Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Interceptor VFR800FI reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

58 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

PETE

STUART, Florida

Reviewed on 2008-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had the "Vifferfor about a year now, and I absolutely LOVE this motorcycle! I have owned CBRs in the past and this bike blows them away for my needs and expectations of a great bike. Awesome cornering, acceleration and braking all exceeded my hopes. The VTEC is so much fun; it's like riding an 800cc two-stroke with a power-band! I put almost 13,000 miles on it in 10 months. It is my daily driver and I have NO complaints with anything except the usual - wish she had more power! Just buy it - don't think about it. The bike sounds like an F-1 car at 11,000 rpm!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hadi. S.Z

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2007-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I used to ride a scooter in high school some 20 years ago. Once in a while I would get on my friends Ninja 250. Last month I went all out and got an Interceptor. Let me tell you this is the first Sports Bike that I ever owned. The size, the weight and speed of this monster compared to a scooter is not comparable. For someone who is a starter after 20 years is unheard of and people tell me WHY such a BIG FAST BIKE TO START OFF WITH? But what's even more amazing is that this is the most comfortable and easy going as it gets. The ride is smooth and handles great. The power is great and despite its size and weight, it's like riding a big scooter. SO SO simple and smooth. Deadly as it looks and IS, but it rides like a pussy cat. After 20 years of jumping on something like this it took me no more than 20-30 miles to get the full hang of it. don't BE INTIMIDATED BY ITS LOOKS AND POWER. IT'S AN EASY BIKE TO RIDE YET WITH AN amazing V-TECH 16V to give you that extra kick. AWESOME bike for SPORTS and TOURING...and for GODS SAKES STOP COMPLIMENTING AT EVERY RED LIGHT!! IT LOOKS AWESOME TOO.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Orange, California

Reviewed on 2005-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my fourth bike. Also owned a YZF600R, cbr954rr, and tl1000r. First off, I must admit I'm biased towards Honda's because my car (Prelude) runs problem free with just oil changes and required service maintenance. With their motorcycles, the build quality is top notch...even better than their cars. So go with any Honda motorcycle and you won't regret it. Now if you're looking for an all around bike, this is it. The riding position is perfect (for me), the power is adequate, the range is good, the looks are killer, and it's a Honda so it'll run forever. If this is a weekend bike to go canyon blasting, probably not the best since you don't want that vtec kicking in during a corner. On a straightaway, though, it's a blast. I usually get bored of a bike after 3 months, but I'm keeping this for the long haul as my utilitarian vehicle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joey Hess

Missoula, Montana

Reviewed on 2005-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I admit to being bias towards Honda, although I have converted hardcore Yamaha riders into admittance. I get it from even them on how well the bike handles, and mostly the comfort. It could use some more acceleration power but I'm not riding wheelies with it anyway. I am a big guy and this is about the right size for my comfort zone, especially with tank bags that you can rest your chest on. TWO THUMBS UP!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tmk

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2005-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had a number of different rides, and I currently ride a BMW 1150GS and the Honda--bought used in perfect condition. It is a very reliable, fun fast ride. I wish the rider position was a little more adjustable, but this is the best all around package I've ever ridden. Excellent bike. It is very fast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Oceanside, California

Reviewed on 2005-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the bike with 2300 miles on it and have ridden it 1100 miles in the last 2 months. I ride 90 miles a day and do an occasional weekend road trip with other riders. I've owned a sport bike (1999 ZX-9R) and other sport touring bikes (1986 CB700SC, 2000 Katana 600 & 750 both models, 1986 Interceptor 500) over the last 20 years and this one is a keeper. It's slightly heavy (500lbs +) but the V4 VTec 780cc engine makes up for the weight. The 180/55 rear tire makes for a fun ride on the twisties and I'm very confident when taking them because you feel the tire do its job. It is comfortable to ride and has a great resale value. The bike is worth the money you spend on it when buying USED like I did, in my humble opinion they are a bit expensive new. If you are in the market for a high-end sport/touring bike that can hold up against the sport bikes in the twisties and still allow you to enjoy a comfortable ride (for 4 hours or more Go VFR. If you want light weight (i.e. around 400lbs or less) and super fast (i.e. 115HP+ don't go VFR
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Sysum

Aptos, California

Reviewed on 2005-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been commuting 110 miles a day year round on my '02 since I bought it new in September. The only problem at all was the speedo sensor which went out at 11,000 miles. The VFR needs a little more power so I added a Two Brothers exhaust and went up two teeth on the rear sprocket which gave it more of a kick. I get an average of 42 MPG on my freeway commute but if I get on it hard it drops to 38. I found the Metzler Z-6 tire suits the VFR well, helping it handle fairly quickly for its weight. The speedo was way optimistic so I put a recalibrator on and it reads right on now. Top speed with the TBR and sprocket change is 150 MPH verified by GPS. One negative area is the cost of a valve adjustment - because the VFR has VTEC valves the job takes 8 hrs and when done with a service check the cost is around $600.00 - Ouch! Overall this is a great bike, reliable and good handling but it would need to lose 100 LBS and gain 10 hp to be perfect....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shane Brar

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2004-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my VFR, as they are called in Canada, in June 2002 and in my first year I bought the hard Honda saddle bags and went on a 20 hour straight ride from Toronto to Myrtle Beach SC. I found I was more comfortable than my friend who rode a Harley with me. This year I bought the rear trunk (rear beer box) and I find I have a weekend tour bike and a weekday crotch rocket. I do my own oil changes and find it easy to work on. I have ridden BMWs, Harleys and Jap bikes, this is by far the best bike. Oh, and I can still lift the front wheel without any effort. Just a tip, I wanted silver color so the dealers said I had to buy a brand new 2003, but, the dealers in the Toronto area had lots of 2002's in red color that they were practically giving away. So shop around if you are not color picky like I am, and save around $2000.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

timmymac

san francisco, California

Reviewed on 2004-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have a Yamaha Royal Star cruiser, and love it. Decided to add a sportier bike to the stable. At 47, I was not interested in a pure sport bike, so I shopped every sport-touring bike on the market. Thought I had settled on the new Yamaha FJR1300, but $13k and no opportunity to see it before buying turned me off. Found a leftover 2002 at my local dealer, they made me an unbelievable deal, so here I am. Just turning it in for the 600 mile service, but I already know I made the right choice. This bike is quick, stable, and FUN. Wish I had bought one sooner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

VFRRider

Memphis, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2004-03-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda Interceptor VFR800FI

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought a holdover 2002 new as the 2003 models sat on the floor last year, so dealer was anxious to move it and the price was right. It's been happy riding ever since. This is a solid bike that does virtually everything well. It has better ergonomics than a pure sports bike, but much more comfortable and better for long rides. The only thing about the bike I wish I could change would be to take a little weight off of it. I've just cleared 4,500 miles with no mechanical problems at all. It is a solid bike for anyone who wants a sporty look, power, comfort, and a comfortable riding position.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 58 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: