geared to probably reach 85-90. I would like to hit the 110-120 range. But that's the only downside to the bike.
- scott, Gainesville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2007 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a 2 stroke holdout I was apprehensive about buying another YZ250, man am I glad I did. This bike is raw power and handling off the showroom floor. With very little tweaking and setup my YZ was holding it's own with other modified racers. I'm over 40 now but still stupid enough to ride MX every now and again. On the track, all go and what a suspension, eats up the whole track. No front end push like previous models, balanced in the air and turns on a dime. This bike is awesome.
- Ed Huffine, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2007 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has to be the best so far. Great horsepower, super suspension, just a great bike overall. Set this bike up for Hare Scramble/Enduro.
- Rbeckett, Bronson, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-10 2002 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in January 2003 and other than upgrades and a top end once a year, I've had absolutely no problems from this bike. I piss a lot of people off with this bike because it pulls out of the hole like a tractor and will rev to the moon on the top side. There isn't a hill I can't climb with it or a jump I can't clear with it. It has NEVER failed to start on the first kick and never complained about my fat butt abusing it. You would come closer to getting my wife than this bike from me. And the best part is I can put a top end in it for 120.00 verses several hundred to do it on a 4 stroke.
- Jeff Greer, Quinton , Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-27 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding Yamahas for the past 10 years, so I'm loyal. Yamaha has been winning Bike of the Year, for many of their models, and I can see why, based on my experience. They have been fast, fun, and reliable. I just sold my '02 YZ250 and bought an '06 of the same model. I've ridden a bunch of different 4 Strokes, and I still love a 2 stroke! They're lighter and couldn't be easier to work on. I've never had any mechanical problems with any of them. The '06 was the second year of the aluminum frame, and the first year of Yamaha's new SSS suspension which has been named by several magazines as The best stock suspension of any bike, and race ready. I love it! It's WAY better than the '02, which wasn't bad.
- SylverBullit, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-15 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my first bike at the age of five and rode hand me downs since that age. I had been riding an old 250 up until about 6 months ago when I bought my 07 YZ 250. All I have to say is that it's by far the greatest bike I've ever owned. The quality of the materials along with the ridiculous power makes me smile every time I ride. The only downside to a bike of this caliber, since I do not race, is that it requires the best of everything. Do not buy this bike if you like to cheap out because it is a performance machine. It eats gas too, minor complaint. Other than that, I would tell anyone to buy it.
- DM, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-13 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has excellent handling. The power is top notch. Right off from idling to top end, it pulls like a beast. I've had a 94 CR500, and this will definitely pull much more.
- Dave, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-17 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 2006 YZ250F and bought it after riding 125s and some 250 2 strokes over 30 years. I figured everyone was gushing over them, and they must be great. The 250F was fun in some ways, but I never felt confident on the bike. It did not turn, despite getting the Dubach kit, and I was always saving my pennies for the day it blew its guts. My lap times were slower on it than I was on my 2004 YZ125. My son wanted a 2 stroke YZ250 so I bought this bike and figured I would ride it. The next day, my 250F was up for sale. This bike is easier to ride than a thumper and corners way better, and it feels about 20 pounds lighter. I will never go back to 4 strokes. I race over 40 Vet int.class. Great job Yamaha, this bike rocks!
- K Skeen, SLC, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the bike for 4 months and several MX practice sessions. It's a power monster. When it's on the pipe, I can keep up with 450s. It does take some skill to moderate the power band - it's very fierce. I find myself struggling midcorner sometimes as the power comes in very hard. Very reliable, but it does need a good spark plug to work. I find the seat a little hard after a full day of riding - but that is a small complaint. Can't beat that 2-stroke sound.
- Carl Stringer, West Palm beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-13 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a YZ 250 for years, owning a couple Kawasaki's and tons of Honda's and Suzuki's. I finally had to buy this beast when they made it with an aluminum frame. I am so stoked I got this mad machine. I haven't lost 1 race yet, everything from other 2 strokes to 4 strokes. I've beaten 4 wheeler's 3, wheeler's, and snowmobiles on dirt and on ice. I've only had one problem with this bike, that's going through so many tires in a season. I also want to put a baja light on it. They should make it easier to hook up a light system on the 2 strokes. The day only lasts so long.
- Doug, Bristol, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-11 2007 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't believe the craziness of this bike. It is so fast, easily upgradable, and very torquey. I have so many upgrades on it. It is also very loud. Can't beat me, I'm ballin.
- Some Random Kid, Stratford, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The YZ-250 is a nice bike. Its top end conquers the longest straights on the track and the bottom toughs it out through the roughest trails with ease. The only complaint that I have for the bike is that when you go to order parts the Yamaha parts list on the computers reads Competition N1 which is the YZ-250 but right above it it reads YZ250F so when you ask to order parts for a YZ-250 people see the competition N1 and the YZ250F and click on the 250F by mistake. This has happened to me on numerous accounts due to the way the computers are set up. But as for the goods on this bike, it really is an easy bike to ride. I bought it after I sold my TTR-125L and I thought it would be difficult to be able to ride it well. But it was quite easy to learn how to handle it and the low end power lets you just lug along through the back woods with ease unlike the YZ125 which you're constantly feathering the clutch on rough trails and tight spots.
- Matt Redding, Hopkinton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-23 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yamaha has done a swell job on this machine. It's faster than you can think, or want, plus it's light. If you are a two stroke fan, it's the bike to go with. I love it. I haven't touched the motor in a year of racing and hard practicing and it still wants to rip out of my hands. And no, it didn't slowly get a little slower so I didn't notice. It's still just as fast as it ever was. I've never owned a bike like this one. Nice job Yamaha. Nice job!!!!
- David West, Lagrange, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-23 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the 06 YZ 250 and have enjoyed every second of it. It is a great bike even in stock form. It handles great, very fast, and is easy to work on. I hope that Yamaha keeps making this bike for years. Very easy to upgrade with after market parts, should you choose to. This bike loves to fly and handles turns like it is on rails. I have been riding 2 stoker's for 30+ years and this bike is 1 of the best there is.
- S Williams, Grapevine, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-08 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
'Ok here's the scoop on this. I called up and got this and a couple of other bikes for the kids. When it got here, I was a little worried about the performance end. I fired it up and was taking it easy, I took a couple small doubles set up off a table top and got a little too much in the power band. Needless to say, I had a sore rear but when I got back on and rode it around, this thing is all about business. Not saying anything bad about fours but man if you sell yourself short coming up on the face, this thing will set you back in the slot in no time. It has more power then anything I have ever been on. Now that the break in is almost over, it's getting smoother all the time. I can't believe I wanted to sell it the first day I had it. Thanks guys for this and for the kids it is the best thing we have done family wise...
- Roger Carlson, scottville , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-10 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am coming off the 4-stroke scene. This bike is more than competitive with the four strokes. I think it is give and take. The two stroke handles much better, but it also wears you out much quicker. Not a problem if you're in shape, which I am not! The only thing I did to mine is added the handle bar mounts off the 06 four strokes which handle the 1 1/8 bars and put protaper bars on. don't ask why Yamaha didn't issue the bike that way from the factory. I guess they feel that we 2-strokers are not worth it.
- trent miller, flemington, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-11 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I first got my YZ 250, I was so happy. I had a 2001 yz85 when I hit 13 I needed a new bike so I got one. It's "my last bike I'll have." When I first got on it to the time I kicked it to the time I hit the kill switch I was in heaven. I did a wheelie up my back yard and from there on, it been the only thing I think about. My girl friend gets mad but hopefully you'll see me racing this year. "Ride, race, live"
- kadeem, coatesville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-20 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has to be the best bike that I have ever owned. When I bought it a few months ago, it was bone stock except for a few add-ons here and there. This bike has a very powerful engine and I wouldn't plan to change anything. It is what you could say a wicked bike, it will keep up with the 05 CRF450 no problem and hill climbing on it is great. It's an all around great bike! Very Strong - No problems.
- Travis Coleman, Fedscreek, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-05 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before this bike, I had a 1990 WR-250. It did okay until I started the track. Then it didn't have enough power for me at least, so I went and bought this a few months later when I had more experience under my belt. It was what I was looking for. the first day I got it I cruised around but couldn't do wheelies until I noticed the 12 feet black stripes on the driveway and that my tires were starting to get worn because it had so much power I couldn't wheelie I could only burn out.
- Dylan, Fillmore, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: