Honda CBR929RR Motorcycles Reviews (83)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CBR929RR Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda CBR929RR Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-09-11 2000 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned my 929RR for a little over three years. I acquired it from a friend who upgraded to a 2007 1000RR. This bike is all-around great. Although it does lack some of the power of the newer 1000's, it still gets up and goes! It runs in the low 10 second 1/4's and does 175. My gas mileage has been about 35mpg, give or take a couple depending on how late for work you are. This bike is extremely reliable. I got it with 18,000 on the clock and rode it up to 32,000 before selling it to one of my really good friends (that should attest for the fact that I know it will be running well for years to come.) It's one of the lightest open class bikes ever which translates to nice snappy turn in and great flickability. The brakes are great, huge and beautiful. The suspension is the only thing I haven't been 100% happy with. I have been fiddling with the adjustments for a long time but can't seem to get it right where I want it. Many people recommend upgrading the front springs to aftermarket, or sending the forks out. This is a much cheaper option than going with other high price suspension pieces which are great, but cost almost as much as you would pay for a 2000 929 at this point in time. The only problem I have ever had with it was the spark plug backing out a couple times. This was solved by buying the correct size extension for my socket wrench, because it's a really tight squeeze to get them tightened correctly. I removed the flapper from the air intake, which was only put there for noise reasons. It made the bike pull a little harder and sound much gnarlier in a good way. This bike likes to shake it's head too, so I would definitely recommend a steering stabalizer. I have a GPR and it works great, and they have great customer service. I also have a 2bro carbon-fiber slip on pipe. It sounds and looks great, but it will fade to a dingy goldish color if left in the sun too much. My friend and I just made a home made undertail/licence plate remover from sheet metal and it looks great and seriously took 10 minutes to make and install + paint time. That made the rear end look great. I could talk about how much I love the bike all day. But what it really comes down to is it's a great bike for the street. It came out before the big four turned their super bikes into full out track bikes with seating and bar positions that will make you ache on long trips. I find I can ride 160 miles straight with relative ease and little discomfort (which is how many miles you will get out of an almost full tank). I love this bike so much I am thinking of buying a 954RR as my next bike, which is almost exactly the same as the 929 but with a little more power and different plastics. You will not regret getting one. And just for all you haters out there, this was my first bike. It's not too powerful for a newbie rider, it all just depends on how far you turn the throttle.
- Tyler, Athens , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 929 used in 2002 from a guy I knew. The bike has been a champ over the last few years. While in Florida for college it was my only form of transportation. Even though it was kept outside every day it started like a dream and was just as much fun on the ride to class as it was on the weekends!
- Chris, Fairburn, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-27 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well number one let me say that all the reviews that I read are what made me decide to get this bike.... I traded an atv and some cash for this bike. The man I got it from was scared of it... I have ridden a lot of fast bikes... I had a gsxr-1100 1990 that was raced out...super fast but not very comfortable to ride...this bike so far is amazing....lots of power handles like no other bike that I've ridden... I've only had it one day...and man oh man I am very impressed with it.. I'll tell you what?.... I think I will be very happy with it... I need to get it serviced probably today... It'll give me an exscuse to go riding
- chris, fort mohave , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike, I used to ride a 600 F4, took a 3 year break and got back on this 929 and it felt right at home. The power delivery and reliability is impossible to rival, it is probably the most fun bike I have ever ridden.
- chizzau, fairfax, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-18 2000 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I remember my first ride on my 929RR from my CBR 600f4. I couldn't believe the power behind this bike after just tapping the throttle, it almost went up into the air. I'm pleased with the braking & lightness compared to the R1. I love this bike. For all users, if you don't put a pipe, steering damper, or command control on your bike, you only have 60% of what the bike actually is coming out of the plant.
- lawrence, detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-24 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2001 Honda CBR 929RR for my first street bike. A stupid decision because of how unexprienced I was. But I will say this... with all the respect I have given the bike, it does perfect. I know that I can get on the Honda and just go. I run ONLY DUNLOP 208 ZR's best tires ever, strongly suggest them, it's your life... you're already on a Honda, just finish it up with Dunlops. Buy a Honda. You won't be let down! Keep up the good work guys!
- John Carman, Ocala, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-18 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike that I have ever rode. I have driven my fair share of bikes, but they don't dare to compare to the CBR29. Have fun ride hard but keep the rubber side down.
- wrdhugo, las vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-22 2000 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rocks. I owned a 900RR back in 1998 and this bike blows it away. Mods include a Scotts steering damper, a Micron Exhaust and a Power Commander III. It's the Erion Racing edition. I bought it in January and have been riding in 30/40 degree weather. Can't wait for the summertime.
- Mike, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-11 2000 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bough a 00' 929, used, about 6K on it. Have put another 2K since. I was thinking of getting a smaller bike, this being my first one and all, but I'm a sucker for pretty things, besides every1 and their mother has an R6 or a 6R. Comparing it to my brother's 2002 Kawi 6R, is like comparing a Z3 to a 911 Twin Turbo. I do not wheelie on purpose, but with the 929 you just can't help it. If you don't lean forward, up it goes, even in 3rd. The only major problem the CBR has is the head wobble, YOU MUST GET A STEERING DAMPER. Having little experience riding, coming out of a turn it started shaking, I panicked, boom ended up flying down the road NOT on my bike. Thank god for frame sliders and grass, only cost me a little cleaning work to fix it up. My friends who have the SCOTTS steering damper on 929s say that problem is taken care of. My friends with GSXR1000s when they ride my bike, all they can say is WoW I didn't expect that from a Honda!!!
- VladiP, Bloomfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-15 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 11 track days, and 17K miles, it is still the best sportbike I've ever owned. The 929 is my 5th new sportbike. I've just had a blast with it. Been riding sportbikes for 20+ years, and the this is the best package altogether. Runs great, no problems with it. It is great on the track. I added a Scotts damper, but have done no other modifications to it. The throttle is extremely responsive, so a steady hand is needed. I am running a 180 on the rear, which makes it turn in even quicker. I would buy another one anytime.
- Zippy, Appleton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-01 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the Erion edition and it rocks. Maybe my skill level is getting better, but this bike gets faster everytime I ride. While living in Virginia there was absolutely nothing that could dominate it in the mountains. It also eats up the straights in Florida. I've rode them all and none is more complete than the CBR929
- Stuntz, Jacksonville Florida, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-09 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only thing this speed maniac needs is Scotts steering stabilizer, a Corbin seat,full exhaust system,Vortex rear sets,and definetly new rubber.The only other bike sicker than this baby is a GSX-R 1000 but is harder to do wheely tricks and endos.
- Nick Powell, Forest Lake, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-19 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i just bought a 2001 CBR929RR off a friend that just got finished tweekin every thing on this bike. Only one word can describe this bike....saweeeet. From the Sprint steering damper to the Two brothers exhaust, this bike has it all. A stock version would of done fine b/c this bike has got it all, from the super smooth tranny, to looks that could kill. I could go on forever but you'll just have to find out for yourself
- joe h, south j, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-22 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased brand new in April 2002 for $8500 plus freight and taxes. Good price and good looks made it difficult to walk out without buying it. Riding position is very comfortable and has a smooth power delivery that is not overwhelmingly powerful but fast enough. Although there is a slight hiccup low in the rpm's, I have learned to live with it. I will be taking it to the track to get some real times. Overall, a very good buy!
- C. H., Bronx, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-21 2000 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a new Honda CBR929RR Fireblade (A real mouthful). They call them 929's in Australia but all the manuals and stickers that come with it say CBR900RR. I like all the current sports bikes out there so if it sounds like I'm putting them down, I'm not. I would just like to tell you of my experiences and why I picked the Honda. I was seriously looking at the mighty Yamaha R1. All reports indicate it is a faster and more stylish? looking bike but when I found out it had carbys it turned me off. The front looks a bit bug eyed to me and why does it have big holes in the rear wheel hub?. Is that so you can run a chain through the holes? I know we all have different tastes, also style and colours should not be as important as performance and practicality. I could have bought a 2001 model R1 for the same price but I settled on a run out 2000 model Honda that spent twelve months on the showroom floor (it had never been started). The 2002 model fireblade has taken a lot of styling ques from the R1 i.e. little guard over the back wheel, sharp tail piece and those holes on the hubs. I rode my friend's 2001 R1 and the riding position wasn't noticably different. You can tell the steering is 'lighter' as the bike isn't as stable when I shake the steering while riding along. My friend had troubles keeping up with me on the bumpier corners. He used to run rings around me when I had my old 750 and he had the 600 (even when we swapped bikes back then). The Honda just makes riding that much easier. I have a lot of respect for Yamaha's quality or Suzuki's history of reliable strong bikes. The Ninja looks the best to me but I guess they are the cheapest for a reason. The Suzuki looked too uncomfortable. I have owned at least a dozen bikes which include a Ducati 900, Honda CB750, Suzuki 750 Katana and a whole heap of different dirt bikes (It teaches you a variety of skills riding different types of bikes). It's gotta have a motor and you have to do things that drivers couldn't imagine. I love the feeling when ten of us flash past cars (four wheel drives) that are bouncing along at two miles an hour on really churned up dirt tracks and fire trails. Or climbing up really steep hills where you are weaving around rocks that could send you flying off. Anyway to the Blade. I ride 15 kilometres a day to work and back so I needed something to sprint around town and the occasional trip with friends. I drag the car out of the garage if it looks too wet outside, so the bike was never going to lead a hard life. I have the luxury of living and working right on the outskirts of town so I never have to put up with the stop and start of city living. As soon as I leave my house there are open winding roads with 100 kph limits. You can break that speed limit without trying in second gear and first gear will do it too if you don't mind opening the throttle. It's easy to cover 400 to 500 kilometres in a day trip. I'm not going to use this as a 'track' bike, like 99.9 per cent of sports bike owners here, so it was important to get a good compromise with riding positions. Besides, once I take my bike off the road and onto a racetrack, it isn't covered by my insurance. The Honda is really easy to ride. that's not to say I can't ride. It's just that being easy to ride I can enjoy the world flashing by more. Opening the throttle in sixth gear before you know it you're doing speeds over 230 kph easily. You have to be careful opening the throttle too much going over the crest of hills as the front wheel will lift off the ground. Also you can feel the front skipping over the road surface going around bumpy corners. It's not a problem as the whole bike feels planted and solid and you just go on your merry way. The R1 weighs 177kg dry while the blade is 170kg dry. The R1 felt light and short but the seven kilos makes a big difference. Other bikes go fast too but unless you've ridden a sports bike you cannot appreciate how light these machines are,(especially with the petrol light on). The light weight affects your acceleration, braking and cornering (everything!!). It's like riding a toy compared to anything else. Even the next class of bikes, sports tourers are 25 per cent heavier and down on horsepower. The wheels are black, that way you don't see chain lube all over like the white rims on other sports bikes. If you get chips in the black paintwork you need to touch them up with paint. I have got a couple of chips from using a chain. I find a thick cable lock is easier to use without scratching anything. I don't mind lifting the front wheel of dirt bikes as they are made to take bumps and jumps, but I'm not into revving the hell out of the Fireblade and letting the clutch out. I see guys doing wheelies all the time and I'd hate to buy their bikes second hand. I have crossed intersections and if I leave it in first gear, the front wheel will lift off the road. Holding the revs at 6,000 rpm then snapping it open in first gear is enough to get the front wheel off the ground, especially if going uphill. Sometimes I think the clutch is slipping when I take off hard, but my friends tell me they see the back tyre smoking when I do this. The fireblade accelerates smoothly and overtaking cars are done in a second. The gearbox is very smooth when riding. You still get that cluck when you change from neutral into first. The manual doesn't say to rev the engine prior to changing down gears but I still do it from sixth gear down to second. It always seems to clunk into first so I gave up revving into first. All reports say the Honda's footpegs touch the ground first but I haven't found this a problem. The bike steers on rails as I see how close my feet are to the road while trying to get them to rub on the road (I'm one of those middle aged riders having some fun on his toy). My boots do rub on the road now but I still haven't got the pegs to rub yet. It is easy to use all of the back tyre up to the edges. I've come to grief on previous bikes and I don't want to go there on this bike. I've learned to trust this bike pushing it round corners. If I was too concerned I'd be driving a steel cage all the time. I have had a couple of scary moments with the back wheel sliding out while opening the throttle too much while leaning right down. Gravel can be a real worry on the edges of country roads and you find yourself trying to get it upright while trying to stop. I guess they are all hazards you'd expect in the 'real' world. Most the time I am riding between 4000 and 6000 rpm, but when you rev it past 7000 the power comes on with a rush. The exhaust note goes from Blue Thunder 'whisper mode' to a nice roar from the exhaust (I'm used to loud bikes) . There are no fancy emissions controls here so the exhausts are a bit lighter. Most riders fits louder aftermarket exhaust systems but I guess Honda spent millions of dollars in Research & Development designing that standard exhaust system. Update - I was going to stick to the quiet exhaust but I tried running my bike without the muffler and it sounded HOT (as any bike does without a muffler). The standard exhaust is 92db at 5500rpm and the R1 is 88 db. The legal limit is 94db here. So I decided to spend more money by getting a staintune exhaust muffler that just bolts on in place of the original. It came with a restrictor that makes it quieter. The restrictor allows it to be at the legal Db level but it still will not be street legal unless the restrictor is welded into place at the factory and the appropriate stamp is placed on the muffler. Why would you bother changing it if wasn't going to make any difference? The new muffler should get me approx two more horsepower with the standard mapping. Now my exhaust must be 102db. (I cut off the cone on the end of the outlet pipe that is full of holes, you'll see when you take the muffler off). Eventually I'd like to get a better air filter and get the computer remap
- Ray, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-03 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first bike on 5/01/02, it 2001 cbr 929 and its amazing. this is my first time riding a bike. People tells me to get 600cc since i'm a new rider but why get something that your gonna be bored after a year or two.. i say get a bike that you like but don't go crazy on the gas.. drive safe!!!
- Stephen, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-03 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, fast bike, cool bike! I got my 2001 in march 2002. It was brand new. Up until Memorial day weekend it ran like a charm. I was at the bike rally at Myrtle Beach SC having a helluva time riding hot chicks up and down the strip and suddenly it shut down on me. I was about to take off and maybe it was driver error but in anycase it wouldn't start back up. It had no power. I had to pull it to the side of the road and get it jumped off. How embarrassing! The battery was graveyard dead. It fired right up after the jump and I haven't had a problem since. So that's why I say "Almost Perfect"
- Kelvinzx, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-01 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been the lucky owner of a 2000 F4 and 2000 Gixxer 600 and now after having trading in the Gixxer on a 2001 929, I must say I've been missing something...POWER. The 929 is awesome. Acceleration and handling are without a doubt the best that I've had the pleasure to come across. Honda reliability and refinement are bonuses. Buy one and you won't be disappointed.
- Sapper22, Rolla, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-06 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 929 I received a recall notice from Honda regarding the clutch shaft and basket for the 2001. if you didn't get one you should contact your dealer and have them replace it free of charge. There is a danger that the clutch can break under heavy use/high speeds and cause havoc so have it replaced. Enjoy your 929. What an awesome bike !
- BRIAN, JUNCTION CITY, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-01 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read the review on the vibrating engine, you wanna talk about vibration? I traded in a 2001 Sportster (which was also a lemon) for my 2001 CBR 929RR Erion Edition and man what an upgrade! I'm still riding it mellow becuse it isn't broken in yet but I can already tell its only going to get better!! I do have a concern though, my clutch was rattling a bit today and with all this talk about clutch baskets I'm wondering if my I should be concerned. Anyone else with a 2001 have problems? E-mail me please.
- AB, Mountlake Terrace, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-26 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 929 about 10 months and am very pleased with it. It will shake its head at you coming down from a wheelie and under very hard throttle.First gear wheelies is simple.I would like to gear it down a little to get more pull in second gear. Only other thing that would be nice is to be faster than a GSXR 1000.I do not know if I can do any modifications to gain some h.p.without messing up the tuning.I have had it to 140 mph once to see how it felt.It only takes a few seconds.It would be nice to have Honda come up with things we could do to be up with the Suzuki 1000.You will not be sorry with this bike unless you are crazy like me and want more than you can use.Its a disease or something we old guys get.I am 45yrs.
- Jeff Dixon, Ashville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-13 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '01 CBR 929 (12/8/01) after my '99 CBR F4 was stolen (11/22/01). At the time I was extremely pissed to say the least, but now I have to say I wish I could find the guy who stole it just to thank him. The 929 to say in a few words, is a dream came true. The power, the handling, the delivery... absolutely amazing! The immense power almost rips u away from the handlebars at times. It handles better than my F4 did and feels just as comfortable. Power would be a bit too much for novice riders, so I would definitely not recommend it for people with less than 2 years of riding experience. Everyone out there with a 929, enjoy riding and be safe!
- Jamal Hasnat, Norman, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-04 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For street riding it's almost perfect. For the race track you'll need a power commander, STEERING DAMPER!, rear shock, fork-revalve&sprung, and get rid of that use-less HTEV (don't let anyone tell you that valve actually works). I'm just hard to please. Buy one!
- Ryan Parfet, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-13 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You only need a steering dampner if you plan on going over 145 mph. Or you do a lot of wheelies and want the added control when you put the front wheel back on the ground. Otherwise the 929rr is a great bike
- Jim Smith, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-28 2001 Honda CBR929RR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 929rr in April (2001) and really haven't looked back. I have 10k mi on it, much of it from the twisties. I have had no problems with it. For power I believe that perhaps even a GSXR 750 can beat it, realistically, with its high redline and light weight. But the 929rr makes loads of power enough and gives it to you in a smooth delivery. My focus has been in the twisties, canyon carving, and I have carved up many an R1 & GSXR. From the get-go I was keeping up with more experienced riders in the curves, and I believe it is because of the awesome handling of the 929rr, and the awesome Michelin Pilot tires. This bike has allowed me to easily find the line in the turn and then accelerate with stability. You can't beat it for real life sport riding.
- Sean Aranas, Concord, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: