Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM) reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Lloyd Blazs

Harrison Hotsprings, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2014-04-12

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Before the GL1800, I had the Honda Shadow - the VT750 which I wrote a review on, on this site as well. In 2011 I traded that in with something like 80,000 on the clock - but still running like new just like it came off the show room floor yesterday - for the GL1800. don't be fooled by the GL1800's size and weight, once it gets rolling. It seems to lose its heavy feel when standing still and corners and handles very nice with the grace of a ballerina while staying very firmly planted on the ground through corners that would make other bike rides have the hair on the back of there neck stand on end. Surprising really as this is my first GL1800 I have ever owned and it handles so light and nimble that it seems to be half of the weight that it really is. If you're seriously into touring, this is the bike to get hands down. don't let its flashy looks fool you into thinking that is a only a highway queen. I have taken my GL1800 on a 6-week, 28,000 km. touring ride through the Yukon, Alaska and North West Territories. If you think the roads are nice up there, think again. Many of the roads in the Yukon and the North West Territories are just plain gravel roads - sharp gravels that eat tires for breakfast and pot holes that you can lose a bike in! Rough...wow some, well many are so rough that the fillings in your teeth will fall out. The road's better suited to a 4-wheel drive truck then anything else. But this is what life is like up there. When it rains, then it's mud - sometimes ankle deep mud. These type of roads are the norm up there. Paved roads do not last through the harsh winters with temps dropping into the -40's and -50's for 6+ months out of the year. Again, the GL1800 excelled and handled all this in a exemplary fashion as it now became an over grown dirt bike must of the time. In all I think I did something in the area of about 3,500 or more km's up north on nothing but dirt and gravel and ankle deep mud when it rained, which was often enough. All this was done riding 2-up and loaded down to the point that I was well over the max weight limits set out in the manual. I know I was way over. I stopped at a truck weigh scale wondering just how much we weighed in at the beginning of the 6-week trip. I was well over the max. Then came the flash flood in the bad lands of Alberta that turned the small country highway I was on into a river that was near knee deep for a very long ways, and the GL1800 handled this like a real trooper. Then came the tornado, something I have never seen first hand and never experienced in my life. Now it turned into how fast can I get out of here, as there was no place to pull off, no place to hide. It was run for it, or end up becoming a part of it as in barreled right at me. With 2-up and well over weight, the GL1800 reached a speed of near 200 kmh. with ease and still had enough reserve power to take it beyond 200 and then some! The whole time it was well planted on the ground and under full control and did so with comfort. I on the other hand was nearing the point of having to need a fresh pair so shorts while staring into the eye of this monster tornado. I was doing very near 200 kmh. and being hit with leaves, twigs and other debris that was caught up and being thrown around by this killer which was now closing off my only way out its path of destruction. In a nutshell, it's a highway queen that knows how to have fun in the dirt and mud and has no problem going places that other bikes would fear to tread. For the serious touring rider this is the only bike you will ever need or want.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Coach 44

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2013-09-03

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a very nice motorcycle. I moved up from a Suzuki C50T (which I loved) but the Wing offers everything and more. Highway cruising is more comfortable, plenty of speed, nice radio and suspension. I was worried about the size of the bike, being only 5'7" but the bike is very balanced and I can handle with ease. I enjoy it and ride every chance I get.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George

Waverly, Iowa

Reviewed on 2012-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The engine is smooth and powerful with major power available at any engine speed. The throttle is a bit sensitive at lower speeds but not unacceptably so. Handling and braking are quite good and the bike is stable even in significant crosswinds. The weight does show up at walking speeds and the electric reverse is a life saver when backing uphill. Storage space available is phenomenal. With the addition of the taller windshield and air wings, air management is near perfect. The seat is good and my wife loves the rear seat but the passenger backrest leans too far back. For my size/weight, more outboard support would be desirable in the driver's seat and I may switch to an aftermarket seat. The suspension could be more compliant to smooth tar strips. Overall, we love it and would buy it again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dean F

Bear, Delaware

Reviewed on 2011-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is super smooth and comfortable, performs well and has decent ground clearance in turns. The navi, cb, and audio work seemlessly together for simpler operation than you might think. The switch housings put most of the controls at your fingertips. Stock lighting is more than enough as far as I am concerned. Air management is great with the help of airwings or similar. The aerodynamics are very stable at speed. Handling is so light and nimble when the bike is moving that you forget how much it weighs, however it will remind you at parking lot speeds, (a small price to pay for everything else the bike offers). The engine is in a class by itself with it's smoothness and the quality of its power delivery. The engine coupled with the handling characteristics combine for a superior riding experience.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug

Clinton, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2011-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great motorcycle. I previously owned a 1994 'Wing, but the improvements in ride and comfort in the '10 model are impressive. It's a great bike and I do not believe if anyone rides one, if they are honest, will be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

My 1st Goldwing

Merrillville, Indiana

Reviewed on 2011-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is absolutely incredible! I've had crotch rockets and cruisers, and neither come anywhere close to this bike. The bike is very comfortable, and it handles like a dream. I can honestly say I love this bike! You have to try one, you'll definitely be impressed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ken jenkins

Archer, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-02-16

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love my Wing. I wish I would have got this bike four Harleys ago. The staff is great and made this a great purchase. This is the perfect bike it rides like a sport bike only it's fat. If you are looking for a great ride, try it, you will love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

phillip wills

McEwen, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2010-08-21

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just wanted to tell everyone that is interested in buying a new motorcycle that after owning a 2009 Ultra Classic Harley and going for a test ride on a 2010 GoldWing, there is no comparison. The GoldWing is a far better handling bike. It has way more power and is honestly a dream to ride. I have been riding bikes for 32 years now and I only wish I had ridden a GoldWing years ago. It is by far the best motorcycle I have ever ridden. By the way I bought the Goldwing and will never go back to a Harley.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daryl Love

Northwood, Iowa

Reviewed on 2010-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a 2003 Illusion Blue Wing that I loved, but someone decided to run me over and total the bike so I bought a new one. My wife loves to go with and after a short trip to Des Moines for the Wing Ding, we traveled with friends (who own a 2009 Wing) to the beautiful state of Colorado. We visited our son logging over 2,900 miles through all kinds of weather and road conditions. The Wing handled fantastic even with all the junk my wife hauled along. (May need to invest in a trailer!) Can't wait till the next trip!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

wingboy

mesa, Arizona

Reviewed on 2009-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Honda Gold Wing Audio Comfort (GL18HPM)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding a 1990 Honda Pacific Coast 800 for the last 10 years, I thought it might be time to upgrade. I ordered my 2010 gl1800 base model that had premimium audio, heated seat, grips and in the pearl yellow on july 2009 and patiently waited a whole month to take delivery. On Sept 2, 2009 I took delivery of it and 2.5 hours later I rode it off the dealer lot and cruised it for 60 miles to get the feel of this AWESOME machine. The power, wind protection, comfort, etc., etc. was way over my expectations. After riding the pc800 I thought that was a great machine, boy was I wrong. With 2 months of ownership and 2600 miles, I am still smiling inside my helmet and just amazed on how Honda has made the best touring bike there is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: