Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha Zuma Scooter reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Scooters

Reviews

89 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

bob

lafayette, Indiana

Reviewed on 2010-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The best thing about this scooter is the reliabilty! Sat outside all winter with 5 inches of snow and ice and still started easy in the spring. Does not bog down up hills even with two people on it. The worst thing are the front brakes. Four sets in five years. The anti-rattle clips in the caliper have to be perfectly straight or they won't work. I left them out. Love this scooter! Would not sell it for 5000 dollars. Highly recommend tighening all bolts. Have lost some due to vibration.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dog walker

Baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2009-03-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Zuma in 2006 to save gas and to get around town to all my jobs. It's so much fun and easy on gas. I highly recommend it to any woman who has always wanted a motorcycle. I'm over 50 years old and I can handle it with ease. So far I've put more than 7700 miles on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob Wadman-Scanlan

Mount Pearl, Newfoundland

Reviewed on 2008-10-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my Zuma for just over 2 weeks. I bought it second hand (it had 1600 kms on the odometer). Even though I own two other vehicles (a car and a minivan), my scooter is my favorite vehicle. I use it for commuting to work when weather permits. It is also my vehicle of choice when I need to run errands. Last week I managed to fit a turkey and a number of other items under my seat. I also used it to bring home a couple of subs and fountain drinks from Subway without spilling a drop. Try doing that with a regular motorcycle. I just love my scooter and have no regrets about buying it. It looks great. I added a Givi topcase (well worth the money)... it was easy to install. Because my bike, helmet and jacket are black, I wear a high visibility vest wherever I go. The Zuma may not be for everyone, but for me (given my size, where I live and what I use it for) it is perfect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

caleb leahigh

Bloomington, Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2005 Zuma, I bought in the fall of '05. I'm positive that my Zuma has paid for itself already. Living in town, there is no cheaper way to get around. I am very pleased with the fact that I have not paid insurance for 2 years, and I have put less than $100 worth of gas in her in two years! Talk about a gas saver. Do you want to get around for 25 cents a day? Buy a Zuma.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

cheap ride

sioux falls, South Dakota

Reviewed on 2007-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's been two years now since I bought my 04 Zuma used from the local Yamaha dealership. The scooter stock is quiet, has enough power for average city driving, handles nicely, and is very fuel efficient. My only trouble with the bike is that I needed it to go a bit faster with better power for some of our city streets that have 45 mph speed limits on them. Instead of trading in what I had, I began reading about engine and exhaust upgrades. Now I have upgraded to a 70cc engine, added a performance exhaust, retuned the transmission and have the power and speed I need to drive anywhere in town. Not to mention how much fun it is to drive. The other benifit is that I have learned a lot about 2 stroke engines incuding rebuilding the top end, cvt transmissions and carburator jetting. Scooting is very much a great hobby and reliable cheap transportation.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2007-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This scooter is the 2006 Canadian model it is my second street legal bike (first one 1988 Yamaha Virago) but the first bike insured and on the road. I took it easy for break in but after that I couldn't get off the thing. I rode it everywhere. Very reliable and very good on gas. I never bothered to check MPG but Yamaha claims 120MPG @ 40km/h. Insurance is a little high considering I'm young ($1200/year). I've never had a problem with this scooter except the front brake pads which weren't correctly installed at the factory and wore out prematurely at 2500km. I got some ebc pads and they're still good now. Power is there until about 50km/h. It will go up to 70km/h on flat ground and no wind. Oil is not a problem. The tank needs to be refilled about every 1000km and it only takes a $7 bottle. Electrical system is the best. I never had an electrical problem as with other bikes but with their age electrical components are questionable. I feel the under seat storage is not enough as it can hold a full face helmet but that's it. The trunk is VERY helpful. It's made in Italy by givi and it's an official Yamaha accessory. One important thing is to check the tire pressure as it affects acceleration and top speed CONSIDERABLY. Comfort is good. You just have to get used to it. Seat is nice and big but I do feel cramped two up. Mirrors give an excellent view. Maintenance is minimal on this thing. Just go over everything it says to in the manual. You can get a service manual for this scooter online at Provo and print it out at business depot for 20$ instead of buying it from Yamaha for $100. For upgrades, I do not recommend upgrading performance because it affects reliability and it's a pain too. On a normal bike if you put a performance pipe you rejet and that's it. On a scooter, you need to mod the clutch springs, the rollers, and the jets. If you want more performance just buy a bigger bike. To sum it all up if you want a reliable bike to putt around in I would definitely recommend it. Stay away from the no name Chinese junk on the market. I worked with them before. They fall apart easy and parts are hard to find. Good luck!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mike

jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Yamaha Auma is the best, most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. Great gas mileage, plenty of power, and looks everywhere I go.My Zuma was clocked at 80 mph by Florida Highway Patrol! I would recommend this scooter to anyone thinking of purchasing one in the near future.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sebastian Zaki

Washington, District of Columbia

Reviewed on 2006-09-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is probably the most well designed scooter on the market. I love the fact that it is a two stroke, to help with the hills a give good performance. It does not look like a vespa, rather it looks like an aggressive riding vehicle(reflecting its performance). It has many handy features, such as an oil injector so you do not need to mix gas and oil, an electric start for easy starting with a back up kick start so you can still ride, and a decent sized storage compartment underneath the seat. The suspension and stablility is a dream, and the reliability and style are unmatched. It is a shame however, that the Zuma is no longer being made. So snatch up a Zuma before they are all gone. A year after production, the Zuma is still in high demand... and I am not suprised why.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Logansport, Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Zuma in Sept. of 2005. It was my main transportation to and from work. I rode this bike all through the witer months also!! Even while it was near zero degrees my Zuma had no problem starting. The only problem I see with this scooter is that you tend to slide forward on the seat. Other than that this is one of the best purchases I have made!! My Zuma was stolen in the spring of 2006! Since they are not made anymore, I had to wait for my local dealer to get a used one in. I quickly bought it!!! I just can't understand why Yamaha stopped making them? They are such a hot item right now!!! Very reliable machine!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CALEB

ST. PAUL, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've put 3,000 miles on my zuma in the first year. I drive it to and from work every day the weather allows. No problems to date. Excellent machine but if you consistently need to ride at speeds in excess of 35mph you should consider going up an engine size. Most of my riding is 35mph or less but some roads I take are 40-45mph and at times it can be frustrating when you hold up traffic. If this is the only scooter you can afford I would say BUY IT. YOU WILL BE HAPPY.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 89 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: