Honda CBR1100XX Motorcycles Reviews (80)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CBR1100XX Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda CBR1100XX Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-07-07 1997 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought with 12K, now have 20K. My 12th motorcycle and 3rd Blackbird. Should have never sold the other 2...first one I got with too little riding experience though :) Probably the best bike of all time. Smooth as glass...ooozes quality everywhere from the insane power to incredible brakes, shifter, chassis. Totally reliable. A shame can no longer buy them new. Had a Hayabusa...felt like cheap vibrator compared to the Blackbird.
- Howie, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-30 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Blackbird represented the best that could be offered without a jet pilot's license. A cult following in Europe, this machine flys like an F-16. The linked brake system provides for excellent braking without thinking about stopping. The bike cuts through canyons like a Samurai sword. Not for the timid, you will turn into a slingshot if you are not careful. Not for the timid or pop wheely crowd.
- Big Bob, Thousand Oaks, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-07 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an outstanding machine that I bought new on 4/2/2002. It runs like a watch, has linear, liquid acceleration, almost like an electric motor and it does not vibrate. 300-500 mile day rides through 3 states are common. It has the brain-rotting speed to pass... anything.
- Mike, Conyers, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-20 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a closing review for my 2003 CBR1100xx. I have owned this bike since new for 3 years. And what a blast it was! I picked up the last bike at my dealership right out of the box and kept it stock. A very rare thing to do with a motorcycle. I just couldn't re do perfection. The bikes performance was astounding and left me speechless on many occasions and left me with a silly grin on my face. I have had the bike up to 140MPH on the freeway, that was fast enough and didn't have to downshift from sixth gear for more power. This is the smoothest bike I have ever ridden and it gets better with mileage. She will cruise at 100MPH all day long without a complaint because that's what she was built for. The engine sounds like a jet fighter, just roll the throttle back and that big ram air fed 1100 spools right up and effortlessly hurls you down the road. The ride is very stable and smooth. Cornering is excellent for a machine of this size and weight. I actually ground off the chicken strip on the right peg form doing off ramps at 60MPH - awesome bike! Honda got it right with this bike and it's a shame they don't make these anymore. Now for the bad. The only complaint I have is the ergos of the bike. If your short in the inseam like me, the bike is too big. You will be stretched out like a drag racer across the fuel tank. After 30 minutes discomfort sets in. My wrists and back took the most abuse. My Sunday ride landed my at the chiropractor on Monday. And no matter what I tried, the pain wouldn't stop. So sadly I had to sell it. My advice is if you're 6 ft or greater this bike should fit you just fine. If you're short like me test ride it first to see how you feel. I'm sure you will love it. I know I did.
- Dave, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-12 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have now logged over 8000 mi. since Sept.05 on my 03 bird. Got it used with 7000mi. The bike has run like a new bike since day 1. The bird is as great as a sport tourer as it is a sport bike. Riding alone the bike is a rocket, 0-100 by the time you hit 3rd gear. Crack the throttle at 4000 rpm in 1st and the bike will stand straight up. It's a heavy bike so it doesn't dive into corners like the lite sport bikes but it still handles great. I like to take longer rides with my wife on back, and we both love it. Took a trip down onto the ozark mts. in 06 500 miles 1 way without a hitch. Handled great through the twisty mountain roads with the wife on back. We have the givi bags and largest trunk so we can easly hold all our gear for a long weekend. I don't know what more a person could want out of a bike because the blackbird has it all! Ride On!
- rock barnett, oswego, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-03 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In a world of 180+ hp sport-brutes, why would Honda (who had such an amazing bike in the late 90's) just bow out of this competition? I ride with some real nut jobs; long two-up wheelies, drag racing, endo's, everything. I have never gotten one ounce of 'dis' from any of them. I have also handed out my share of whoop'ins. For what Honda put into these bikes, they're right on. Is a guy gonna start beating the big boys? Not without mods. This bike will get into the mid to low 10's stock with 9's close at hand, and NO other sport-brute will leave with you for the price - that's for sure. I recommend a full exhaust and tech-box immediately for anyone. Saves weight and gives power (half the pipe burns too). Also, if you want to wheelie, stiffen up your rear susp. There's no need to change gearing, but if you're not going to do 180, it'll make that trip to 150 A LOT quicker. Watch out for this thing in first gear though; it has a monster midrange so it will 12 oclock like nothing if you don't know what you're doing. Remember those little 1000R's have to wait for power.. 1100's don't. This was the first new bike I've ever bought and if Honda can't pull thier heads out of their butts, I'll have to get a Kaw next time. If money's no object, get a 14; if you don't want the BIG size, get a Busa; if you have a tight budget, still want big power, and you still want the size, then get a Blackbird.
- Alex Esser, Valparaiso, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-19 2001 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
5 years of trouble-free fun. I've been riding sport-oriented bikes for thirty years (now 46 years old). Have owned Kawasaki, Suzuki, and Honda brands in the past. This one's got great acceleration, and I appreciate the classic lines, quality candy red paint, and lack of high school hooligan appearance. Very refined, as one would expect from this hyper-tourer. I've taken her on some pretty long jaunts with a level of comfort I couldn't have dreamed of based on the bike's performance. Short spirited hops are rewarding as well. My only complaint would be the handling, but it's a minor sacrifice for the creature comfort. I've ridden the 'Busa and the Kawi, but I'm still quite happy with my choice. I usually don't keep bikes over five years, but don't think I'll be replacing this one for a long time. I've found the perfect match for what I consider most important: performance, some degree of comfort, understated style, and reliability. Thanks Honda.
- Joe, Woodbury, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WOW, a super fast sport bike that is comfy enough to tour on! 1,000 mile days are nothin for this bad boy!
- Rick, Hastings, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-05 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my '02 used with 1630 miles in Aug. '05. I also have an '05 Busa. The XX is 100 times smoother than the buzzy Busa and nearly as fast and much more satisfying to own. Bulletproof so far. Build quality is second to none. The Busa is a bit more comfy to ride and has a better stock suspension than the XX but the XX is so smooth in every gear... no vibes. Might be the greatest bike ever. And it's wicked fast.
- Jamie, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-15 1999 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a blue 1999 blackbird it has full micron exhuast and upgraded computer,I first test drove a 1997 carbed blackbird then mine and wow the fuel injected bike is much more responsive and aftermarket pipe make this bike a beast I have had it up to 270kmh no problem. The power this bike makes over 7000rpms is insane but is also a very easy bike to ride slow, but make no mistake about it this bike likes the open road. This is an amazing machine. PERIOD.
- Justin McMillan, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-15 2001 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of those bikes I call a sleeper. I remember first getting it and my son said what an ugly bike. Until he got a ride on it. After that he couldn't say anything bad about it. The bike might not have the look of the other CBR's that Honda makes or any other sports bike. But it has the power. I'm in my late 40's and I have been riding bikes some 23 years. This is my 4th bike. I'm one of those guys who buy a bike and keep it for years. I just let go my 850 special XS, 1980. It was a very good bike for all those years. But I decided to move on to something newer. The Honda CBR 1100XX was a choice that was made by accident. I was looking at the R1 Yamaha. But after looking over and seeing this bike in the show room I ask for a test ride. Compared to the Yamaha this bike was just what I was looking for. It was smooth, easy to handle and had a gas tank for the long distance. The power of the bike is not what sold me. It was the way it looked. Very little markings on it. No flashy paint scheme. Just plain and good looking. I had a chance to go for a long ride over to Montana to see an old friend of mind. It's been awhile that I have been on a long ride. But I did it and it was great. I recommend this to everyone looking for a good time.
- Don Marable, Marysville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 1997 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Of the 5 bikes I have the XX sees the road more often than all the rest put together, and it doesn't look like a carnival coming into town like most teen machines today, smooth, fast, reliable, the only parts replaced in 61k miles was 2 batteries and a chain tensioner at 35k, part was 29.00 and 15 minutes to replace, still doesn't burn a drop of oil, you can go through some tires if your hard on the throttle. VFR handle bars make it more comfortable for the long hauls.
- Ron, Palm Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-27 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello all. Being a Service guy at a dealership, I daily ride everything that the Asian engineers throw out there. The bikes coming out now are mind blowing to be sure. Technologically advanced to the point of making the perfect bike for just about anyone's taste and riding preference. But, for me outside of work, I want to ride with my younger buddies through the twisties, take my girl touring through the country scenery, riding through heavy traffic with instant acceleration and stopping power for safety, and blow the doors off almost any youngster whom wants to challenge a "Real, live Honda Technician". (Gotta reputation to uphold, ya know?) My Fj1200 was perfect for many years and 54,000 miles, and when the XX came out I knew I was going to own one as it was a lot like James Bond. Smooth, Refined, and ready to deliver a serious ass kicking at a moments notice. I finally got one for myself, as I had already logged many miles on other people's bikes. It's the perfect next step. Kinda kills me when I read reviews where someone says "it leans slightly more to the SPORT side" Gee, ya think the world fastest production bike 2 years running might be slightly sportier? It is. But that's where I feel safest, right where I need to be should the dumb motorist arise from "No-where". Try swerving fast on a 1800cc touring bike and you will probably find yourself upside down in a bean field. I'd rather have the power and handling to avoid problems than be involved in something that I COULD have avoided if my legs weren't spread in front of me and I was sitting reclined trying to nose my bike through a sticky spot. CBR1100xx is for me the ultimate bike, and I await the next bike that comes along like this all around wonderful "Like having your own roller coaster" motorcycle.
- Mr. Thomas, Florence, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-30 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has to be the perfect sport bike, I don't think of it as a sport tourer. Everybody talks about the 1000's, but they have never ridden an XX. The comfort in the riding position is perfect for my size. You can be on this bike all day without getting tired. Brakes, you have to love the linked braking system, you can never over brake the front or rear of the bike. The motor makes so much power it will out run everything out there in a straight line except the Busa with half the noise and vibration you get from the 1000's. I had mine on a dyno and it was making 151 horse power to the rear wheel. I have also had mine on the track scraping the foot pegs in the corners and doing 165 down the straights. You can have just as much fun on the XX as the 1000's on the track. If you're a great track rider you will obviously notice it's a litte heavy. I got 11,000 miles on my original tires (no burnouts). I change the oil every 3000 miles and it has been flawless unless you don't lock-tite the primary drive sprocket bolt, it will back out. (my fault) Guaranteed you will love this bike. The only bad thing I can think of is there isn't much of a demand for these and I got mine as soon as the 2003's hit the show room floor and two years later you can still find new 2003's for a bunch less, but its worth every cent.
- Ben, Federal way, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-07 2001 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2001 XX after going through the F3, F4i (mine got stolen), VFR (almost perfect bike), ZX6R. After 30,000 miles in 4 years, this bike is the closest thing to perfection that I have ridden. To make it better, I added heli bars (really - who likes to ride with that much weight on the wrists?), power commander, Erion racing exhaust, K&N air filter and a double bubble wind screen. The only way I would change bikes is if the VFR were offered as a liter bike (and the wife wasn't looking). On the downside, it's a bit heavier than I like, but once you start moving its wonderful balance makes you forget about how heavy it is. Slightly better brakes would be nice, but the Link system is wonderful. It does its job without you even knowing it's there. I spent a day at the track on the bike. Being able to use the full range of power was amazing. It just never stops pulling. A bit heavy when leaning deep into a turn, but nothing that can't be overcome.
- Glenn Catarious, Harleysville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-23 1999 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took one look at it and I was taken. I took my first lesson the next day after it was delivered. I was frightened but it was as if I knew already how to ride it as soon as I cracked the throttle. It takes turns with great ease and speed is great, when I get a open road near my house I test the bikes nuts and wow! It nearly took mine off. This bike has great potential for more glory (hmm...TURBOCHARGER) and I am going to take us there one day.
- Jason Ishmael, Fort Lewis, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-09 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Quick background on myself. I'm 54, been riding since I was 19. I have a car but I seldom use it, I hate traffic, I split lanes. I've logged over 400,000 miles, approx. 65,000 lane splitting on various bikes. Never in an accident from lane splitting. My Blackbird is a 1999. I bought this bike for the purpose of getting through commuter traffic and an occasional road trip. This use creates distinct perameters. I needed instant power (to take command of a bad situation), reasonable comfort, good reliabilty, and economy. This bike has good power, having a Kawasaki turbo in my garage is a fair comparison. The throttle is smooth and responsive, not always "hunting" like the lesser cc bikes, producing a lot of horsepower. Torque due to displacement is the key here. This adds to the comfort of being able to cruise the freeways at sustained speeds without feeling that you are either on or off the throttle. Comfort wise, the riding position(I have a pad and lay down on the bike)is reasonable for an occasional long trip. Las Vegas is a one stop trip, Barstow to gas up and take a 20 min. break, then to Vegas total of about 300 miles. As to reliability, prior to buying this bike, my first thoughts were to check with independant mechanics who were unbiased as to product name and get their recommendation. Front runners were the Busa and ZX-11. The Busa was out for personal reasons (me and Suzuki's have a poor history), the ZX has had a sporatic reputation as to having upper valve train problems above 70,000 miles. My fuel injected CBR XX got great reviews. To this date I feel I made the right choice. I will have to confess, my riding partner has a 2000 Busa, it has 68,000 miles on it, he beats it as hard as I do my Bird and it has not given him any real problems, just a crank seal at 60,000. My 'Birds only fault is the timing chain tensioner which has had to be replaced twice, easy and cheap fix($45), and a piece of cake to change. Economy sounds like a strange consideration when looking at this type of machine, but if it is your main transportation you do prefer to examine the alternatives. My buddy's Busa gets 36 mpg on a good day, it runs on premium only. The ZX-11 gets about 40 mpg and also runs only on premium. My 'Bird gets about 40 mpg (best ever was 43)and due to its internal knock sensors can run on regular. Yes, it runs slightly better on good premium, but if you live in someplace like Alaska where regular is all that is available throughout the state, being able to run on what is available is paramount. It does suck gas as the speeds increase, low 30's above 130mph. Summation, this bike does everything that I was hoping for. It is a straight like rocket ship, handles in traffic like a dream. Has a long wheel base to minimize the wheelies and track solidly at over 165 mph. It is a little heavy for canyon carving, bringing it down from the quickly attainable speeds can be hairy in the curves. On a full lean your left foot is hitting the pavement (causing your foot to upshift when you really don't what to go there). But the riding position is a compromise, not as cramped for street use as the alternatives. My buddy and I switch bikes on occasion to compare personalities, the Busa above 140 is in a different realm, but below that in the real world my 'Bird is the shining star. Would I buy this bike again? Yes, definitely, but I could use a turbo on it. After all, with the mods I have on it, it's only 151 hp.
- Digger , Anaheim, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-26 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After trying to decide between a Hayabusa or the Blackbird, I took test rides on used bikes and both of these bikes throw you back into your seat. So I went to all the user sites and the Hayabusa riders have so many complaints about what they needed to have fixed or recalled. So I went to the Blackbird sites and boy did they complain about having to change the oil and put gas in it and put new tires on every so many thousand miles. Now with my CBR11000 I have NO COMPLAINTS to speak of. This bike is so dependable, you'll look for something to do to it or update or modify it. When this bike came out it was the fastest production bike in the world. It has the aerodynamic profile of a 650, so it slips through the air like a hot knife through butter. The bike itself can hit 180 mph and do 0-60 in just over 3 seconds. It is a sport tourer / sport bike. It is so refined and smooth. It's a Honda, what more could you say. A number of riders have been problem free for over a 100,000 miles. I love my bike and have ridden all over Florida, have ridden the Tail of the Dragon, the Smokies, around Virginia and this bike is all that and more. I completely got rid of my chicken strips the first run up the Tail of the Dragon and the bike stuck like glue to the road and then I re-removed them on the way back down. You can ride this bike for hours and not need to get off and won't need to with the 6.3 gallon tank. The position and feeling is like riding a mountain or road bicycle, same riding position and same things to get used to. For the first 100 miles, you have to get used to not leaning hard on your hands and letting your legs and back support you. If this is one of your first sport bikes, it will take about 1000 miles to feel comfortable. But it is so fun riding everywhere you go on it. It's also a blast to have a Corvet or some other fast car, pull up beside you and TRY to take you. You'll see them in your mirrors and then at the next light they look at you and your bike with wide eyes of amazement. You'll never regret getting this bike, once you ride it, you'll be hooked and not want to ever get off or give it back. This is a long term owner bike.
- Blaine, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-03 2000 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, I'd like to say its great to see so many Blackbird lovers around. I'm a 1st time rider and owner of one,...I received advice from lots of people and for the most part, they all told me, "get a 600, and practice" One guy in particular told me not to worry about it,...my bike will find me. I didnt understand it until I saw my baby among Hauyabusas and other 1200s,... just posted like a star. I know "crouch rockets" have a high turn over rate. But I've had it for 2 1/2 years now,...and I plan on keeping it!!!!
- Melvin Williams, Richton Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-03 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery on my XX in March and I have not yet been disapointed. The ride is great. The trans is seamless and the smoothest engine I have ever felt or heard... far cry from the V twin I traded for it. My bike gets lots of compliments from riders and non riders alike. Even busa riders give me a friendly yet respectful nod at traffic lights. The supension is stable yet stiff and absorb the chicago asphalt well. The engine is brutally powerfull yet smooth as silk. I haven't opened her up fully yet because I want to break her in right. But I just couldn't resist the ocasional short blast down the street. One word... WOW!!! I'm going to put a set of helibars on in spring to ease up the load on my wrists and I'm still planning an exhaust and undertail to clean up the rear end. I'm sure this honey will keep a smile plastered on my face for years to come. Great job to the honda guys. So what will you do for an encore?
- Dave Steinke, chicago , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchase my XX in early April. All I can say is that the CBR1100XX does not dissapoint. This is the smoothest bike I have ever owned. It's speed and power are amazing, shifting is usually an option, it pulls smoothly from RPMs that would have most bikes choking. I am short, so the reach to the handlebars is a bit long, but I am getting used to it. I am planning on a Corbin seat, more for riding position than comfort. The stock seat is not that bad. The suspension can be a little harsh over bumps but the bike is very stable. You won't mistake it for a 600 on backroads, but that is not what it was designed for. It is an incredible loss to the motorcycle community that these bikes are no longer being produced by Honda, but all good things must come to an end. I am just glad I got one before the end.
- Jeffrey Neustadt, Killingworth, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-22 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my Blackbird about 3 weeks ago. I was thinking about a Super Fast Machine for quite some time now and couldn't decide on which bike I wanted. The ZX12R was out because of the riding position, and I rode one without being overly impressed. The Hayabusa was a choice but seemed too stretched out and I'm not crazy over the look of it. The Blackbird was the only one of the three that actually felt fairly comfortable and has a great reputation and sleek good looks, and since I knew Honda discontinued it for '04, I could probably get a good deal on an '03, if I could find one. Well, I found one and got a great deal on it as well as a really good price for the '03 FZ1 I traded in. I am here to tell you that I have ridden or owned many, many fast machines including the ZX11, CBR1000R, VMAX, FZ1, ZRX1100, ZX12R, Bandit1200S, ZX9R and others. The CBR1100XX Blackbird is awesomely fast and powerful, yet is smooth and comfortable. I have had this machine up to 160mph so far and it wasn't even breaking a sweat. I am an experienced rider and I don't recommend you go this fast, but the machine is certainly willing and very able. The rate of acceleration is hard to describe. It makes my FZ1, which was very powerful itself, feel somewhat slow by comparison. On a curvy road, this big machine does a good job with handling that is stable and predictable. I added Gen-Mar risers that raised the clip-ons by 3/4 of an inch. I also added English Touring Grips by Emgo that helped lessen the distance to the bars. After these modifications, the bike is super comfortable and can be ridden painlessly for hours and hours. Its so nice, I just want to keep riding and riding. I'm a bit older than "Howie" who traded in his Blackbird on a Gold Wing (a Gold Wing? This I don't understand) and I don't have any problems with the comfort at all. I love this machine. This is my 45th motorcycle. I have been riding for 38 years. Never have I ridden such a fine and thrilling machine.
- Michael Binder, DeLand, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-18 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well sad to say the XX didn't work out for me. As much as I loved this bike's performance, my lower neck and shoulders could never ride this bike for more than an hour without being in agony. So after 3K miles, I traded it in for a new Goldwing. I think the fact that I was uncomfortable on the bike was more b/c of me and just the way my body is at 34 rather than the bike. With bar risers I still had pain. As great a bike as the XX is, I just think it wasn't for me. Even though it's one of the more comfortable sport bikes, it's still a sportbike and that means it has a very sensitive throttle, fairly aggressive riding position and isn't exactly the kind of bike you can chill out and enjoy the scenery on...at least for me. The XX to me was more of a 1 hr thrill ride and it was perfect for that but sadly I couldn't ride it much longer but know many that can. I'm much happier now on my GL1800 but the XX is still incredible for the kind of bike it is.....a biggish, incredible performing sport tourer with a bigger emphasis on SPORT to me.
- Howie, Mclean, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-18 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my new Blackbird yesterday. It is a direct descendant of my previous bike, an 88 CBR 1000 Hurricane. All of the improvements I wished for and more than I ever dreamed of. Zero to 60 in 'oh my gosh' seconds. Sixty to one hundred with a flinch of the throttle without hesitation. It turns heads everywhere we go!! I can enjoy the sport part of it on my own and enjoy the touring part of it with company. The perfect bike!!
- Rich Dusseault, Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-09 2003 Honda CBR1100XX Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sorry Suzuki's, Kawasaki's, Yamaha's or even other Hondas. The XX is the bike. There is nothing, nothing out there with so much power and handling. Question...Where the 2004 model??
- Bruno Lopes, Silver Spring, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: