Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

matt j

Idaho

Reviewed on 2021-02-26

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
BEST SPORT TOURING OUT THERE. I loved my 07 for thousands of miles. simple Japanese bullet. goes fast when wanted and needed but tours like a champ. I cashed it a few days ago and I'm distraught. looking for a new one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Christiansburg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased this motorcycle from a local dealer on 8/24/10 and all I can say is "Wow, this is a great bike." I'm a bigger guy and it's fairly comfortable. Mine had an aftermarket seat when I got it and an MIIV aftermarket exaust which sounds great as far as performance. It's a 1000cc bike in a straight line. It's extremely fast in the turns. It could be better. It's a very good-looking bike and it's very smooth. It is well suited for sport touring. I will give this bike a 4 out of 5. It's overall a solid bike and I definitely recommend it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

nopaultaylor1975

London, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2010-01-25

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I live in London England. I commute and get around town by motorbike, and I also like a good burn at the weekend. This bike really does kick arse. Yamaha have got so much right about this bike. It is a pleasure to ride around town, even in fairly heavy traffic. It just feels so comfortable stable and secure, even on pretty crap roads. It is really agile, nimble and well balanced. The best bike I have ridden round town, and that includes a lot of bikes. On the open road, what a buzz! What an engine. It will do whatever you want, and whatever you want to do, suits the bike. It is an animal if you want it to be, it is a refined and controlled sports tourer if you want it to be. You can even ride very sedately and with the smooth engine it can really pull that off too. It seems that however you want to ride the bike, it suits being ridden in that way. Round town or on the open road, this bike has style and character, and it feels good! I think this is already a modern classic model and I can't recommend it highly enough. The suspension could possibly do with a small amount of adustment from standard. I'm not sure what yet. I guess I am just trying to imagine a better version of perfection. I can agree with others that the seat is hard, and after just a couple of hours, you can start to get a numb arse, but that's to be tolerated, and anyone'e tolerance will increase/arse will toughen up with time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

wayne rhodes

florence, Alabama

Reviewed on 2009-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The best bike you could ever want for all around use. Insurance is cheap! Way, way, way cheaper than the R1. Comfortable riding with high bars. For the money it's your best friend. I laugh when people try to compare the FZ1 to the race version R1. Apples and oranges to say the least.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Akshay Dabholkar

Brentwood, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2009-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Performance: Power is everywhere. You have to be really watching the speedo as speed climbs quickly and you don't even notice it. I don't feel like I am riding a much powerful bike in the sense of being fearful. The 06 had a throttle snatch where power used to dip and surge at 6K rpm. This is called the fuel-cutoff. Ivan's FCE is the solution. 07 and beyond don't have it much as Yamaha slowed down the rate at which the secondary flies are opened. However FCE will make a difference on the 07 FZ1s too. I got the Ivan's performance package cheap from ebay so I will report back the difference. Handling: Handles like a dream, so compact. It tracks and holds a line great. The front end on the FZ6 hangs out too much. For the FZ6 I had to point the front end in the right direction in the curves even with R6 forks. FZ1 falls into a line almost automatically. Riding Position, Handlebars, Footpegs: The riding position is very natural for touring as well as carving the twisties. Though I may still rotate up the bars a little bit. Actually not needed once your muscle memory builds up. A little more aggressive stance than the FZ6. That is the reason I put FZ1 bars on the FZ6. PERFECT RIDING POSITION among the many bikes I have tried and sat on. I feel like I am ONE with the bike which I didn't feel with the FZ6. The FZ1 is very compact in the front. Wind Protection: The stock screen is great so far. Less turbulence. Have to ride one with a aftermaket double bubble screen to know whether to get it or not. I actually got the MRA Vario and it has eliminated the turbulence totally. Beauty is that it is the same height as the stock and the 7 position adjustable laminar lip makes it comfy for the pillion too. Seat: The seat may need to be changed but I was fine after a 180 miles interstate ride. You feel like you are sitting on the bike rather than into it. But then the stock FZ6 seat was the same too. Stock brakes are awesome. 2up: My wife actually feels more comfortable on the FZ1 stock seat compared to the FZ6 Top Saddlery seat as she sits a bit higher. I have bought a Sargent seat already for the rider. Suspension: Suspension is good too but will become gr8 after it is properly dialed in. But the stock setup with the rear shock on preload 5 is working great for me. Actually it is the best I have seen on a stock bike. It absorbs bumps much better than the R6 suspension on my FZ6. Could actually adjust the rebound and compression a bit for the twisties. MPG: Ohh did I mention: 43 mpg interstate avg speed 75mph (95-100 tops) even with 10 less psi in both tires (forgot to check b4 leaving). I bet you could get 50 at 55-65mph speeds on local roads. On spirited twisty rides the FZ6 returned 48mpg whereas the FZ1 returned 44mpg which is freaking cool. Lights, Controls: The headlights are like a volcano. Amazing visibillity and spread with the dual H4s. Tail light is good with the dual pods. Controls are good quality, easy to use and standard. Instrument cluster is great with lots of details like air and coolant temp, fuel gauge, tacho, odo, two trip meters, f-trip/reserve, battery, oil, maintenance, high beam, neutral, adjustable brightness, clock. Could do with a gear indicator and trip computer for a sport touring bike. In Short: I will say anyone who is on the verge, should upgrade to the FZ1. I betcha this bike is more suitable for the tracks in terms of handling if not in terms of excess power compared to the FZ6. It handles much much better. You will forget the FZ6 quickly. I can say this as I own both and can ride them back to back. Even though I loved the FZ6 I always used to be confused if it was really the bike I wanted, whether it was my perfect bike and I used to always look at other bikes. At least now I will stop lusting/looking at other bikes. It is the ultimate bike I wanted. Trust me, I don't look at other bikes any more on ebay, CL, cycletrader, etc. Some reasons being it is a FZ1 - an icon, legendary bike, it is such a looker and then the power. Go test ride one! If you don't want to upgrade then you better don't as that test ride will make you think about getting the FZ1 all the time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CameraMAN

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2009-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just traded my S4 Monster in for a pre owned perfect condition Lava Red FZ1 Fazer 06 with 4000 miles on the clock, only had it just over a week and cannot keep off it. This bike is the perfect blend off usable performance comfort and handling, what a bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jimbo

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2009-06-04

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike as it fits me like a glove at 5'9. The engine has long legs and really pulls hard from 5000 and up. Agile and comfortable, perfect mix of sport and comfort! I see keeping this one for a LOOOOOOOOOONG time!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Blackflyrancher

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2009-01-13

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike about six months ago and have been commuting with it to work. It has been a great bike and I find myself riding it as much as possible - garaged my truck for road trips only. The handling is awesome, the power is smooth and gutsy (though you won't be screaming off the line with it) and it has been zero trouble in the time I have ridden it. I consistently get 30 mpg commuting, about 33-35 cruising. I am usually not easy on the throttle. It has been easy to learn and adapt on this bike - the more I ride, the better the riding gets.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ahamay

chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2007-08-20

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding for over 15 years before purchasing a '06 FZ1. I was going to get an 05 FZ1 but waited for the spar frame and fuel injection. Boy was it worth it! The look of this bike is like a professional bodybuilder wearing a torn shirt with muscles bulging out. I feel that this machine is one of the best all around bikes available. It has plenty of power once it's over 4000 rpm and pulls HARD after 8000rpm. This machine tries to stand up on me if I hold it wide open threw any gear 1-3. It HAS come up on me when tring to zip around traffic at 117 mph. It will do 85 in first gear and has no problem tickeling 160 mph. Suspension is wonderful once adjusted, stock settings were too soft for my style of riding but a couple of clicks to the front fork/rear shock and it sticks like she should. My buddy has an '06 750 GSXR that this bike has no problem staying grip to grip when racing. COMPLAINTS: needs a steering stablizer with this kind of go-power, seat is unforgiving for my bony arse when riding all day, fuel tank is a little too small for a 1000cc machine (only 3.3 gals/100 miles of ride time) but the riding position is fantastic for me. Anyone that wants sportbike performance without having to lay across the fuel tank like a gutted pig should take a LOOONG look at this gem by the boys in blue. You won't be disappointed. GET OUT AND RIDE , SHINY SIDE UP !!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim James

Spokane, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike the middle of June and now have over 3500mi on it. I have been riding VFR 800's for the last several years but was looking for something more comfortable. What impressed me first was the amt of power this bike makes, from 7,000 rpm to redline it is a blast. What I didn't like was the buzziness at around 5k rpm and the seat just plain hurt after 80mi. But after a couple of long trips of 800-900mi in length, I absoulutly love this bike. I got back on my old VFR and was immediatly realized that I had made the right choice in buying the FZ1.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: