Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha YZF-R1 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

215 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Scottof Eli minutia

Prince Edward Island

Reviewed on 2021-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

2.5
Never rode it. But I really do admire Valentino and the patronas team. I think the only motorcycle other than the Honda cbr 1000 repsol hurricane 09 an 2015. I don’t have any money I wish u could afford it. I have my o9 right now my 2015 Has been at DNA lounge for a month and a half because I lost my keys in the fire and I can’t afford to get everything re-keyed sucks I also lost a Ducati panagale v4s corse. It was stolen and I put $15,000 into it and my mom got a fat insurance check because it was in her name and I didn’t get anything back I lost a lot in the fire on my helmets that I collected hot wheels I was going to donate to the kids at the hospital anf of the thing most of my clothes. Mechanic at DNA kept my motorcycle longer than he had too. I was walking around San Leandro for a month and one of those days I got stabbed and I had to get stitches at the hospital so to the owner of the motorcycle shop I told him I could give him my 2015 just to let me have my o9 back Just so I have something to ride or transportation I feel like the mechanic not the owner kind of took advantage of my situation and she got paid by my ex-wife and he never dropped off the motorcycle when he said he was so I’ve been going through a lot and one day when I get back on my feet and start working again I’ll probably try to get that GYTR even if I have to fly to Europe because I know they don’t sell that version out here
Reliability
4.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

louie

bethel park, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2014-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own a 2014 YZF-R11 and it is a 2-headed vicious, violent monster. It is still in break-in period until it has a 1,000 miles on it. I haven't went over 6,500 rpm. on it yet but it still likes to lift the front wheel. I can't wait until I can get into its power band. This is the ultimate super bike and I can't say a bad word about it - awesome!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Hornocker

Corydon, Indiana

Reviewed on 2012-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This was my old bike and just wanted to let everyone know that it has been very well taken care of. The full Arata sounds great and the GP style shifting coupled with the speed shifter is the best thing ever.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JB

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-04-12

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Run after run...this '02 R1 still holds its own extremely well. It's seen later R1's, ZX's, GSX's come and go that still haven't surpassed its unbelievable low/mid range torque. Some prefer coffee in the morning for a kick, but this machine offers one screaming intense rush of adrenaline, all while maintaining a civil posture on the road. This much low-end power, combined with the near 600 class size frame and generous mid-range, is well suited to stay out front of the pack long enough to make the others feel silly, staring at your backside and giving it everything they have to catch up. Only those that have owned one and truly put it to the test can understand how unique this set-up really is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mos

Baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2011-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Look is sick. Ride is sick and the sound just screams threat!! I'm really pleased with the handling. It allows me to get into my turns really aggressive and powering out much sooner/smoother than any competition. Prior to the add-on's, I had over-heating issues (full-throttle) which the full exhaust solved immediately. I do get some front end vibration at high speeds (175 mph. and up). The R1 continues to impress me as I continue to learn the bike. Just crazy!!! Many thanks.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

enrique cruz

bakersfield, California

Reviewed on 2011-02-10

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm just in love with my R1. It's fast, hypersport, reliable and ... yeah ...fast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

oregon city, Oregon

Reviewed on 2011-01-19

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've now owned my 03 R1 for almost a year. I've owned many bikes, CBR6's, GSXR'6s, ZX9R, ZX636 and an R6. Two bikes ago I owned a ZX9r which ripped and was a joy to ride (2002). When I sold it, I bought a 2007 GSXR600. I was quickly disappointed by the gixxer coming from an bigger bike so I immediately started looking for a little bike. I found my R1 and actually traded the guy plus cash on his end (he was afraid of the R1, first time rider). This bike has hauls, I thought my ZX9 with 130 at the rear wheel was fast. Well, this R1 has redefined what fast is for me. Quite simply, it rips. The only thing I can say that is lacking is Rider feedback in the front end because it's so smooth (when riding hard/spirited) which is a great thing for a experienced rider but not so much for an intermediate or beginner. This bike will do exactly what you tell it to, then a little more if you get cocky. It will not allow you to make a mistake and punish you when you do make a mistake. If you're a beginner, stay away from this machine or stay away from riding it hard. The Mill whispers sweet nothings in your ear begging you to push it harder, be careful. This handling is bar none, tip in is great and confidence inspiring as long as you're in the right line. The bike responds well to a bit of trail breaking and doesn't stand up too quick. It will roll on wheelie in 2nd, no whacking twitching the throttle to get the front end skyward. Overall this bike is a very nice machine, just make sure you feed it and handle with care because this thing will eat you the first time you decide it's been bad and needs a spanking.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scootie

Stillwater, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2010-10-17

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Right out of the box the R1 is nothing special. All that you're paying for is the sweet exhaust note. But once you start to upgrade her, she really starts to shine. Everything is just really smooth thanks to the cross-plane crankshaft. It's the best bike I've ever owned.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zim Zimma

Tucson, Arizona

Reviewed on 2010-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike can take pin point turns with ease - 9.98 stock quarter mile. I own the charcoal/silver R1 and it looks awesome, but you will have to change the huge ugly fender and turn signals. There is supposed to be a governor at 189mph, but I have personally taken mine to 191 before I felt like I was floating above the ground, and decided to slow down. I race anyone on the road and have yet to meet my match.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

josh

leesburg , Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I hve ridden dirt bikes and four wheelers most of my life and just went straight to an R1 because I knew I would later want the extra 400cc. I love it! It's scary fast. I would never get rid of it unless I bought another.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 22
  • 1 - 10 of 215 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: