Yamaha YZ450F Motorcycles Reviews (48)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ450F Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZ450F Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-06-14 2008 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read the previous review on the bike and felt the need to comment. I'm the original owner of an '08 YZ450F and would buy 20 more if I could. The bike has had very little issues outside of normal maintenance. In Arizona we ride year round with winter temps averaging in the 60's to the summer blazing heat of 110. With the extreme conditions the bike has held together great. The only issue that Yamaha could change on their bikes is the plastic sleeve for the compression valves in the forks. Over time they crack and affect the performance. You cannot buy just the sleeve, you have to buy the whole assembly at $250+ per side! I also have several friends that ride the same bike and they have very few issues with theirs as well.
- Ryun, Gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-16 2010 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike! I owned a YZ250 before this, and I regret not getting a 450 a long time ago. I was very fast on my 250, but on my 450 it's ridiculous. Speed comes way easier. I find myself in 3rd gear pinned around any obstacle. I can lay almost completely sideways on any corner and not fall over. Stock suspension is amazing. I don't feel anything to breaking bumps or whoops. Power response is perfect. I can't wait for the GYTR power tuner.
- CHRIS HUFFT, ORLANDO, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-09 2005 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles 28 years. This bike is probably the best 4-stroke I have ever ridden or owned. I have had 250 fours and twos. I even had a 2-stroke CR 500. This 450F feels like a 2-stroke on the power. It'll come up off the ground in every gear if you don't lay on it. I love this bike! It's a great replacement to my CR 250R that got stolen a couple years ago. I give it a "thumbs up!"
- Brad the Sandman, Braken Arrow, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-06 2005 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never was A thumper fan! This is no thumper, it is pure power! Not great for the woods but with gearing it will work. I would recommend it to any intermediate to advanced rider!!
- wildhair, haslett, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-12 2008 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lots of wheelie popping power. Great for the track and trails. I would recommend this bike.
- nice bike, blairsville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-15 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far this bike has been more than I thought it was going to be. I recently traded this bike for my 2003 xr 250 that I had for about a year, and it was the best thing that I could have done. This bike's 1st gear is super tall, but with a 50 tooth sprocket this bike will feel right at home on and off track. This bike is perfect for the track, and rarely will you ever have to use 4th gear. When I first purchased this bike, I was a little leary about having to work on a twin cam motor, but one day I decided to check the valves(a job that I completely dreaded) and it was almost the easiest thing I have ever done. This bike has around 50 hours on it to date, and the engine and components look and run like the day it was new. The only thing I have against this bike is that the front end can get a little squirly in the bumpy spots if you aren't holding on tightly enough, but other than that that, this bike is a all around awesome bike, and it still gives the new bikes a good run for their money!
- stevalknieval, swan river, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-02 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow. that's all that's left to say after a day of riding this beast. The power is very manageable because of the balance of the bike and its longer wheelbase. First gear is very tall, and yes, I do miss 5th gear but I'll take it any day over a 2-stroke with 5 gears. I just beat another 450 at the dunes like he was sitting still. Get out there and enjoy the ride.
- glenn meyer, el paso , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-22 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Bike is AWESOME!! It has so much power. When I ride with my friends I can hardly give it any gas. My friend has a 06 Honda CRF250X with 12 tooth sprocket on the front and a 53 on the back and his fifth gear is my second. For what I do with it I could care less that it has no fifth gear. I don't actually race the bike I do a lot of trail riding. It has a 14 and 50 tooth sprockets and when I take off it doesn't hop or anything because of that high gearing. Anyone thinking about getting one GO FOR IT.
- Warren, donnellson, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-04 2008 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first 450 that I have owned. I have ridden/raced 250 2-strokes for the last 6 years and I was starting to get discouraged running against the 450s. First off with the new bike the suspension just blew me away. It is incredible. I have never ridden anything close to this. All my other bikes were revalved and they don't even touch the performance of the stock stuff on the new Yamaha. The motor has tons of power, but the delivery is smooth. For me this is great. I race right to the checkered flag and I want more. Before I would be so tired that my tongue was dragging before the white flag flew. Reliability and quality are great also. Junk the stock chain immediately and the sprockets last really well. Bars are good stuff stock. The front brake lever is tough to get aftermarket right now and it is a $50 lever through Yamaha. ASV is the only replacement I know of. I have them on mine already and I love them. I strongly recommend this bike to anyone. I think that it is great all around.
- Parker, Greenwich, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-20 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I raced this bike all year with out one break down. I just changed the oil & air filters and put a good chain on. I just did the valve adjustment after a whole season of racing and only 3 valves were out of spec and not by much at all. My old bike would never have held up as well as this Yamaha. By the way my old bike was a 2004 CRF-450.
- Chris Lane, Livonia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2003 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike can take a beating!!! I grew up riding CCC runs (trail riding) in Michigan. I rode since I was three and have rode a CBR900RR since 1999. This bike was different than anything I had ever rode and I crashed it a lot! I don't mean tipped over either I mean knocked out crash landings! Luckily for me and the bike we now get along a lil better. The suspension was a lil stiff for my weight so I changed the spring rate and that has helped a lot. I obviously race C class due to my lack of experience but it is so much fun and this bike had held up great to the abuse! I just got my radiators straightened due to previous crashes and I am installing braces, even though I don't crash as much with the speed I ride now. If I do crash it will definitely be hard.
- John, Davison, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At first, the bike didn't seem to have much bite. After a fuel screw adjustment to 21/2 turns out, the power came to life! You have to ride the bike differently than earlier Yamaha 450 models. Not as much bite and raw power down low like older Yamahas, but the mid and top really pull! The biggest difference is the cornering... the bike really responds in cornering and riding ruts in turns. I can come in to turns much faster, still in control and be able to drop the bike into the turn without popping up out of the rut. The dealership sales staff were helpful and courteous during the complete transaction and contacted me afterwards to make sure I was a completely satisfied customer! Thanks!
- Phil Smith, Somerset, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Yamaha, and my first racing 4-stroke. The power is ultra-smooth from off-idle till shut-down, with more than enough power to smoke the tire or loft the front end on command. The balance of the aluminum frame is awesome. Switchback corners and chicanes are a breeze. It is one of the easiest wheelie machines ever! The suspension is better than my Pro-Circuit modified suspension. Just set the sag and hammer down! I raised the forks in the clamps up to the first line (5mm) and it helped the cornering considerably. I disassembled my bike before riding it, and recommend greasing the linkage before riding, as there is no grease on the bolts and pins. The bearings were greased from the factory though. Quality of manufacturing is top-notch. Extreme engineering thought has obviously been given to every part, no matter how small or large. I would recommend an adjustable fuel screw when you buy this bike. It makes all the difference in the way it runs, as five degrees temperature throws off your throttle response, and adjusting it with a screwdriver is frustrating. The power will also sack the stock chain in just a few rides. I have trail-rode, hillclimbed, and moto-ed this bike hard. I am truly Blown Away by it's prowess. I love my YZ450F!!!
- Timber Pesterfield, Cloverdale, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike really suprised me, the power is great through every gear, very easily handled and easy on the eyes. And cheap to keep up with verse's a 2 stroke. What else could a guy ask for?!
- Rocky Brandes, huffman, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-15 2005 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last time I raced motocross before purchasing this was 1975 on a Suzuki TM100! WHAT A DIFFERENCE! I took this thing out, rode it in the pasture for an hour, loaded it up and headed out for an arena cross race! Whoops! Did not get it out of first gear and it was a hard intro to the new age motocross bikes and tracks!!! It was fun, but I was not ready for the power it developed! Suspension was extremely plush compared to the 4 inches I was getting out of the TM! I have had it for 2 years now and it is very low maintenance and very high on fun! I also have an '06 YZ250F...the F on these things doesn't stand for 4 Stroke...it means pure Fun!
- Tom Stewart, Wetumpka, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-01 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, once I decided I wanted the Yamaha YZ450F 2 years ago, I knew I had to have one. Took 2 years to get the money but I finally picked one up about a month ago. It's the fastest and most powerful bike I've ever ridden. They've toned the bite down on it a little bit but I heard it needed it, but don't get me wrong, it's not a slow bike whatsoever. I weigh 165 lbs and I have a problem keeping the front down under heavy acceleration around the track. I had a hard time in the beginning because the suspension was fairly stiff for me, so I loosened the rebound, preload, and compression a little. I didn't touch anything out back except preload though. Overall, it's a very fast bike that feels light and you'll fall in love with it if you ride it.
- Cameron, Marysville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-14 2006 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last time I rode competitively was in 1985 on an '83 YZ250...Bob Hannah was all the rage. Yamaha was about 7 years into the Monoshock, and aluminum frames were only seen on 2001: A Space Odessy...well a 7 year old son will get your juices flowing again and we are about to kick off a father/son tradition that will have us together every weekend, he on his TTR50 and me on my YZ450F. What a bike! While I miss the whah, whah of the two stroke, the equal distribution of power throughout the band on this four stroke is incredible. I find it a lot easier zipping around the track and not having to work through so many gears...the handling is ultra smooth. Yamaha was always my choice back in the day, and I'm glad I've gone back.
- Anthony Perrotta, Red Bank, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-23 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I have ever ridden. The power on this puts any other bike to the dust. I have the white/silver. When I got on it, I thought it would be like the other 4 strokes - when hot hard to start - but it fired up 1st kick everytime.
- matthew gallaher, fullerton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode my 2001 YZ426F for 4 yrs, and loved it, so I expected a lot from the 07. I knew the power was going to be more like a CRF from the reviews, and thankfully it is! It is much easier to control the power, throttle respone is amazing from anywhere in the rpm's. It feels like I have a bit more torque then the 426 down low, and yet it still rips in true YZF style up top! I love the tank/seat/shroud combo. It handles great, feels very light, and wave rotors look sweet! It starts very very easy! I got the White/Silver, I love that color combo, so does everyone else that has seen it!!!
- Paul R Coon, Benge, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-14 2006 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
By far, this is the best bike I've ever ridden. I've owned 6 Yamahas over the years and this thing is head and shoulders above the rest. It turns on a dime, the brakes are perfect and the adjustability of the Pro Tapers are phenomenal. The power delivery is smooth and predictable. It cranks easier than any two stroke I've ever kicked. Only complaint for me, as with every new bike I get is that the suspension is too soft for my weight. Once I get the heavy duty springs it'll be perfect.
- Walt Gilreath, Lincolnton, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-28 2006 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a Brute Force 750 even up for a 2005 YZ450F and I take it everywhere I want. It has been very reliable and it has more power than anyone could ever really need. Put it this way if you want something reliable don't settle for anything less than a Yamaha.
- Eric, ligonier, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-14 2003 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles for over 20 years. I have ridden, Hondas, Kawasakis, Yamahas, Suzukis, 2 stroke and 4 stroke and this is the best so far, KTMs a close second. It makes riding effortless and if you could compare the ride it is like driving a cadillac. The torque is amazing, and even tough it is way too much bike for my abitility it is nice to know that you have all that power on demand. The suspension is great too.
- Fast drop Inc, Torrance, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-26 2006 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is really a great one! No problems to report, bike does hesitate a sec when I hammer the throttle from 0-WOT. Am working on this now-seems a bit better than when new. Love the ProTapers too, chain and sprockets are weak for the bike though! Will have to go soon. I have ridden many of the newer 4-strokes of all brands, mostly Hondas. Dealership owner's son is riding buddy has the CRF; it has a bit more motor and a lot of fun also to ride! He agrees the YZ450F forks are better, as is suspension as a whole really. I had to have the yellow/black 50yr bike, so I bought it!
- Steve n NC, goldsboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-20 2006 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing. The handling is excellent. The braking as well as the acceleration is perfect.
- Ryan Fray, keswick, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-09 2005 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first dirt bike to own. I rode other's when I was in my mid-teens, but it's been awhile now. I bought a Yamaha just because I like to be faithful to the blue. I know that Hondas get awesome reviews by amateurs and pros all the time, but I just like to stick with Yamaha. I also have an 04 Wolverine ATV. I really don't have anything to compare the bike to, but it has been a joy to ride so far. It definitely has tons of power, even though I haven't even come close to using it all yet. The seat is a little hard, but "they" say you shouldn't be using the seat a lot anyway. I've only had it in the woods so far, but hoping to get it on the track for the first time next season. I will say that my buddy, who is a more experienced rider and owns an 03 CR250, rode my bike and said it was the sweetest bike he's ever ridden (also the first 4 stroke he's ever ridden).
- Bob Grecko, Greensburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: