Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI) reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dustin Brooks

Amarillo, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-11-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned this bike for three years and it's been amazing. I added the Corbin saddle to an already comfortable bike and long trips are a blast. The only thing I might otherwise add are a set of handlebar risers and a cheap cruise for a break every once in a while, because with the large tank you don't have to stop very often. I've never had any problems other than those that were operator induced (dropping it in the garage!). My wife loves it as well and is fairly comfortable on the back; only thing more comfy would be a Gold Wing or similar on long trips, but they can't do what this will in any other situation. Last year I put 18,500 miles on it because of a long commute and I couldn't be happier with the low maintenance that this bike requires, even being chain driven. I use Royal Purple oil and have found that to work best overall in extreme highs and lows (Corpus Christi, TX and Amarillo, TX -100+ to 20 degrees - far too cold to be riding). I get about 42 miles a gallon on average and about 45-48 if it's all highway. I could see how this bike could get uncomfortable for the legs of a taller person. This bike will truly do it all and everyone who has ridden mine definitely agrees that this bike is an awesome ride. Downside: insurance companies classify it as a sport bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Tipton

Marietta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2008-10-14

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned this exceptional bike for four years now and it is still my favorite. I have only had two problems. One was an electrical recall, and the other was my left fork seal busted. Other than that the bike has been perfect. It is great for long rides and great in the curves. My Interceptor and I have spent many days at the Dragon's Tail in Tennessee/North Carolina (318 curves in 11 miles). I would recommend this bike to anyone. 17,500 miles and counting!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Franklin, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2007-02-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love my Interceptor. I have two bikes (the wife's rule is no more than 2, so...) and just traded my 1997 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe for a new Roadliner. When I'm in the mood for more spirited riding, my Interceptor does the trick. I replaced the pipes with Scorpions, installed the fender eliminator kit, exchanged the levers (I din't like the wimpy aluminum levers that came with her), exchanged the stock seat with a Sergeant, put on a tank bra, and removed the passenger foot pegs and grab rails. In asphalt black, she looks sinister and exotic - especially with the single-sided swingarm and those 2 big polished cans jutting out from under the seat. Many stares on the road. And no one can figure out what it is. Very cool. I'm no track racer, but this bike is fast and stable. In fact, I'd say the best feature of the bike is the chassis balance. It soaks up bumps and inspires confidence both going super fast on the highway and on the sweepers - so much that I have to really remind myself to cool it when I'm riding fast. The engine sounds more like a car than a typical sport bike - very throaty and substantial, especially with the Scorpions - and just plain screams when the VTEC kicks in. I love the lights - on a dark road at night the brights light up the planet in front of you. Also the center stand makes it a snap to top off the tank when refueling and lubing the chain. Also when stored for extended periods the rear tire is off the ground. Just another neat perk that I've come to really appreciate it as I've owned and lived with her. Then there's the user-friendliness - versatile and reliable, you just can't go wrong with the bike. AND, I nabbed her for much less than sticker about a year ago now. So...I love my Interceptor. I know this is a transition bike for me, and the next one isn't a sportbike - as I get older I find myself liking more legroom. So the next one would probably be an FZ1 or FJR. But for now, I'm loving the expensive look and feel and the more reasonable, less extreme and race dedicated ergos compared to sport bikes. It's like one step between a sport bike and an FJR. The only gripes are... The speedo which is ridiculously optimistic. When the speedo indicates 80, the GPS actually reads 72! Also, I have to consciously work to keep my hands and wrists from cramping - but I don't blame the bike for this...it's actually more comfortable to me than a more dedicated sportbike. I could just be getting old!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chris

ricmond, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-09-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first real bike. I am just becoming comfortable with it and I can tell that we are coming out of the break-in period. It is pretty easy to shift and accelerates well. The brakes are thus far reliable and reassuring. Sometimes I think I want a "sportier" bike, but then the comfort level (and less expensive insurance) brings me back to my senses. This is all I need, at least for now. I am very pleased with it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M Aron

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2005-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I read many articles on the bike before selecting my 2004 Interceptor. After consideration of many models, nothing comes close in my opinion in offering the balance of characteristics I was seeking. I love the look -the single-sided swingarm, front fascia, montone paint and beautiful underseat dual exhaust make for a very expensive looking and almost sinister looking package. Honda build quality is apparent, although to be fair, the Kawi's, Yammie's and Suzook's also all rate high in my opinion in this area. I ride a 1997 Yamaha Royal Star as my other ride, so there are no problems with "overweight and underpowered" for me. I'm just nearing the end of the break-in period, and I have yet to feel the need to rev it higher or visit full throttle (although you can bet I'll enjoy getting there!) - granted, I may be gettin' old but the Interceptor feels more than fast enough for me. The v4 provides nice low-end grunt for around town stuff, and if you're into engine technology like I am, you'll love the vtec system - both the power surge and sound. The tranny has well-spaced ratios for me - good launch but also a relaxed top gear. The bike is well composed on all street surfaces and always feels planted - at high speeds and mid-corner road bumps. It feels like an extension of my body, and is comfortable enough for long Sunday morning rides. All-in-all, you can say I'm extremely pleased so far...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Super Dave

Westminster, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-06-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned a '96 VFR750 since new and absolutely LOVED it. Then when my wife expressed interest in wanting to be a passenger with me and we began doing a lot of mountain riding (10,000 feet above sea level), I was finding myself shifting all of the time and it was wearing on me. After tossing around the idea of purchasing pre-owned '98-'01 models, a friend convinced me to purchase the '02-Current style. I noticed a flat spot around 7K RPM's, but it wasn't so noticable that it ruined my experience. The headlight low beam pattern is MUCH better than my '94-97 styled Interceptor (always a complaint I had when riding dark roads at night). I've recently added Sylvania Silverstar H4 bulbs to the low beam and have a nice clean white light for night riding--which for me greatly increases visibility. So if you want a good reliable-sexy looking, all day comfort (for a sport bike), check out the latest Interceptor!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Westminster, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-04-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's sad to see some people reviewing this bike as heavy and slow. This is NOT a hard core super light weight performance bike, nor was it designed to be as such. It's a great overall sport bike for someone who is as tall as myself, doesn't want to lie on the tank, wants to have fun in the twisties, but wants to be able to ride all day comfortably. I've owned 929RR in the past, and thought it was a light racing machine and is a blast to race. However, it's uncomfortable for all day riding. My wife and I have enjoyed this for the past several years and have a great time with it. Happy Riding!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe D

Columbus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love my new VFR. I upgraded from a 1976 Honda CB500T. Oh what a difference. It is the exact bike I wanted because I wanted a sport bike, but I also wanted comfort. I chose this bike over the VTX 1800, Yamaha Road Star Warrior, and Harley V-Rod. I am so glad I did, because I realized I like going fast for long rides. For its speed and agility, it is very comfortable. I put 12,600 miles on the bike in 9 months if that tells you anything. Whoever it was that said this bike was jerky when the VTEC kicks in is over exaggerating. The engine transitions very well into a 4 valve system. The power boost is noticible, but it is far from dangerous. Second, the forks are adjustable, just have to read that little book under the seat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Thumper

Kennesaw, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-10-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
3 months and running, this has to be the best choice I've made in years. Almost bought a Katana until I found out about how old the technology was. This bike is light years ahead of the competition in this category. Comfortable, powerful, and all around enjoyable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chris rainwater

houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda Interceptor (VFR800FI)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded in my old VFR, a '96, which was hard but I have been nothing but satisfied with the changes to the new model. The new bike is extremely quiet until you hit 7000 rpm and the v-tec kicks in, and you've got yourself a monster. I've recieved nothing but good comments on the looks of the bike and I can't wait to get her broken in enough to see what she can really do. Thanks Honda for keepng the VFR legend alive and well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: