Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

30 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

EviLar

Jacksonville, Illinois

Reviewed on 2008-04-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Where do I start? I've been riding for almost 30 years and owned a wide assortment of bikes and I can honestly say that this is by far the best bike I've ever owned. Last year after doing some research on the FZ1 and the R1 I decided to go test drive both. The R1 has power, the FZ1 has that AND everything else. Guess which I came home with? The FZ1 has all the power anyone on the road could ask for. Crack the throttle open at 110 mph and you had better be hanging on because it will try to throw ya! It will easily keep up with the much more expensive sportbikes and you won't have to stop and stretch your back out or try to get the feeling back into your wrists after 50 miles. It has great ergonomics and with the replacement of the stock seat one can easily ride all day. The only minor things I didn't like about the bike were easily replaceable and not too expensive. I replaced the hulking heavy muffler with a much better looking, better flowing and better sounding Leo Vince. The driver's seat I replaced with a Corbin. I got rid of the flimsy plastic back fender with a Competition Werks fender eliminator and replaced the front signals with flush mount LEDs. For an experienced rider that wants a bike for more than just flat out speed, the FZ1 can't be beat. I wouldn't however recommend this bike for a novice rider because it does have the potential to gain control of the rider at higher rpm. Not a problem for us experienced riders (that high rpm power is a trip!), but a newbie could easily lose it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Road-Rider

Lithonia, Georgia

Reviewed on 2008-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has telepathic handling, quick take-off, lots of power, great top end and a comfortable riding position. It is a great all-around bike. It just needs a luggage system and you are ready for anything.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daniel

White Springs, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-12-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After putting about 15,000 miles on my CBR, I changed over to the FZ. I primarily bought it because it would be more comfortable for my wife when she rides with me. I was slightly disappointed in the comfort of the front seat. It has also taken some getting used to the upright seating, but it is growing on me. After replacing the 17-pound stock pipe with a mere 7-pound Yoshi (race baffle) and installing a Power Commander USB III (custom mapped) and a BMC air filter, I have noticed a considerable difference in power. I have seen where other people have written about a buzzing around the vent above the speedometer. That was easily remedied by a little black silicon around the edges. I will be replacing the stock front seat soon. I can't stand to sit on it for more than about 60-70 miles (partially because I lack padding on my buns). Overall, the bike is a great buy for under $10k.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen

Syracuse, New York

Reviewed on 2007-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second motorcycle. I started riding in March on a 2002 SV650 and upgraded in July to my 2006 Yamaha FZ1. This bike rides very well and power is easy to manage. The bike is extremely fun in corners, comfortable on the highway, manages traffic well and is a great all around bike. My butt got too sore with the stock seat so I upgraded to Corbin - very comfortable. The bike buzzes at 4,000 to 4,200 rpm but then settles out - gets annoying and is a very common problem. After 2,600 miles the bike is getting smoother and less twitchy. The Power Commander III I installed has also helped smooth out the bike. It does have a small fuel tank - can typically go 150 to 200 miles before fueling up. Also suspension is a bit firm, need to adjust. This bike turns heads and gets people out of their cars just to see what kind of bike you're riding. This is an AWSOME BIKE, great all around performer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kevin lindsey

fairfax, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After four months and 3500 miles, I'm still in love with my FZ1, although I've begun to see some small faults. First, the good: About 500 miles or so ago (after an oil change) the engine quieted down to silky smoothness. Still the occasional rattle, but otherwise it sounds like a sewing machine. Really nice. This thing's still a beast, however, with really ridiculous power. Until I started driving for max mpg, I was doing my morning commute - average about 40 mph - and never leaving second gear. Just for giggles, sometimes I'd drive it at 40-50 in first just to hear the engine howl, and got no complaints from the bike. The FZ1 handles like a champ and is a blast in the twisties. I still find the factory seat to be very comfortable and have no plans to upgrade it. Other reviewers' comments on wrist pain are strange to me, 'cause the ergos on this thing don't put any weight on my wrists whatsoever. Now, the bad: After about 2000 miles, I began to see what they mean when folks complain about the twitchy throttle. I see it particularly when I drop power going around intersections; when the time comes to power back up, it takes a half second or so. This could conceivably be dangerous if you're not expecting it, as the power comes on fast and furious. I understand that this comes about due to environmental requirements imposed on the bike, and that Yamaha still hasn't cured this problem, but it's a problem nonetheless. I've gotten used to it and, in all honesty, kind of like the quirkiness of it, but others are not so enthusiastic. The tank is way too small, and you're lucky to get 130 miles out of it before the last fuel bar begins to blink. I commute almost 50 miles per day and have to refill every other trip. No big deal, but it's something to consider if you're looking at the FZ1 as a long distance cruiser. On the whole, this is a truly magnificent bike with more power and performance than any sane individual could ever want.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don

Banks, Oregon

Reviewed on 2007-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Anyone who modifies this bike for performance has a death wish, I agree. I looked at the Bandit, the 919, and the FZ1. The Bandit was all engine, the 919 was excellent but low-tech, but the FZ1 has it almost perfect. I love the suspension, the brakes are excellent, and yes, the engine and tranny are noisy, but I'm hoping 20w-50 after break in will fix that. I love the dashboard, it has everything you could want. This bike is way too easy to ride fast. I wanted something modern for what is probably my last bike, having come from a '82 GL500. haven't bothered checking the mileage yet, but I will update after break in. I will order the Yamaha seat upgrade for sure. The fairing is perfectly sized, but the bars put too much weight on my wrists. I will just try to turn them up a bit and see if that helps. After I get a little more used to it, I might not have such a death grip on the bars, though.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randell Rogers

Herndon, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've put 2K miles on my bike since I bought it in December and it's been great. I ride it almost daily as a commuter and on the weekends I play around with the local crotch rocketers. I get beat in the hard twisties by the Duc'sters. I can literally ride figure 8's and what not around them in the parking lots while they are working back and forth just to back out of a parking spot. This bike is well balanced... I only have to put a foot down at a stop if I'm going to be there for more than a second. It's as fast as hell on the pipe and will pull the front up in 3rd and run away from the Ducs. My engine is really clattery and noisy but nothing seems to be broken yet. I'll be back with a longer test for durability. Fantastic bike for the money.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Leesport, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
To update my last first impression review...I will start by saying the gearbox is shifting much better now after an oil change. I would recommend anyone do this after a few hundred miles. The bikes power is ridiculous. I have actually lifted the front wheel by accident in 3rd gear! I replaced the junk seat with a corbin and now I can ride for hours. The rifle windshield I ordered was humongous and I had to return it. The base they give you is too flimsy and the shield flexes terribly. I went with the Givi windscreen and it does a great job. I got the largest bar risers that can be put on the bike without longer cables and there is still more weight on my wrists than I like. Bike consistently gets over 40 mpg. The tank capacity is pathetic at 4.75 gal. Bikes in this class generally have much larger tanks. I have finally realized this bike should not be in the same class as a V-Strom or Tiger...It is a sportbike. If you are shopping for comfort, get another bike. If performance and looks are more important, this might be for you. I was looking for comfort and thought this may be it, but now I am addicted to the power. Rev this thing over 7k in any gear and hold on tight!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kevin

fairfax, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First, let me say that I've only been riding for a year, and have only ridden my only bike, a 1981 Honda CB750K. I can't compare my 2006 FZ1 with anything else, 'cause I haven't ridden anything else. Full disclosure over, let me say that I don't see how a motorcycle could get any better than a gen2 FZ1. It's extremely fast, though very gentle and easy to control. Not really a beginner's bike, although it's a great one to learn on once you have the basics down and feel you have enough discipline to control your throttle hand. (Frankly, I've always ridden near the speed limit but, since I bought my FZ1 a month or so ago, have found myself typically exceeding the limit - sometimes by a pretty wide margin.) I use this bike for pretty much everything: I commute about fifty miles every day (20 to work, and 30 back home when I don't have to be anywhere on time and can take the twisty back roads run errands; take day trips on weekends; whatever. This bike is perfect for all occasions. It's comfortable enough to put a couple of hundred miles on without a painful backside, and the riding posture is aggressive without putting too much weight on my wrists or back. Needless to say, I no longer hold up traffic when the light turns green. I guess the most endearing thing about this bike is its user-friendliness. I wasn't sure that moving up to a liter bike was such a good idea, and spent much of the night before delivery with images of making unintentional wheelies and stoppies all the way home. Nothing of the sort. This beast's a gentleman and handles as sweetly as anything I could imagine. Acceleration is gentle, and braking is firm but not grabby. The gearing is set up perfectly for the typical urban rider in that you won't pull wheelies in first, and you won't be the last one home in sixth. The transmission is extremely smooth and all controls are exactly where you'd want them. Best of all, it's even got a fuel gauge (a tremendous improvement over the CB750's petcock) and a digital clock. The thing turns on a dime and is very light and responsive in turns. It's behaved itself flawlessly and kept itself under control so far. However, when I take it up over 5000 rpm, I can feel 'er coiling up and getting ready to fly. Sounds silly, but it's as if it understands that I'm still a beginning rider, but is telling me that it's ready to open up and scream when I feel I'm ready to go there. Honestly, I love this bike and can't imagine anything better. For those who live in Northern Virginia, you'll understand what I mean when I say that I actually look forward to my commutes since I bought this FZ1.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

FZ1 rider

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2007-04-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great bike for someone who wants good performance but has back problems. I really really wanted a full sport bike because I needed something to keep up with an R1, CBR1000, R6 etc. I found everything I wanted and more in the FZ1. Sure the R1 and CBR1000 riders could get away if they try, but on most rides it's rare that I am struggling to keep up. If you're like me and need decent performance and an upright riding position look no further than this amazing bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 30 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: