Yamaha YZF-R1 Motorcycles Reviews (214)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R1 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZF-R1 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-09-02 2010 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2014 YZF-R11 and it is a 2-headed vicious, violent monster. It is still in break-in period until it has a 1,000 miles on it. I haven't went over 6,500 rpm. on it yet but it still likes to lift the front wheel. I can't wait until I can get into its power band. This is the ultimate super bike and I can't say a bad word about it - awesome!
- louie, bethel park, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-18 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my old bike and just wanted to let everyone know that it has been very well taken care of. The full Arata sounds great and the GP style shifting coupled with the speed shifter is the best thing ever.
- Kevin Hornocker, Corydon, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-12 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Run after run...this '02 R1 still holds its own extremely well. It's seen later R1's, ZX's, GSX's come and go that still haven't surpassed its unbelievable low/mid range torque. Some prefer coffee in the morning for a kick, but this machine offers one screaming intense rush of adrenaline, all while maintaining a civil posture on the road. This much low-end power, combined with the near 600 class size frame and generous mid-range, is well suited to stay out front of the pack long enough to make the others feel silly, staring at your backside and giving it everything they have to catch up. Only those that have owned one and truly put it to the test can understand how unique this set-up really is.
- JB, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-08 2010 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Look is sick. Ride is sick and the sound just screams threat!! I'm really pleased with the handling. It allows me to get into my turns really aggressive and powering out much sooner/smoother than any competition. Prior to the add-on's, I had over-heating issues (full-throttle) which the full exhaust solved immediately. I do get some front end vibration at high speeds (175 mph. and up). The R1 continues to impress me as I continue to learn the bike. Just crazy!!! Many thanks.
- Mos, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-10 2010 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm just in love with my R1. It's fast, hypersport, reliable and ... yeah ...fast.
- enrique cruz, bakersfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-19 2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've now owned my 03 R1 for almost a year. I've owned many bikes, CBR6's, GSXR'6s, ZX9R, ZX636 and an R6. Two bikes ago I owned a ZX9r which ripped and was a joy to ride (2002). When I sold it, I bought a 2007 GSXR600. I was quickly disappointed by the gixxer coming from an bigger bike so I immediately started looking for a little bike. I found my R1 and actually traded the guy plus cash on his end (he was afraid of the R1, first time rider). This bike has hauls, I thought my ZX9 with 130 at the rear wheel was fast. Well, this R1 has redefined what fast is for me. Quite simply, it rips. The only thing I can say that is lacking is Rider feedback in the front end because it's so smooth (when riding hard/spirited) which is a great thing for a experienced rider but not so much for an intermediate or beginner. This bike will do exactly what you tell it to, then a little more if you get cocky. It will not allow you to make a mistake and punish you when you do make a mistake. If you're a beginner, stay away from this machine or stay away from riding it hard. The Mill whispers sweet nothings in your ear begging you to push it harder, be careful. This handling is bar none, tip in is great and confidence inspiring as long as you're in the right line. The bike responds well to a bit of trail breaking and doesn't stand up too quick. It will roll on wheelie in 2nd, no whacking twitching the throttle to get the front end skyward. Overall this bike is a very nice machine, just make sure you feed it and handle with care because this thing will eat you the first time you decide it's been bad and needs a spanking.
- Mike, oregon city, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-17 2010 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Right out of the box the R1 is nothing special. All that you're paying for is the sweet exhaust note. But once you start to upgrade her, she really starts to shine. Everything is just really smooth thanks to the cross-plane crankshaft. It's the best bike I've ever owned.
- Scootie, Stillwater, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-12 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike can take pin point turns with ease - 9.98 stock quarter mile. I own the charcoal/silver R1 and it looks awesome, but you will have to change the huge ugly fender and turn signals. There is supposed to be a governor at 189mph, but I have personally taken mine to 191 before I felt like I was floating above the ground, and decided to slow down. I race anyone on the road and have yet to meet my match.
- Zim Zimma, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-27 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hve ridden dirt bikes and four wheelers most of my life and just went straight to an R1 because I knew I would later want the extra 400cc. I love it! It's scary fast. I would never get rid of it unless I bought another.
- josh , leesburg , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-18 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a previous Honda RR 600 owner and have stepped up to a Yamaha R1. OMG! First of all, the seat is way more comfortable than the honda. The power is crazy. The bike just seems to want to go faster and harder. I love it and I am pretty confident in its abilities. You will be very satisfied with this bike as I am. I also am the owner of the exact bike in the picture. Enjoy and keep the wheel side down.
- Jay D., Jamaica, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-17 2010 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my first R-1 after riding GSX-R's and there is a huge difference let me tell you. Although the GXS-R is supposed to be lighter than the R-1 by the books, I think it's totally the opposite. Handling on this Yamaha is by far better than any 1000 out there. Trust me
- Gio, Menifee, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-18 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2007 R1 with 4,500 miles on it. I have ridden the bike for a year and love the top end performance. The bike's handling is razor sharp and it devours high speed curves. I do wish the bike had more mid-range and bottom end torque for those low speed curves. The under seat exhausts will also cook your thighs. This is my sixth bike and have only ridden Honda up until I bought this bike. The bike is definitely better than my previous Honda liter bikes. I have recently ridden the 08 CBR 1000RR and think it is a better bike.
- John, Knightdale, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-14 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked this bike up new in April 09. I am very happy I purchased the bike. There is a glitch at 5500 rpm in second gear, the dealer fixed this for me. It took about a week to get it fixed. Other than that, the seat gets pretty hot. Fixed that by getting rid of cat. Bike handles pretty awsome. Sexy looking bike that has insane acceleration.
- some guy, North BC, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-02 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up a 07 r1 with 700 mi. on it and have put only 18 mi. on it in 2 days but love the bike. It rides like a dream. I was looking at getting a 09 but came across the 07 and figured save some money and get a great bike with 700 mi. I love how smooth it is and I wanted the yamaha blue but found it in red and the more I looked at it the more I liked it. I would recommend this bike to any experienced rider.
- Adam, New Haven, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-21 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had an R6 for 4 years and loved the handling of that bike. I grew up riding dirtbikes, four-wheelers, etc. I was a little nervous about going to a liter bike because of the increased weight and length. I always rode with 750s and 1000s with my 600 and I kept up just fine and could out corner just about anyone. My 06 R1 has done nothing but amaze me from day 1. The handling is every bit as good as my R6 was, and the feedback in the rear is much better, increasing my comfort level. The brakes work amazingly, and the power is fantastic. The only complaint I have is how Yamaha has 1st gear being so tall, and I miss taching out this bike like I used to do on my R6. Although I love the roll-on power that's on tap at anytime. If your thinking of getting a 1000, but you love taching out gears, look into a 750. If you just love riding and can't get enough power and want to be lazy about doing wheelies, shortening on-ramps, and not shifting as much, get a 1000. I put 9,000 miles on my R1 last year and only replaced oil, oil filters, and a set of tires. I had 17,000 miles on my R6 and only replaced the oil, oil filter, tires, and put a new chain and sprockets on it right before I sold it. You've gotta love Yamaha!
- Bryan, Newton, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-21 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being so used to cruisers, I decided to buy a sportbike. Many people told me a 1000cc was too much power and to go with a 600cc. So to make a long story short, I went to a dealership that had a gray/black R1 with 1000 miles. So I decided to buy it. don't get me wrong; this bike is powerful and fast, but it is easy to manage. I'm only 19 years old and have ridden 650cc cruisers. The 1st gear is amazing. I can go way beyond 70 mph on one gear. The braking, handling and visibility (HID headlights are real nice and give you a wide range of light at night) features on the R1 are superb. This bike gives you tons of confidence and makes you feel like you own the streets. Yamaha did an amazing job with the design of this bike. It is definitely a smooth ride and attention grabber. If you decide to get this masterpiece you won't be disappointed. I'm loving this bike.
- TONY, LOS ANGELES, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-01 2008 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Reliability: Seems to be with every Yamaha I have owned and this is no exception. I always keep up with the regular maintenance and have had no problems whatsoever with this motorcycle. Performance: Doesn't have quite the top end power in the higher rpm compared to some of the other liter bikes that I have ridden. But unless you are really looking to conquer top speed on the public roads, most people won't even use that part of the bike. The place where this bike really shines is the mid-range rpm. For a four cylinder sport bike this is one of the most fun bikes you can ride power-wise. Lots of top end like a four cylinder and plenty of mid-range punch mimicking a V-twin. The best part of the bike though is the handling aspect. When you come into a corner and throw the bike down it feels like a light little 600, and with all the mid-range punch of the liter bike to bring you back up out of the corner and all in the most predictable line. Can you say, "best handling sportbike in production? Comfort: Well let's face it, it's not a cruiser and it's not meant for comfort. When you sit on this bike you can tell by the position it puts you in that it means business. This bike is definitely meant to go and go fast. Quality: As much work as I have done on this bike I can defiantly tell that they did their homework on every inch of it. The fit and finish is of what I have always gotten from Yamaha. They also don't take the cheap route out and use metal fasteners where needed and I can see the quality workmanship in the welds and little finishing touches.
- Chris, Grandview, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-28 2008 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 103mph in first gear uphill at redline. This bike is amazing. Power, agility, braking...it's all perfectly engineered. On top of all that, it is a beautiful machine. Only problem is the vibration. It wears down your arms on long rides.
- Stefan, Redmond, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-08 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You know before upgrading to the R1 I was a bit nervous about the bike's raw power. After owning it for only a few days, I realized that the bike is incredibly refined. The power is there, but it's totally smooth and within your control. I haven't ridden other liter bikes, so I can't offer comparisons. I will say that the bike is everything I hoped it would be on performance and fit/finish. I still think it's one of the most gorgeous bikes on the road.
- David, Latham, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-25 2008 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my '07 ZX6R for the R1 and never looked back. Besides the killer looks, this bike really performs. Brakes, handling, power and ergonomics are outstanding. I would definitely buy this bike again. It does not lag at 5500 rpm in 2nd gear!
- TIM, SIMI, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-27 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the 07 R1 about 2 weeks ago and already I have put 1,000 miles on her. It has to be one of the most comfortable street-bikes I have ridden on and the response you get from the motor is just amazing. I jumped from a 1990 600 to a 97 1200 then right to the R1 without missing a beat and I have never looked back. If you are pondering getting this bike, stop pondering and go buy the best motorcycle you can ever own.
- The Gregster, Pemberton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-26 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first 1000cc bike and it is great. The only bad thing is it can get uncomfortable due to the seat position pushing you into the tank. Other than that, it's fun to ride and very smooth. I would buy it again.
- Rider, San Marcos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-09 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has everything a sport rider could want. Great big power, handling, looks etc. I highly recommend this machine to anyone who is looking for performance taken to the next level. Has a few first model year glitches but it DOES NOT detract from the overall package and Yamaha is working on correcting these bugs.
- Wayne, Saratoga Springs, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-05 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike a week ago and fell in love with it. I previously was ridding a Ducati 996, and this bike handles a 100 times better in high and low speed cornering and throttle response. Torque and handling is unbelievably better than most bikes I've ridden including a 600. For all you 600 riders, I recommend you test ride or step up to this bike - you will not be disappointed.
- Jason, Ballston Spa, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-04 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is NOT a beginner bike. Fortunately, I am NOT a beginner. With 5500Mi on the dial I can tell you this bike is fast, beatuiful, reliable and willing to take any demand you make and ask for more. Carves turns like it is on rails, awesome stock binders, but S/S lines make a HUGE difference. Ohlins full suspension makes it track-worthy and takes the dive out of the front end. Pilot Pros stick to the road much better than the stock Dunlops and will fall into a corner fast and controllably. HyperPro damper adds a new level of front end stability, can't shale it, literally. 520 chain conversion with a -1/+2 will make the bottom end of 1st gear something to respect. Graves exhaust (loud enough to drown out your screaming), PC3 w/ignition module, Velocity stacks will bring RWHP to the 150 range. Cooks the arse a bit on a super hot day, but good leathers negate that issue. Redline will bring your coolant temps down while sitting in slow traffic. This bike deserves to be ridden hard and can out perform even the most advanced riders demands. Respect the power however or it will bite you fast and hard. Front is light over 6500RPM and is bound to be skyward anywhere above 8000RPM, although you will still feel in control when it happens. at 13000RPM it is like the best and scariest nightmare you have ever had... forcing you to dream about doing it again... after you change your shorts. Streetable if you don't mind a pile of tickets even though you are tying hard to obey the laws, born for the track - where is shines the most, and where it belongs. Can't wipe the smile off my face when I put it in the garage. 45mpg when nice to it, 20 when running it like it wants to be ridden.
- LK, Northern NJ, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: