‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha YZ450F reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

48 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ryun

Gilbert, Arizona

Reviewed on 2012-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
I read the previous review on the bike and felt the need to comment. I'm the original owner of an '08 YZ450F and would buy 20 more if I could. The bike has had very little issues outside of normal maintenance. In Arizona we ride year round with winter temps averaging in the 60's to the summer blazing heat of 110. With the extreme conditions the bike has held together great. The only issue that Yamaha could change on their bikes is the plastic sleeve for the compression valves in the forks. Over time they crack and affect the performance. You cannot buy just the sleeve, you have to buy the whole assembly at $250+ per side! I also have several friends that ride the same bike and they have very few issues with theirs as well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CHRIS HUFFT

ORLANDO, Florida

Reviewed on 2010-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed 2010 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
I love my bike! I owned a YZ250 before this, and I regret not getting a 450 a long time ago. I was very fast on my 250, but on my 450 it's ridiculous. Speed comes way easier. I find myself in 3rd gear pinned around any obstacle. I can lay almost completely sideways on any corner and not fall over. Stock suspension is amazing. I don't feel anything to breaking bumps or whoops. Power response is perfect. I can't wait for the GYTR power tuner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brad the Sandman

Braken Arrow, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2010-08-09

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
I have been riding motorcycles 28 years. This bike is probably the best 4-stroke I have ever ridden or owned. I have had 250 fours and twos. I even had a 2-stroke CR 500. This 450F feels like a 2-stroke on the power. It'll come up off the ground in every gear if you don't lay on it. I love this bike! It's a great replacement to my CR 250R that got stolen a couple years ago. I give it a "thumbs up!"
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

wildhair

haslett, Michigan

Reviewed on 2009-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
I never was A thumper fan! This is no thumper, it is pure power! Not great for the woods but with gearing it will work. I would recommend it to any intermediate to advanced rider!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

nice bike

blairsville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
Lots of wheelie popping power. Great for the track and trails. I would recommend this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

stevalknieval

swan river, Manitoba

Reviewed on 2009-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
So far this bike has been more than I thought it was going to be. I recently traded this bike for my 2003 xr 250 that I had for about a year, and it was the best thing that I could have done. This bike's 1st gear is super tall, but with a 50 tooth sprocket this bike will feel right at home on and off track. This bike is perfect for the track, and rarely will you ever have to use 4th gear. When I first purchased this bike, I was a little leary about having to work on a twin cam motor, but one day I decided to check the valves(a job that I completely dreaded) and it was almost the easiest thing I have ever done. This bike has around 50 hours on it to date, and the engine and components look and run like the day it was new. The only thing I have against this bike is that the front end can get a little squirly in the bumpy spots if you aren't holding on tightly enough, but other than that that, this bike is a all around awesome bike, and it still gives the new bikes a good run for their money!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

glenn meyer

el paso , Texas

Reviewed on 2009-03-02

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
Wow. that's all that's left to say after a day of riding this beast. The power is very manageable because of the balance of the bike and its longer wheelbase. First gear is very tall, and yes, I do miss 5th gear but I'll take it any day over a 2-stroke with 5 gears. I just beat another 450 at the dunes like he was sitting still. Get out there and enjoy the ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Warren

donnellson, Iowa

Reviewed on 2008-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed 2004 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
This Bike is AWESOME!! It has so much power. When I ride with my friends I can hardly give it any gas. My friend has a 06 Honda CRF250X with 12 tooth sprocket on the front and a 53 on the back and his fifth gear is my second. For what I do with it I could care less that it has no fifth gear. I don't actually race the bike I do a lot of trail riding. It has a 14 and 50 tooth sprockets and when I take off it doesn't hop or anything because of that high gearing. Anyone thinking about getting one GO FOR IT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Parker

Greenwich, New York

Reviewed on 2008-02-04

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
This is the first 450 that I have owned. I have ridden/raced 250 2-strokes for the last 6 years and I was starting to get discouraged running against the 450s. First off with the new bike the suspension just blew me away. It is incredible. I have never ridden anything close to this. All my other bikes were revalved and they don't even touch the performance of the stock stuff on the new Yamaha. The motor has tons of power, but the delivery is smooth. For me this is great. I race right to the checkered flag and I want more. Before I would be so tired that my tongue was dragging before the white flag flew. Reliability and quality are great also. Junk the stock chain immediately and the sprockets last really well. Bars are good stuff stock. The front brake lever is tough to get aftermarket right now and it is a $50 lever through Yamaha. ASV is the only replacement I know of. I have them on mine already and I love them. I strongly recommend this bike to anyone. I think that it is great all around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Lane

Livonia, Michigan

Reviewed on 2008-01-20

Motorcycle reviewed 2007 Yamaha YZ450F view listing

5.0
I raced this bike all year with out one break down. I just changed the oil & air filters and put a good chain on. I just did the valve adjustment after a whole season of racing and only 3 valves were out of spec and not by much at all. My old bike would never have held up as well as this Yamaha. By the way my old bike was a 2004 CRF-450.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 48 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: