Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

25 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Len

Doylestown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2011-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great all around bike for touring and street riding. It has amazing power and handling and the braking is superb. I took it on a 1,700 mile, 4-day trip and was very comfortable. I have been riding bikes since 1969 and this FZ-1 is the best bike by far. It is rock solid reliable, has easy maintanance and a high MPG. It's a great all-around package.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Hemmingway

West Bend, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2010-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hello fellow riders, I have always wanted this bike since the first review I read from the european market. I got myself a great deal on a used 2001 with 13,000 and change on the clock. It came with two jackets, two helmets, extra brake pads, flush mount signals(if i want to install them) some extra fluids and some minor mods. I have spent most of my riding career on vintage sport tourers, i.e. Yamaha FJ's and XJ's, Honda V65's, a 1993 Kawasaki Concours and a 1996 Triumph Sprint. Ergonomically, my 1983 XJ 900 Seca has been the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden. I also found it very fun to ride, as it was way ahead of it's time in design. The bike handled amazingly well for it's day, it cornered and stopped well and had great acceleration and torque for a 100hp bike, especially considering it was shaft drive. I was expecting a little more performance from this bike simply from the technological advances in recent years, what I wasn't expecting was the hair scorching acceration of this bike. This bike is amazing. Coming from vintage bikes to this bike was like being transported into the future via a time machine. This bike amazes me in every category. What a nimble little rocket this thing is. I am enjoying every minute on this trusty steed. The kicker is how cheap it is to maintain this bike. Over 20,000 miles before you have to pull the valve covers. Brilliant. Ride fast, but ride safe. Will
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TreadHead

Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased this bike 2 years ago with 6k on it. I put about 6-8k on a year by sport, touring, commuting. The power is amazing. I can sit on it all day. My insurance is cheaper than a lot of full plastic sportbikes (which is kinda funny). I don't understand why you would want to hide that sexy motor in the first place?! My girl loves sitting on the back of this bike instead of laying on my back.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gator007

Orange Park, Florida

Reviewed on 2008-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It starts the first time and is smooth in town but still has gobs of power. On a recent trip to Ocala and back I averaged 48 mpg. No oil use and still no leaks. I am waiting to see what the next 24,000 will bring.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

RTP, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After having cruisers for a many years I made it over to the sport side of things. Now I am older and do like the comfort that most cruisers offer, but after yopu make it to the dragon you can understand why I now ride a more sport touring machine. No trailer queen here! I really was looking at a ZRX but decided that a decent fairing and centerstand was well worth it. My last bike had a centerstand and it is a rather nice feature. In stock form the FZ1 is a really great bike, but add a Corbin seat and a better windscreen (Givi,ZG,etc) and you've got a bike you can really put the miles on. Great performance with great handling from the factory. If you have it hammered down, grab on to the bars tight cause you're in for a great rush. That stout tubular frame really holds things together. I really like the torque, for the most part downshifting is just optional. Can be a little buzzy, nothing major at all, and the enginge heat is noticable. I was considering a newer FZ6, but found a really great deal on an 01 with extremely low miles.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

R. Treamer

Grand Rapids , Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What can I say, I'm STILL in love. It's fast, it handles, and it's comfortable. NO problems, knock on wood. Settled on Amsoil, change it ALOT more often than they say to, and Honda Red Can chain lube. The bike just gets BETTER. I've got a full fairing on it, bobbed that ugly rear fender, NOW it looks like what it is, a sport bike, only it's comfortable. Did I mention comfortable? EXACTLY what I wanted.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B.Wallis

Edmonton, Alberta

Reviewed on 2002-10-01

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After reading the cycle rag reviews, I sprung for a new blue streak last year. I bought my 1st street bike back in '83(GS650E)after playing on a YZ for 3 years, and was unbeleivably bored with it's poor performance! Ater many bikes up the displacement ladder, I've finally found something that puts a smile on my face EVERY time I get on it. This thing carves through the mountains like it was made for it, and purrs at a more moderate pace in the city without missing a beat. This bike will not dissappoint those who need the speed without the discomfort inherent with open class bikes. Now how much for new tires(again)!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2002-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Sportbike-like handling in a standard style frame. It works for me! I've put on 1000 kms on my FZ1 since I got it 3 weeks ago. Most of it commuting and a few "trips to the corner store". This machine is amazing. I find it easier to ride than my previous bike, a Virago 535s. The motor pulls very strong in the mid range. On the freeway, I've only reached 4000rpm in 6th gear and the motor had a lot more to offer. Of course the speed limit and breaking the engine in properly kept the throttle from being fully applied. I'm looking at an aftermarket windshield for freeway riding. I found yamahafz1.com to be really helpful.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dwight Allen

Layton, Utah

Reviewed on 2002-04-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just rolled over 5K and it just keeps getting better. As much power as you could want with a top end rush that puts a smile on your face. Will do just about anything very well!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Kasem

Whitmore Lake, Michigan

Reviewed on 2002-03-04

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bike has spent The winter in my front room.I have made alot of modifications. corbin seat,lower cowl,slip on exhaust chain guard,taller windsheild,clear lens turn signals,super white headlight bulbs throttlemeister,tank pad.mobil1.As you can see I love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 25 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: