Yamaha YZF600R Motorcycles Reviews (55)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF600R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha YZF600R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-08 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my left-over 2007 YZF as an inexpensive second bike. I converted it into a mini-sport tourer with smaller rear sprocket, touring windscreen, Givi Bags, etc. Once I got the engine broken in and the exhaust opened up slightly the bike really started to perform well. This bike is one of the smoothest and best shifting bikes I have ever owned. I have also gotten 60 mpg. several times. The seat and riding position is comfortable even for my 6 ft.+ frame. The suspension has all the adjustments of today's high-tech sport bikes. It's a nice solid bike.
- Crooz, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-04 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best. It handles just the way I want it. It's not big and just fast enough. I love my bike. I would not trade it for anything. The only thing that I would change would be the exhaust because I want that deep sound so that people can not only see but hear me also.
- Magic, Cambridge, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-19 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have not put a lot of miles on my bike due to work constraints, but the time I spent on it so far has been great. It's not too big, not too small, but right where it should be based on your skills of a new rider. The power is there if needed and feels more and more comfortable every time I ride. I may make just a few changes like getting a slip-on exhaust for a deeper sound and possibly a different windscreen due to my height. I would recommend this bike to anyone just getting back in the swing of things. It handles well so far in all aspects and is a good first bike.
- AD, Bolingbrook, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-04 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike and it's perfect for beginning riders. I wouldn't trade it for any other bike. It's very comfortable and very relible. Great Buy!
- Chris, Petersburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-11 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After researching all summer, I finally decided on my first bike. The 600R is a perfect fit for me. The power is really managable for a new rider and the acceleration and braking are forgiving of newbie mistakes. The bike has good balance and the weight isn't too much to handle. I am scheduled for the MSF course in a few weeks, and with only minimal experience riding (and none in quite a few years), I just took it around the block on some backstreets. The bike inspires confidence with its ease of steering and upright riding position. The braking is smooth and the clutch provides for easy, seamless shifts. The seat seems comfortable enough for a bike of this style although longer rides would be needed for a full evaluation. The large analog instruments are clearly visible, although the speedometer is a little cluttered with the speed increments so closely spaced. Finally, the price was competitive with other bikes in this class, and the insurance was affordable.
- john, morgan city, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-10 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for about 7 months. All I can say it is a great bike to have. The only problem I have had is grinding when shifting from 1st to 2nd. Thinking of upgrading to the R6 but will keep this bike.
- T. Brown, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the 2006 YZF600 in June of 06. I thought it was about time to give a review since I've had the bike for a year. I love just about everything about this bike as a starter bike. I was a first time rider looking for something to learn on. I was leaning for the R6 but settled for the 600r due to price and comfort where my wife is concerned. This bike may not have the power of the R6 but still hangs well in the curves. I ride it up the mountain to work everyday and it's held up great. I do have the grinding when shifting from 1 to 2, but a pro shift kit should fix that. My only issue is that everytime I wash the bike, at least one of my guage lights die. I've had it looked at many times, but so far the problem hasn't been fixed. I think it's a bad water seal or something where the lights should be weatherproofed. It only happens when I wash it or ride through heavy rain. I will definitely be upgrading to another bike very soon, but my wife will be using the 600r as her starter bike considering how it's a good weight for a small rider @ 50 lbs heavier than the r6 and the seat height will accommodate her since she's only 5'2.
- Ben, West Union, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This happens to be my first sportbike. Everything works great, very comfortable, fun, and very quick. The only problem is sometimes shifting from 1st to 2nd, it feels like it's grinding.
- Colin Warren, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-26 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike with 0 riding time on a bike before. It was fairly easy to learn how to ride on this bike. It is balanced well, power is their after you get it past 9000rpm. MPG average is 45+ from what I have read elsewere and after almost 100 miles it took only about a gallon and a half to fill back up. Looks sharp and is fun to ride.
- Rene' Ehlenfeldt, Stanardsville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-27 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first sport bike and I love it. It has plenty of power due to a few added accessories. It hold awesome in the corners and great on the straitaways. My bike tops out at about 180(I try not to look down much when I'm going that fast).
- Alex, Houma, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-27 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I was looking for something sporty but not so powerful that I would kill myself. This bike is very comfortable and it looks great. It has the right balance of looks, speed and comfort. don't get me wrong when you want it, the power is there. If you are looking for a great starter bike, this is it.
- Joe B, Port St Lucie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-30 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was my re-introduction to riding after a 10+ year break. After scoping out everything in the 600cc class, I settled on the YZF600. I wasn't interested in the R6 or the 600RR or any of the other more race like bikes, and this bike has the perfect blend of looks, power and ease of use I needed. At 6'2 the only complaint I have is the wind screen, so I replaced the stock one with a Zero Gravity touring screen and that has made all the difference. Whether you plan on hitting the track or just taking a few lazy Sunday rides, this bike is a great choice.
- Jason, Spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-20 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great starter or good for someone who likes to go fast but doesn't want back problems. It has enough power to pick up a wheelie in second gear but also tame enough so you wife/girlfriend can learn to ride it. Overall a well rounded bike.
- CW, Enid, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-29 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not been on a bike for 15 years, but knew it was time again. This road warrior was just the right ticket for someone who needed to get his feet wet again, but not have the wits scared out of him. I have taken it on some long mountain road trips, and it has kept me on the edge of my seat on more than one accasion. The muscle is there, the balance is there, and it does deserve respect in the corners. You will love this bike if you are just starting out again.
- Scott Nelson, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-20 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, never even rode one before but all the good reviews sold me on the YZF. Was easy to learn to ride, great beginner bike. I'm extremely happy with my purchase. I'll be riding my YZF for a long time.
- A Hol, Fostoria,, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-04 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2004 YZF600R used. What a great bike. Handles the twisties well, is very forgiving, yet has enough power to keep me satisfied. Comfort is far and away better than all of the supersport lay-on-the-tank bikes out there, but with a good rider, can keep up with the best of them. I highly recommend this bike to anyone who wants power and performance without completely sacrificing comfort on longer rides.
- Dave Fortin, Williston, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-12 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 15 year hiatus and 3 months of intensive review/research I finally made my selection and purchased this bike (color:Raven) 3 weeks ago. I am 100% thrilled!!!!! Can't think of a downside to this baby. I needed a break from my gas guzzling 05 Yukon and decided on this beauty for day to day hustle to work as well as for my planned weekend jaunts. She's powerful, sleek, ultra comfortable, and just know how and when to respond to my every command. No regrets in my purchase. Utterly fantastic!!!
- Al Palmer, Bloomfield, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-07 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike in over 30 years. In the 70s I had a Suzuki 250 trailbike. I was doubtful that a 600cc bike would be big enough for me at 300lbs. No doubt, this bike can fly! At only 200 miles, I'm trying to be easy on it, but I can tell the power is there. Very comfortable, smooth and good looking. Can't wait to open it up.
- dwayne, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-26 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike it's really safe and fast! It makes a great ride for beginners!
- MICHEL, TORRANCE, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-10 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm very happy with this bike. Stable for around town riding, fast for keeping up with the bigger machines, and comfortable for longer trips. I purchased this bike primarily based on all the positive reviews available. It's a bike you'd be very pleased with.
- Harvey Wright, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-29 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently purchased this bike and I am very pleased with it. The bike is far more comfortable than the "traditional race" bike, but has plenty of power. I love the 600R.
- Jason Varner, Fishers, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-28 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have really enjoyed this bike. It runs great and rides fairly smooth. It is also very fast for the CCs (I mean 190 mph - Get out!). In comparison to other bikes I've ridden and seen in this category, I highly recommend this bike for its category of bikes.
- William Weems, Athens, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-23 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine is incredible. It is both a sport bike when you want to have fun or take off for the weekend with the wife. This machine will do it. You choose your gas mileage, good or bad (even bad is good, however). I've ridden in snow, rain and sun with it and LOVED its behavior. I would Highly Recommend this motorcycle to anyone who wants to sell there wife on a bike.
- Sherms, St. George, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-30 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding my 2000 YZF600R for the last 12 months, having purchased it used last year. After 8000 miles of city riding in all possible weather conditions (yes, that includes snow, idiot that I am), I'm still totally pleased with it. It's quick, comfortable, and reliable. Ridden reasonably, I get 55-60 MPG, which translates to a commuting/touring range of 240 miles to reserve. Even if the design is nearly a decade old, it's still a fine looking ride, particularly in black. You can't go wrong with this one.
- Rev. David Williams, Annandale, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-09 2006 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great first time bike, its sporty, and people love the way it looks. It is able to get up and go, but not enough to scare you. I love it, and I enjoy riding it.
- ISO, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: